Customer Reviews for

Changing Habits

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Facinating Characters. Three great stories in one!

I would recommend this book highly. It gives a great insight to religious life during the 70's. Three stories in one with characters that are warm and pull you into their lives and make you wish you knew them personally. Although the stories of each woman are seperat...
I would recommend this book highly. It gives a great insight to religious life during the 70's. Three stories in one with characters that are warm and pull you into their lives and make you wish you knew them personally. Although the stories of each woman are seperate and distinct they are also inter-twined with each other. The supporting characters add a great deal to the understanding of each of the main characters. You will root for them and cry for them and be totally satisfied with the ending.

posted by 3263414 on March 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed.

While reading this book, I found it hard to follow. I felt that I was constantly missing something... I didn't enjoy it, and found that I was disappointed by the author. Because of the adult content, I felt that this book is suitable for ages 14 and up.

posted by 10971962 on April 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    Facinating Characters. Three great stories in one!

    I would recommend this book highly. It gives a great insight to religious life during the 70's. Three stories in one with characters that are warm and pull you into their lives and make you wish you knew them personally. Although the stories of each woman are seperate and distinct they are also inter-twined with each other. The supporting characters add a great deal to the understanding of each of the main characters. You will root for them and cry for them and be totally satisfied with the ending.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A good,comfortable read

    Coming from a reader who went into vocational ministry as a young woman and then left a few years later, I can relate to Debbie's characters: their reasons for going in, their passion for their calling, and then their confusion when life starts breaking down around them. Although my departure from the ministry had nothing to do with Vatican II (I'm much younger than that!), learning to navigate a culture that you've been sequestered away from is a common experience for those who have been in and then left religious ministry. This is a wonderful read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2004

    Overall a pretty good read!

    This was pretty good. I don't know much about the Catholic church so it was interesting reading about these 3 women's lives as they decided to enter the convent, lived as nuns for a number of years and later left the order for varying reasons. One girl decided to become a nun at only 6 years old, another when she was a senior in high school after a visit to the convent and the last after her fiance' came home from Vietnam with a pregnant Vietnamese wife. During the time period covered in the book, there were many nuns and priests leaving the church and this covers just a few of the reasons for their departures...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2004

    A Good Solid Read

    Not my usual subject matter, but I've come to love any book by Macomber. She does excellent relationships--no matter who or what the circumstances. I ended up not being able to put this down, even though I usually crave more hard-edged material.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Disappointed.

    While reading this book, I found it hard to follow. I felt that I was constantly missing something... I didn't enjoy it, and found that I was disappointed by the author. Because of the adult content, I felt that this book is suitable for ages 14 and up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    It was ok!!

    I am a Debbie Macomber fan, but this was not one of her best books. I was quite disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Changing Habits

    Being a Catholic this book gave me insight on the life a nun back when I was growing up. It was well written and did a wonderful job of reflecting the life of a nun. Debbie Macomber is on of my favorite authors. She can make you laugh and cry. Her down home insight into communities and life is a wonderful thing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    Best I have read in awhile

    This is a heart wrenching story. There were times when I cried and times when I laught. I am a real Debbie Macomber fan. She makes me think that the stories are really happening.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2004

    Not pleased

    I was very displeased with this book. I have enjoyed in the past Debbie Macomber nad was looking forward to her new book. But alas the book left me very bored and I talk myself into finishing the book. I would not buy this book.:(

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The story line is well written

    In the 1960s, three young women from diverse lifestyles enter St. Peter¿s Parrish in Minneapolis with the belief they are destined to become nuns. Angelina Marcello, Kathleen O¿Shaunessy, and Joanna Baird had different reasons for becoming ¿Brides of Christ¿, but shared an idealism to serve God and help the community....................... In 1972 the three nuns struggle with crisis of faith. For Sister Angelina, it was the simple failure of the Church to deal with the problems of a pregnant teen Corrine that sent her back to her father¿s restaurant. Temporarily taking over the accounting journal led Sister Kathleen to Father Brian Doyle with both wrestling between their vows and a very human love for one another. For Sister Joanna, the return of Viet Nam vet Dr. Tim Murray reminds her that she joined for the wrong reasons as she begins to fall in love with the still recovering medical practitioner. Will the church lose three more dedicated people or will the vows prove strong enough to keep these Sisters within the fold?................................. CHANGING HABITS is not the typical fare from Debbie Macomber, but is an insightful look at some of the problems the modern day Catholic Church is confronting in America. The story line is well written as the trio of nuns seems so genuine and human. The support cast enables the audience to understand their motives from entry into the Church until the individual crisis of faith occurs. Readers will feel strongly what each one of the Sisters contends with as Ms. Macomber powerfully focuses on the critical loss of nuns facing the Church today................... Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    I can't write yet because I'm in the beginning, but THREE PAGES

    I can't write yet because I'm in the beginning, but THREE PAGES here of "no text provided for this review" So why do you allow this? It doesn't tell anyone anything at all. Whey did they even write, but more importantly why do you print these nothings?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    Debbie Macomber at her best!

    Kept me engaged until the end. I couldn't wait to see how the 3 women settled their lives!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Wonderful book

    I love the book I could read it over and over. I recommend this book to anyone who like stories about faith

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    one of her best

    THis book touched home in many ways, information was soooo true to fact. Loved it just like all of her books. Macomber writes the best, I am hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Not as good as hoped

    I love her writing but this one was just ok. I generally can't put her books down but this one was not a page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Not of of my favorites...

    I have read over 30 of Debbie Macomber books including 2 of her series of books and just loved them! This is the only book of hers I've read that I just don't care for. Funny thing is I can't put my finger on exactly what I don't like - It just did not seem like her writing. I did get a better look at the Catholic faith and that was interesting...
    So looking forward to her new series coming up this fall! She is still my favorite author!~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    Being a huge fan of Debbie Macomber, I found this book very enjo

    Being a huge fan of Debbie Macomber, I found this book very enjoyable. It is a story of three girls, Angelina, Kathleen and Joanna, all from different backgrounds who decide to join the convent and serve God. Each will face some sort of crisis that will question their reasoning for becoming a nun. These three girls all become friends at the convent house in Minneapolis. A lot will happen in their lives that lead to only one conclusion-leaving the sisterhood. Hope you all enjoy this book as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Good but shallow

    Interesting premise and easy read but so much is crammed in without any depth. I wish she would've spent more time on the three nuns' relationships with each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Great book. Enjoyed being educated as to what nuns went through and how things changed.

    The characters were presented well, and each one became real though different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Confusing

    This book would have been interesting if each chapter didn't change the character. After finishing one chapter I had to remember who the character was in the next chapter. Very confusing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5