Customer Reviews for

Charade

Average Rating 4.5
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Excellent

    Loved this book so much. Wow cant even put in words how this book touched me. Glad I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    I am a huge Nyrae Dawn fan! I loved her What a Boy Wants series

    I am a huge Nyrae Dawn fan! I loved her What a Boy Wants series, so I was extremely excited to read Charade. It definitely didn't disappoint! I love how well Nyrae does male POV. She nails it every time.

    Charade begins with Cheyenne walking in and finding her boyfriend, Gregory, in bed with another woman. She already has abandonment issues because of her mother, so she takes this even harder. She decides that what she needs is a fake boyfriend to make Gregory jealous. When she sees him get into an argument with Colt she decides he's the perfect guy for her charade.

    Colt walks around like he doesn't have a care in the world. He's sarcastic and angry, and he can be a real ass. But he's also lonely. In reality, everything is falling apart. His mother is terminally ill, and when she's gone, he'll be alone. The last thing he needs is to play games with a pampered princess, but when she offers him money he can't refuse. He needs it to pay for his moms pain medicine.

    I love how both Cheyenne and Colt find each other frustrating and aggravating. They fight each other and how they feel until they can't hide it anymore. The relationship between them starts slow and grows...not rushed, love at first sight. I like this! It makes it more real. Charade is a sweet romance, but it's also a heartbreaking story. Both Cheyenne and Colt have had their share of past hurts, and they lean on each other when things get even tougher. Charade will make you laugh, it'll make you cry, and the romance will make you swoon. It's an altogether great read, and I can't wait to get my hands on Facade.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    Who ever knew bargains for sex could be so meaningful? No, actua

    Who ever knew bargains for sex could be so meaningful? No, actually, "meaningful" is like someone smiling at a crappy Christmas gift and saying they love it. CHARADE is a hard-core, hot and heavy romance that makes you wonder why you don't have your own Colt who will "do" you senseless and then want to be with you forever and do anything for you that you need.

    I loved this novel mostly because I got to watch two characters--Chey and Colt--realise they make a good couple sexually (mmm, mmm!) and platonically. Colt is a bad boy, while Chey is quite "good" and together they are like yin and yang.

    CHARADE is a hotHOT read. A MUST read for anyone who loves hot and heavy romance/erotica, but also for readers who love watching two lost people learn to trust and get over their demons to find happiness in themselves and each other and life.

    Not only is this a romance you will not be able to put down (I borrowed this then felt bad so I bought my own copy it was that good), but I think anyone who has grown up in a society, family, or neighbourhood that is judged will be able to connect with how well this book has been written. Colt and Chey have terrible things not only in their past but occurring as the book develops and this isn't a light read, but with the HEA it's perfect for those who like a bit of danger.

    5 stars and absolutely recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    MUST READ

    very emotional but a very good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What a refreshing story about life and finding someone in the mi

    What a refreshing story about life and finding someone in the midst of turmoil.. I really enjoyed Colt and Chey's game of charades. I was pleasantly surprised that the book took a more unconventional approach. By doing so, it made the characters more realistic and relatable. It also helped that the storyline alternates between both Pov's. Def a good read..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Tear jerker!!!

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Great read

    Great book. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    enjoyable

    I really enjoyed this book. It kept me interested. it made me laugh and cry. It is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    chey and colt

    This such a sweet story with sad moments. I never understood ugly cries until this book. I've cried with other books but this open the flood gates and i bawled soooo hard. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Booklover

    WOW! Excellent book. Great characters that evolved throughout the book. Made me cry but also made me smile. I would highly recommend this book even though it's not very long. I loved Colt's character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely recommend

    The reason I must give this only 3 stars is because the writing wasn't the best. That being said, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and read it in only a few hours. If you liked beautiful disaster you will enjoy this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An awesome New Adult read that really had my attention This book

