Customer Reviews for

A Charge to Keep

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 1999

    Bush, uhhh... writes a book.

    Srangely reminiscent of both the spice girls and the Oprah autobiographies. He offers a simple solutions to extremely complex issues, like a human roll of duct tape, but the actual parts of the book about him are enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2004

    George W. Bush

    Excellent biography! I enjoyed reading about our President... the life he has lead and the choices he has made, which have brought him to the position he is in today. I appreciate George W's desire to serve others and am thankful that he has been re-elected to a second term.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2004

    president beorge w bush

    president george w bush is clearly our greatest president since ronald wilson reagan. president bush does not hesitate to destroy the evil of the islamofascist terrorists, thus opening up more of the world to ever increasing democracy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2004

    A Whitewash

    I found this book pure fiction. It was boring...and simply showing the 'born rich' never will get it!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2003

    Keep The Charge

    This little tome reminds me of the 'I Love Lucy' episode in which Lucy decides to write a book. A publisher offers to publish parts of it in an upcoming textbook on writing. It will head up the chapter entitled 'Don't Let This Happen To You'. But, we did. Good Grief!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2003

    The President speaks for himself!

    I learned from the President himself that he is not like his father. He grew up in Texas and worked in business himself. I appreciated reading his testimony of how he became a Christian at age 40 and says Jesus Christ helped him (not AA) stop drinking beer, and he never had a drink again! AMEN!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2002

    MUST READ

    This is a must read book detailing the man-within-a-man of George W. Bush including how he looks at the world around him. Conservatives, liberals, and moderates alike will take note of what the U.S. President says.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2002

    An insight to a truly great man

    This book was informative, honest, and spellbinding. The reader learns about the family values and wonderful moral character of the President. I feel this is an autobiography of our greatest leader. It further proves I have voted for the right man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2002

    G.B - A Charge To Keep

    Read the book. What a self serving book of bull. This book wasn't worth wasting the paper it was printed on. I would give this book zero stars but the lowest you can go is one star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2002

    A great book abput a Great president! (Sw Engineer San Diego)

    I'll keep it short. The book really reveals the essence of who our President Bush really is. It is to the point and it is real, not a poitical spin so often see from other less respectable representatives. I have seen his charactor come through when our Nation needed him so desperatly. He displayed courage and strength and trust and you see why in this book. This man is the greatest president I have ever known and you really need to read the book to understand why I respect him and admire his leadership. Observe these charactoristics in his actions as he leads America.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2002

    God fearing man

    God bless George W. Finally a president in office with some morals. Not like the druggie, adulterer we had for the last eight years. FINALLY! Someone to fight the baby-killers and sodomites that have overrun our once great nation! GOD & COUNTRY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2001

    HOW? HOW? HOW?

    In ofice for not even a year and here come the books. Can't be very well written, and its not.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2001

    Idealizing G.W.

    George W. Bush is a moron, that is clear. This book successfully side steps all the less than desirable events of G.W. 's life, rather it employs rhetoric and a glossy finish to enhance the life of a coke snorting, drunken, womanizing, election stealing, mouthpiece, baffoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2001

    A great look into the life of our 43rd President

    This autobiography is one of the best I have readin a while. He goes into his personal life and displays it with out hesitation. Our President has done a great job and I would recomend this book to anyone who asked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2001

    A revealing look into the life of our new President!

