Customer Reviews for

Charade

Average Rating 4.5
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Story

    I kinda like it but not too much

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2013

    What took me so long to read this book?! I loved it soo much! I

    What took me so long to read this book?! I loved it soo much! I laughed & my eyes welled up. It was a beautiful story about beautiful people. Charade is about two emotionally damaged people that realize they need each other. Colt needs money & Cheyenne needs a fake boyfriend to prove she has moved on from her cheating ex.

    Colt appears to be a bad boy who cares about nothing. But this is far from the truth. He is so sweet & caring. I'll admit it, I've got a huge crush on him!! :)

    Cheyenne appears to be the cliché spoiled girl on the outside. But this is far from the truth, she had a rough childhood & hasn't seen her mom since she was ten years old. She feels she can't get close & connect with anyone because everyone will end up leaving her.

    What started out as a charade for these two ended up becoming the realest & truest thing either of them had ever experienced! They were both broken but together they found the strength to begin to accept & heal.

    This is definitely one of my favorite books I have read so far this year. I just love books that have real, raw characters. I read this entire book in two sittings because I just could not get enough of it!! Colt is cocky, doesn't care what other people think & cusses like a sailor. I really enjoyed watching him grow throughout the book. Cheyenne was sweet & extremely broken from her past, I liked her real-ness & I never found her to be annoying. I highly recommend this book to anyone who has not yet read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    4.5 stars  I absolutely adore Colt and Chey. Their story was

    4.5 stars 




    I absolutely adore Colt and Chey. Their story was sweet, sexy, and endearing. This book is yet another example as to why I am a fan Nyrae Dawn's writing. She creates characters that steal your heart and develops stories with substance. If you haven't read this one yet, you must get it now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    So good!

    So good, but oh my god, so sad! I cried so hard when his mom died. Definately going on my favorites list

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    I love characters who are fully fleshed-out with a detailed back

    I love characters who are fully fleshed-out with a detailed back story. It makes them seem more real, more believable. They come alive on the page, and Colt and Chey are no exception. Nyrae Dawn does a masterful job diving deep into the subconscious of these two. This couple is more than just pretty to look at. There is so much going on beneath the surface. It's a love story that is riveting in its emotional complexity. It gives you something to sink your teeth into, it's not mindless fluff, and I so appreciate that.
    Colt is filled with anger. Why? His mom is dying of cancer, and he feels trapped in a life he does not want to lead. Chey presents a false front to the world. She's dealing with demons from her childhood from sexual abuse to abandonment by her mother. She tries to hide her frequent panic attacks by being the person she thinks everyone wants her to be. The only way she can experience love is by giving other people what they want. Colt immediately sees through her fake persona, and challenges her to let it go and open up to him.
    The beautiful part of their burgeoning relationship is that it started with a lie, a charade, but it develops over the course of the novel into something firmly rooted on trust and acceptance. They grow stronger by leaning on each other. They're able to deal with their issues, and face the future together. They can walk away from who they were and become something better.
    Nyrae Dawn hits all of the right notes when it comes to depicting college life, especially in constructing the party atmosphere of Colt's off-campus apartment. She nails the guy point-of-view segments with internal dialogue that rings true. Colt's the marijuana dealing bad boy - with a white, fluffy bedspread. He's trying desperately to turn his emotions off, but the scenes with his mom and Chey are the most powerful because they show the kind, generous person hiding behind the tough exterior. The transformation of Colt from a casual hook-up, brawling, cursing prick to a mature, devoted boyfriend is the reason you need to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    !!!!!

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    What a great book!  Great story made me laugh and cry...

    What a great book!  Great story made me laugh and cry...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    I LOVE IT : )

    It is an amazing book filled with emotion and more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Couldnt put it down!!!

    My first review, couldn't not write one. Loved this book!!! I laughed, I cried and I cried and I cried!!!! You feel for these two!!! A must read!!! Easy read, read in 1 day couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    I'm in LOVE

    I love buying little short books that are easy to read over the summer. Sometimes, they are not good at all. But this book is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Emotional

    Good read. I gas some intense parts. My dad recently died from cancer so I was able to relate to that part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Excellent book, do not pass it up!

    Excellent book, do not pass it up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Amazing read

    I enjoyed this story. Cried...not the silent tear cry but the sobbing OMG I don't know what to do cried. Really worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    :)

    It was amazing! Cant wait for the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    good book

    i liked this book alot. it made me cry and loved their story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Loved it!!!

    This is one of my favorite books. It had me crying and laughing.... If you are looking for a really good book this is it.... I could feel the characters. Awesome story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    A must read

    Such an amazing book, loved the characters and the storyline and I definitely felt like I was part of it myself

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Beautiful Real Story

    Two people who are hurr by their past and present put up a charade to hide who they really are fall for each other in this beautiful heartbreaking story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Playing games with love never ends the way you expect it to be..

    Playing games with love never ends the way you expect it to be...




    I really love the plot in the story. Paying someone to be your "fake" boyfriend and falling in love with them for-real is awesome. I love how in the beginning they were at each other throats. They called each other names and used each other for what they needed. Little by little they each learn to let down their guard and show they real person inside. What they find is real love and compassion, mostly cause it started off as a friendship. And that is the best love right? The kind of love that goes deeper then lust but overtakes your entire soul.




    The love interest is the best part of the story. Two people both facing different hardships needing a trusting friend to be with. In the beginning they were all for using each other but in the end, they sought each other willingly cause they needed each other. The way that their love bloom slowly, yet full of passion kept my head in the story. I wanted to feel their every emotion in becoming friends and then experiencing true love for the first time.




    There is also nice humor of the book that lightens up the heavy parts. There are some parts in the book that just tear my heart up. I cried a little (mostly at the end) cause it all felt so real. The search for someone to be by your side, while losing someone dear, its all so bittersweet yet beautiful.




    Charade is an fantastic start to a series I want more of. It's real and the game of love is played nicely. Two unsuspecting people falling in love in the midst of trouble and heartache is an excellent recipe for an awesome book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    AMAZING LOVE STORY!

    I really loved this book. It's a great love story, but if it were on TV it would be rated PG. It should not be lidted as an erotic romance. Because it definitelt is not X rated. Great story but wish the sex was hotter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9