    An awesome New Adult read that really had my attention
    This book was awesome. Finally, FINALLY I’ve come across a new adult romance that I felt their love didn’t move to fast! I understood why they fell in love! Not only does Cheyenne push Colt, but they have a foundation through the fact that they have some screwed up parentage. They understand what it was like to be “damaged”, and I friggin loved this romance. I loved how angry and basically “gangster” Colt is. That he calls her Princess just to tick her off, but he is a good guy deep down—always stepping up for the underdogs. I love his brutal honesty and his no holds bars. I like Chey’s need for independence, control, and perfection because I can relate…the majority of people probably can. Now there are some things that I thought were a little…questionable. Lets just say that Colt has one really really bad day and I just thought that sounds like a one-in-a-million moment. But, it was nothing crucial that ruined the book or anything. I don’t know how to explain it other than I loved the book. I understood it and saw it as being realistic instead of completely far-fetched. I do have to admit that for some reason this book didn’t get my blood boiling like other New Adult books, which was weird cause I thought it would. Don’t get wrong, there were moments (like when Colt cleared the bed with a sweep of his arm after he caught her appreciating him) that had me fanning myself and lovin Colt even more. Nyrae Dawn’s Charade is fantastic New Adult romance that curled my toes, and not only fallin in love, but relating to her characters.
    Good:
    Chey—love the independence, need for control and perfect. I can totally relate.
    Colt—Clearly…damn sexy. I love his tough guy attitude, but I love the way he loves his mom. He pulled at my heart strings.
    Adrian—underneath the drugs you are a really cool and decent guy and I cannot wait for your story
    Bad: 
    Nothing was really bad, I just expected to have my heart pounding a little more.
    Overall (Writing style, story line, and general):
    Overall the book is one I would love to have seat on my book shelf. I loved the story-line and how the two characters who are completely different come from the same foundations and that is how they truly can relate. I love that they didn’t going into this lovin’ each other, how they were even fooling around before they realized they liked each other. Overall the book was something that seemed a little more real than fiction compared to so many others in the New Adult category (yes I know the books is fiction, but still). This is the type of book you read and can do nothing but smile after you’ve finished it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    If you liked Beautiful Disaster, then you are going to love Char

    If you liked Beautiful Disaster, then you are going to love Charade.  Yes, the plot is different however Chey and Colt are disasters without each other but they are beautiful disasters when they come together.  For those of you who didn’t like it because of the possessive and anger issues, this book does not have that element in it so I suggest you give it a try. 




    Charade had me crying for both of the characters.  Usually, it is just one character that experiences a very rough life or patch in their life that I shed a tear for but this book had me bawling for both.  Chey’s background story with her mother and how it has left her hurt my heart.  But when Colt opened up about his mother and how he finally admitted to his dread, anxiety, and feelings about one day losing her, I lost it.  It brought me back to my past; my feelings, anxiety, and that dreadful weight of losing someone ripped through me again.  To me, bring out my emotions and reliving it makes Dawn a wonderful writer.  She made me experience it all over again.  




    How they held on to each other to during the mess of their lives was beautiful.  Yes, it all started as a game but it ended in so much more. 




    “This isn’t a f***ing game anymore.  No charades here.  I don’t know exactly what to call it, but whatever it is, it is ours.  I’m going to latch onto it.  And never let go.” ~BookWhisperer Reviewer MC~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2012

    Wow, what an emotional book! Loved the way Colt and Chey found

    Wow, what an emotional book! Loved the way Colt and Chey found each other, loved their progression together, but really loved how they ended. There must be another!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Amazing book!

    This book was absolutely amazing! Well written, good climax, and very thought out plot. An emotional rollercoaster for sure and fell in love with Colt at the beginning. Charectars fit right into the story! I would highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Not good

    I stopped reading it halfway through.. the writing was kinda amiture.. we should be able to get refunds for books like this!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Good book

    .....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    I liked it more than I expected

    This is another book that reminded me of Beautiful Disaster, and I liked it a lot. I love books that write in the POV of both the girl and the guy and this did that really well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Great read - high recommend.

    This book was an enjoyable read. I found the characters to be very well written and the plot was great. It is not an unemotional read though. There were some very sad situations dealt with in this book and the author did a great job of portraying the heartfelt emotions of the characters. Would highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Loved it!

    Great story, couldnt put it down. Great characters and romance that made me laugh and cry. Well worth the money and your time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 9