BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Character Makeover: 40 Days with a Life Coach to Create the Best You

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    Your Swiss Army Knife for Character Construction

    Whether you need to cut away pride or dig up courage, Character Makeover is like having the Swiss Army Knife for character construction in your back pocket. And a coach extraordinaire in your corner. Conveniently set-up as a 40-day bend, stretch and strengthen program, the exercises are far from routine. The 3-demenional interactive approach and extra tools meet you where you are and let you customize every step of the way. You will be in good company as Character Makeover trains you to keep your chin up, push up on what¿s holding you down and sitting up to take notice while working on the 8 traits that relay God¿s renovating power. Get ready to be transformed by biblical characters, contemporary role models, and transparent coaches. Put your dukes up and be prepared to spar with your inner Pinocchio, Fred Flintstone, Shrek and a few other ridiculous rivals poised to knock you out. You actually do feel warmly enveloped by a real live coach as you journey and pray together through the Character Makeover adventure. Each session vaults you inside the heart of the God who spared nothing out of His love for you and motivates you to jump in to do your part to be ¿the best me I can be for God.¿ This is more than a book ¿ it is an engaging, practical and challenging tool that is guaranteed for life. You will want to keep it handy for all your character touch-ups and overhauls as long as you live. Because it really works, even in those hard to reach places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2008

    Great book on character.

    A great read and easy to follow steps. The authors have a nice way to get you involved in this process!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    Better than Dr. Phil

    Character development at its best. This book contains thoughts, scripture meditations, and journaling exercises to bring out the best that God has in you. A well organized 40 day guide to becoming the God Chick you were meant to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    A reviewer

    I did an advance reading of this book. I felt that this is a very worthwhile book for all women in any stage of life. I like the way Katie personalizes the journey by welcoming you to her home. Her descriptions at the start of each new topic create a vivid mental image that allows you to feel right at home with the coach. The 8 topics she has chosen: humility, confidence, courage, self-control, patience, contentment, generosity, and perseverance are all very relevant to any woman's life. She includes tests and exercises that really help you understand where you are. She also includes thought-inspiring Biblical references that truly reflect the qualities that we are all striving towards. I like how she emphasizes that if we want a better character, we must focus on our relationship with God. I gave this a quick read and now am starting to really delve into it to help me with my own life. I am planning on recommending this to a few of my women friends and am going to mention it as a possible Women's Study at my church, as I feel this is a long term study that you really need to devote time and attention to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    Very Insightful

    Character Makeover allows you to review who you are. You are able to look deep into yourself and see how God recommends you to live. The self tests backed up by scriptures at the end of every chapter are very helpful. It reinforce what you read and allows you to apply the different tools into your daily life. I recommend this book to anyone that is looking for spiritual guidance on how to carry themselves. Excellent book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2008

    A reviewer

    Whether you¿re gearing up for an overall overhaul, or just need a refreshing look at yourself in a particular area, this book is a great tool. By approaching our weaknesses in character as strongholds for the enemy, the author provides insight into the areas of our relationships ¿ to God, to ourselves, to others, to things, and to the future. A customizable plan for building character, which includes probing questions, journaling exercises, and prayers designed for each relationship area make this an excellent tool for individuals or discussions in small groups. I highly recommend this book. Don¿t get it from the library. You¿ll want to keep it on your shelf and reuse it frequently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    God thinks orange and purple plaid is gorgeous

    Makeover shows like ¿Trading Spaces¿ and ¿How Do I Look?¿ call in experts when a room needs a little TLC or a fashion victim¿s wardrobe needs CPR. In their new book ¿Character Makeover¿ Christian authors Katie Brazelton and Shelly Leith called on the most revered world class design team when they wanted to redecorate human character. They called in an architect and interior designer (God), His Master Carpenter Son (Jesus), and an image consultant and life coach (the Holy Spirit.) This trinity of professionals is the best in their field specializing in one-of-a-kind creations. ¿Character Makeover¿ is a forty-day journey that explores common character traits in every soul that may need sprucing up. We all wish we had the patience of Job, but most of us more closely resemble a certain big green ogre. This book contains bible verses, practical applications, stories, exercises and journal pages to enhance who we are. Some of us spend our whole lives feeling like Charlie Brown after Lucy has jerked the football away for the millionth time. This book can help you wash away the wishy-washiness. If your inner Fred Flintstone bellows too easily, or your pride reaches to ¿infinity and beyond¿ Buzz Lightyear proportions this book is a great guidebook to creating a more beautiful you. This beautiful book may bring some emotional flotsam and jetsam to the surface, and you may find some soul places that need to be spackled and refinished, but the Holy Sprit¿s comfort is beyond compare. At the end of your ¿Character Makeover¿, perhaps we¿ll marvel at the perfection of the architect¿s blueprints¿we were created in His image. Hopefully we will cherish the carpenter¿s exquisite craftsmanship¿He died for us, and we should treasure the wisdom of the most divine life coach imaginable¿we are His vessel. If the fabric of your soul is draped in orange and purple plaid, don¿t worry orange and purple are two of the Father¿s favorite colors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2008