    'A Charge To Keep' is a revealing look into the personal stories and public life of one of America's most intriguing political leaders. I also found it to be inspirational and optimistic. I enjoyed seeing the fifteen pages of pictures in the center of the book. At the end of the book you will find an Index so you can look up his views on anything from baseball to social security. I have been following the news for a while now and found it enlightening to finally get the other side of the story on many issues. You will so enjoy reading the other side of so many stories the media distorted for their own use. I have always believed that it is best to go to the source and learn the truth. In this book, you will finally hear George W.'s side of the story and also hear the truth about how he has successfully worked with Republicans and Democrats to enact Texas' two largest tax cuts. This is a book filled with personal and political experiences which have shaped his values and led him to his decision to become a candidate for President. You will read about everything from his experiences as Governor to his love of baseball. His wit, intelligence and down-to-earth personality will also never fail to impress you. I found it interesting to read about his inspiration for his philosophy of 'leave no child behind.' This actually came from his working for an inner-city poverty program. You will fully understand how this man developed his compassionate conservative philosophy. You will truly see the heart of a man who I know will make a great President. There are qualities we all want to see in a President: Honesty, discipline, leadership, a proven track record of success, the ability to solve problems, a love for America, a love for the people of America, a can do attitude, moral values, a man who gives of himself, an insightful leader, someone who can keep the peace and knows that to do this means keeping our military strong, a man who can propose creative solutions and a man with a proved record of serving his country. I love the fact that he served in the Air National Guard, that he and his wife Laura have a love of reading and want to help every child learn to read, and that he knows that he is responsible to a higher power. He lives his faith, but does not flaunt it. 'America is a great country because of our religious freedoms.' --George W. Bush 'Reading is to the mind what food is to the body.' --George W. Bush For anyone who thinks that George W. Bush is cashing in on his father's good name...they have not read this book! This is a self-made man. I noticed that his values have not changed over the years. You will see this by reading the information on his past political campaigns. You will also see why reporters should read his book to get the real story. Through his life, he has also seen America's culture change dramatically and knows it is time to usher in an era of personal responsibility. He is a student of history and has studied the events that shaped America's political story. Men will love the story of his first solo flight in an F-102 on page 53, and the story about 'the cuff links' given to him by his father, on page 42. Women will love how he finally was introduced to Laura and how much he loves her and their daughters. 'Unconditional love is the greatest gift a parent can give a child.' --George W. Bush George W. Bush makes me want to stand up and say I am proud to be an American. He believes in the American people and wants us to seize the moment. He inspires HOPE! 'I am optimistic our children's lives will continue to improve in material terms. The risk is that their moral and spiritual lives will not improve. You see the strength of a society should not be measured only in the wealth it accumulates or the technology it develops. The strength of a society should be measured in the values its people share.' --George W. Bush What do I like most

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2000

    Knowing George W. Bush

    This book is a positive and uplifting journey through the life of then Texas govenor George W. Bush. Very well written this book serves as sort of an introduction to the man who is to become the 43rd president of the United States of America.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2000

    THE MEMOIRS OF PRESIDENT GEORGE W.BUSH

    EVERY AMERICAN MUST READ THE MEMOIRS OF OUR 43 PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES GEORGE W.BUSH.PRESIDENT BUSH WILL GIVE THE READER A HISTORY OF HIS LIFE AND TIMES.ON OCTOBER 14,2000 PRESIDENT BUSH SENT ME A AUTOGRAPHED NAME FOR HIS BOOK 'TO JEFFREY BEST WISHES'-G.W.BUSH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2000

    Great insight into the person behind the politics...

    This book gives delightful insight into the man behind the president-elect. After reading this book, I totally respect the man and feel he will do good from our country. He gets alot of bad press for giving simple answers to difficult problems, but he makes it clear that solutions are only as complicated as you make them. I think George W. is a brilliant man that understands the beauty of simplicity and applies it to his career and personal life. Bravo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2000

    THE MEMOIRS OF G.W.BUSH

    THE MEMOIRS OF GEORGE WALKER BUSH SHOULD BE READ BY EVERY AMERICAN.GEORGE W.BUSH OFFERS THE AMERICAN READER A PERSONAL PERSPECTIVE OF HIS LIFE.ON OCTOBER 14,2000 GOVERNOR BUSH SENT ME A NAME PLATE FOR HIS BOOK:'TO JEFFREY BEST WISHES -G.W.BUSH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 1999

    Meet the presidential candidate George W.

    After reading Pres. Bush's new book/memoir I dediced to read George W.'s book. It's hard not to find similarities between the two and I have to say that they are positive ones. George W. has an interesting background and excellent experience as Governor of Texas, not to mention his vast business experience. What impressed me most is the wonderful family values and his faith. The same is true of his dad. I enjoyed learning about him and his wife Laura and got a real sense of what matters to them. Family, friends, and a strong faith-do what is right. That's the way to go. The country sure can use a man of 'compassionate conservative' values in the White House!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2