Customer Reviews for

Changing Habits

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Facinating Characters. Three great stories in one!

I would recommend this book highly. It gives a great insight to religious life during the 70's. Three stories in one with characters that are warm and pull you into their lives and make you wish you knew them personally. Although the stories of each woman are seperat...
I would recommend this book highly. It gives a great insight to religious life during the 70's. Three stories in one with characters that are warm and pull you into their lives and make you wish you knew them personally. Although the stories of each woman are seperate and distinct they are also inter-twined with each other. The supporting characters add a great deal to the understanding of each of the main characters. You will root for them and cry for them and be totally satisfied with the ending.

posted by 3263414 on March 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed.

While reading this book, I found it hard to follow. I felt that I was constantly missing something... I didn't enjoy it, and found that I was disappointed by the author. Because of the adult content, I felt that this book is suitable for ages 14 and up.

posted by 10971962 on April 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    Facinating Characters. Three great stories in one!

    I would recommend this book highly. It gives a great insight to religious life during the 70's. Three stories in one with characters that are warm and pull you into their lives and make you wish you knew them personally. Although the stories of each woman are seperate and distinct they are also inter-twined with each other. The supporting characters add a great deal to the understanding of each of the main characters. You will root for them and cry for them and be totally satisfied with the ending.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A good,comfortable read

    Coming from a reader who went into vocational ministry as a young woman and then left a few years later, I can relate to Debbie's characters: their reasons for going in, their passion for their calling, and then their confusion when life starts breaking down around them. Although my departure from the ministry had nothing to do with Vatican II (I'm much younger than that!), learning to navigate a culture that you've been sequestered away from is a common experience for those who have been in and then left religious ministry. This is a wonderful read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Changing Habits

    Being a Catholic this book gave me insight on the life a nun back when I was growing up. It was well written and did a wonderful job of reflecting the life of a nun. Debbie Macomber is on of my favorite authors. She can make you laugh and cry. Her down home insight into communities and life is a wonderful thing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    Best I have read in awhile

    This is a heart wrenching story. There were times when I cried and times when I laught. I am a real Debbie Macomber fan. She makes me think that the stories are really happening.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    Debbie Macomber at her best!

    Kept me engaged until the end. I couldn't wait to see how the 3 women settled their lives!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Wonderful book

    I love the book I could read it over and over. I recommend this book to anyone who like stories about faith

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    one of her best

    THis book touched home in many ways, information was soooo true to fact. Loved it just like all of her books. Macomber writes the best, I am hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    Being a huge fan of Debbie Macomber, I found this book very enjo

    Being a huge fan of Debbie Macomber, I found this book very enjoyable. It is a story of three girls, Angelina, Kathleen and Joanna, all from different backgrounds who decide to join the convent and serve God. Each will face some sort of crisis that will question their reasoning for becoming a nun. These three girls all become friends at the convent house in Minneapolis. A lot will happen in their lives that lead to only one conclusion-leaving the sisterhood. Hope you all enjoy this book as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Great book. Enjoyed being educated as to what nuns went through and how things changed.

    The characters were presented well, and each one became real though different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I think anyone who reads Debbie Macomber will really enjoy reading this book. I enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Gem! I loved it

    I am a huge fan of Debbie Macomber, and this one does not disappoint. She managed to bring about another amazing read! I loved it, from start to finish. It had all the ingredients of all of her novels, romance, emotions, good characters and dialogue. Just so good. Also recommend The Chasteau by C D Swanson-good romance with suspense and characters with depth. Also a clean read - no filth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Great characters. Great story line. I think I have read every book written by Debbie Macomber and have enjoyed everyone of them.
    Highly recommend reading her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    An engaging story and a very interesting look at the Church and the ways it has changed. Very different from Macomber's other books, but her characters were just as vivid and real as ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    The Catholic Girls Book

    If you were born in the 50's this book will make perfect sense. As a good catholic girl we were all taught to follow our hearts and hopefully into the convent. When I read this book I felt like I could have been one of the characters if I had chosen the convent over college. It was a great read for me because I felt I could relate to the characters. You will not be disappointed in Debbie Macomber's book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Great book

    I loved this book. I am not catholic and it really shed some light on what they believe compared to what I believe about God and religion. I really enjoyed reading this book. The Debbie always makes her characters come alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2007

    Very Interesting

    I couldn't put this book down! I was raised Catholic and remember the Nuns wearing the old habit...I never really knew how belittled the church made the Nuns feel. I am happy with the changes of the church and hope there will be more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2004

    I relly enjoyed this!

    Ms. Macomber shows a side of nuns that isn't known by many outsiders. She explains the lifestyles of nuns. I went to colleges run by nuns and i never knew anything about the process of the novitiate or the grand silence. This is the 2nd book I've read by Ms. Macomber and I plan to read more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2