    Advanced Reader

    Character Makeover by Katie Brazelton and Shelley Leith can be a life-changing book for anyone who chooses to use it as a workbook and a journal. It is like having a Life Coach at your disposal 24/7. I took the book seriously, read all of the Biblical references, and intend to follow my Master Action Plan this year. I highly recommend Character Makeover to anyone who is interested in taking an in-depth look at their life and their character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2008

    Advanced Reader

    If you have been desiring change in the way you live your life, then 'Character Makeover' is a good book to assist in doing this. It is set up in a way that devotes about 20 minutes a day to reading it but you devote all day contemplating the deep insights gained from that day's reading as well as a strong connection to God. Brazelton has even designed the material so that it can be tackled in any order based on your personal needs.The scriptural basis makes it an even more convincing read. If you are looking for ways to enhance your life and improve who you are then you should check this book out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2008

    An Inward to Outward Makeover

    Character Makeover is an excellent book to continue in your spiritual journey. It helped me to allow God into my everyday life even when I thought I could do things on my own. I'm learning to see myself as God sees me, His creation. The qualities that God has and Jesus portrayed are defiantly achievable by all people. Once you read this book and complete the exercises you can truly began God's purpose for you. And it feels like you have a life coach with you for extra support. Working with a partner is also a good idea. My friend I were able to discuss some of the topics all the time, that I purchased her a copy of the book for her birthday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    I feel a little bit like I¿m cheating by writing a review of the book, Character Makeover: 40 Days With A Life Coach To Create The Best You (Zondervan, 2008), by Katie Brazelton and Shelley Leith. First, it is geared towards women. I¿m a man. Second, it is laid out in a such a way that a person really ought to spend 40 days with it. I¿ve only had my Advance Reader Copy for 2 days. So, given that I am not of the female persuasion, nor have I had the 40 days to live out the principles discussed in the book, I will give my general impressions. Generally, I shy away from any product that promises to change a person after so many days or weeks. They tend to be too simplistic, not speaking to the difficulties, interruptions, and disappointments that tend to come with real life. I am even more wary of Christian self-help books, because they tend to garner more of their techniques and bullet points from pop psychology rather than Scripture. This is dangerous in that it retards a person¿s ability to discern things spiritually. That being said, I like how much Character Makeover relies on Scripture and does not attempt to trivialize the things that people go to. This book isn¿t about pretending real life doesn¿t happen. Quite the contrary. Through the use of the stories of various women who have struggled with character issues as they face everyday life, Character Makeover keeps its head out of the clouds and its feet firmly planted on the earth. Rather, this book is a resource women can turn to in order to help them change their perspective and temper their reactions when life isn¿t fair. Its greatest strength comes from the fact it starts off with the notion that if we wish to develop better character, we must first attend to our relationship with Jesus. The authors thus start the book with a section about humility. This is a great approach, as a person who ¿changes themselves¿ can be tempted to boast about all the changes they have made and how good that makes them because of it. However, by connecting true change to God, this encourages women to be humble in how they approach the rest of the book (and their lives). However, Character Makeover is not without its drawbacks. Actually, one of its greatest strengths is one of its greatest flaws. This is not a book that a person can just sit down and enjoy like a novel. It is meant to be an immersive experience. This is accomplished through journal entries, charts to fill out, and boxes to check (on self-evaluation checklists). It is a lot of work and a person has to be totally honest with themselves (or others if they are participating in a group), if they wish to truly get anything out of the experience. And the questions are not easy ones. For example, on Day 4 of a section about self-control, the reader is asked, ¿What habit or temptation has power over you?¿ While this question might seem simple on the surface, it is very easy to answer this question simply, avoiding darker things we know we ought to deal with in our lives. A person might answer, ¿I have a problem with chocolate,¿ and that may very well be true. But, if they have a habit of gossiping or not controlling their thought life, having a problem with chocolate is the least of their worries. But, the main drawback is that some people don¿t have the time each day to sit down and follow this kind of program. While the authors might not mind 40 days stretching into 80 or 120 days, some readers may become frustrated and give up. Overall, Character Makeover is a good resource for those who can stick with a 40 day program. I believe they will come out on the other side with the ability to discern situations from a thoroughly Christian point-of-view without sacrificing their ability to live in the real world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1