BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Changing Habits

Average Rating 4
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Facinating Characters. Three great stories in one!

I would recommend this book highly. It gives a great insight to religious life during the 70's. Three stories in one with characters that are warm and pull you into their lives and make you wish you knew them personally. Although the stories of each woman are seperat...
I would recommend this book highly. It gives a great insight to religious life during the 70's. Three stories in one with characters that are warm and pull you into their lives and make you wish you knew them personally. Although the stories of each woman are seperate and distinct they are also inter-twined with each other. The supporting characters add a great deal to the understanding of each of the main characters. You will root for them and cry for them and be totally satisfied with the ending.

posted by 3263414 on March 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed.

While reading this book, I found it hard to follow. I felt that I was constantly missing something... I didn't enjoy it, and found that I was disappointed by the author. Because of the adult content, I felt that this book is suitable for ages 14 and up.

posted by 10971962 on April 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2004

    Overall a pretty good read!

    This was pretty good. I don't know much about the Catholic church so it was interesting reading about these 3 women's lives as they decided to enter the convent, lived as nuns for a number of years and later left the order for varying reasons. One girl decided to become a nun at only 6 years old, another when she was a senior in high school after a visit to the convent and the last after her fiance' came home from Vietnam with a pregnant Vietnamese wife. During the time period covered in the book, there were many nuns and priests leaving the church and this covers just a few of the reasons for their departures...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2004

    A Good Solid Read

    Not my usual subject matter, but I've come to love any book by Macomber. She does excellent relationships--no matter who or what the circumstances. I ended up not being able to put this down, even though I usually crave more hard-edged material.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2014

    Changing Habits is the 70th stand-alone novel by popular America

    Changing Habits is the 70th stand-alone novel by popular American author, Debbie Macomber. It follows the lives of three women of different ages from their first awareness of a vocation to serve God in the order of St Bridget’s Sisters of the Assumption, through their profession as nuns and their lives in the religious order to their eventual rejection of vows and return to secular life. The period from 1958 to 1972 was a time of great upheaval in the Catholic Church and also saw major changes in the secular world: Macomber uses these changes to anchor her story’s era and to show some of the effect these changes had on the lives of women in the convent. Angelina Marcello joined the order against the wishes of her widowed father, an Italian restaurant owner who always saw her as inheriting the business; Kathleen O’Shaughnessy knew from a very young age that she would be a nun, something that was simply accepted in her family; Joanna Baird turned to God when her fiancé came home from the Vietnam war with a pregnant Vietnamese wife by his side. Eventually, these three very different women meet at a convent in Minneapolis. Soon enough they are facing issues that lead them into disillusionment and dissatisfaction with their lives, and a crisis of faith. This novel is quite a departure from Macomber’s romances, and is more reminiscent of her Cedar Cove and Blossom Street series: her main characters are strong women dealing with life-changing issues. Alcoholism, rape, teen pregnancy and abortion feature, and the Catholic Church’s paternalistic mindset, in particular with birth control, plays a significant part. Macomber has certainly done her research on the Catholic religion: those educated or raised in the Catholic faith will recognise many of the practices described. While the endings for each character are fairly predictable, this is still an interesting read. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The story line is well written

    In the 1960s, three young women from diverse lifestyles enter St. Peter¿s Parrish in Minneapolis with the belief they are destined to become nuns. Angelina Marcello, Kathleen O¿Shaunessy, and Joanna Baird had different reasons for becoming ¿Brides of Christ¿, but shared an idealism to serve God and help the community....................... In 1972 the three nuns struggle with crisis of faith. For Sister Angelina, it was the simple failure of the Church to deal with the problems of a pregnant teen Corrine that sent her back to her father¿s restaurant. Temporarily taking over the accounting journal led Sister Kathleen to Father Brian Doyle with both wrestling between their vows and a very human love for one another. For Sister Joanna, the return of Viet Nam vet Dr. Tim Murray reminds her that she joined for the wrong reasons as she begins to fall in love with the still recovering medical practitioner. Will the church lose three more dedicated people or will the vows prove strong enough to keep these Sisters within the fold?................................. CHANGING HABITS is not the typical fare from Debbie Macomber, but is an insightful look at some of the problems the modern day Catholic Church is confronting in America. The story line is well written as the trio of nuns seems so genuine and human. The support cast enables the audience to understand their motives from entry into the Church until the individual crisis of faith occurs. Readers will feel strongly what each one of the Sisters contends with as Ms. Macomber powerfully focuses on the critical loss of nuns facing the Church today................... Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    highly recommended

    really enjoyed this book. Also learned some insight to the Catholic faith while reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    excellent

    Different from her other works, this is a very good book. I loved the background stories. I felt that this was a departure from her other works, but very refreshing to read. I loved the difficult choices posed by the book. It was a very thoughtfull and thought provoking read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    Recommend

    Easy reading - a bit predictable but nevertheless, and interesting book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    Loved it!!!

    really good -- kept my interest the entire read!!! a must read for Debbie Macomber fans!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1