Customer Reviews for

Chariots of the Gods

Average Rating 4
( 270 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(133)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

A book not to be missed.

To be able to present the reader with a new vision of the world is a gift that very few peole posess. Erich von Daniken in his Chariots of the Gods proves to be a master in theat art. His gift of writing is coupled by his endeavours to provide evidence for his theories....
To be able to present the reader with a new vision of the world is a gift that very few peole posess. Erich von Daniken in his Chariots of the Gods proves to be a master in theat art. His gift of writing is coupled by his endeavours to provide evidence for his theories. Thus, he tours the Earth; from the Medditerenian to China and South America, finding bits and pieces of the puzzle about the ancestor of man. It is a book that should not be missed.

posted by Anonymous on January 24, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Gullible

I am a 17 year old physics and mathematics major at Utah State University. To say that aliens are ancestors of humans is an absurd comment. Consider the anology of walking by an ant hill. We are much more inteligent than the ants obviously but we do not take the time to...
I am a 17 year old physics and mathematics major at Utah State University. To say that aliens are ancestors of humans is an absurd comment. Consider the anology of walking by an ant hill. We are much more inteligent than the ants obviously but we do not take the time to help them out or to interact with them. To say that aliens a much more inteligent race would help Earth out is an absurd comment and has no real scientific evidence to support it. Von Daniken for example, says that Egyptians had light bulbs. Common logic says that there would filaments and some kind of contraption to hold the filments but no remains what-so-ever have been found. Von Daniken wants to believe so badly that aliens existed that he will see any little drawing and interpret it as an alien visiting Earth. This has been given the term as an ink-blot analysis. To believe him and his radical views on history prove to how gullible we really are. I am very disappointed in the people who believe anything that read and don't make judgments for themselves.

posted by Anonymous on February 11, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2001

    Gullible

    I am a 17 year old physics and mathematics major at Utah State University. To say that aliens are ancestors of humans is an absurd comment. Consider the anology of walking by an ant hill. We are much more inteligent than the ants obviously but we do not take the time to help them out or to interact with them. To say that aliens a much more inteligent race would help Earth out is an absurd comment and has no real scientific evidence to support it. Von Daniken for example, says that Egyptians had light bulbs. Common logic says that there would filaments and some kind of contraption to hold the filments but no remains what-so-ever have been found. Von Daniken wants to believe so badly that aliens existed that he will see any little drawing and interpret it as an alien visiting Earth. This has been given the term as an ink-blot analysis. To believe him and his radical views on history prove to how gullible we really are. I am very disappointed in the people who believe anything that read and don't make judgments for themselves.

    10 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Pure Science Fiction

    Read the book when I was a young teen and found it an entertaining piece of fiction. I was an avid science reader and this book really was educational in the sense that it awakened me to Pseudo Science and just how easy it is to fool you.

    Of course if you're 14 years old and get suckered for a month it's just embarrassing; if you're an adult, shame on you.

    9 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Really!

    This book is not science based and has no business being in the science section. If you haven't read it do so only as a testiment to the poularity of pseudo-science among the ignorant.

    8 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    Absolute bunk!

    If you believe this stuff then you need to read few astronomy books to get over your magical thinking. I agree this junk should not be in the science section!

    6 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Not history, not science

    I took a college course on ancient mysteries, and ended up writing a paper on why this guy is full of crap. He either does not research very thoroughly or outright ignores evidence that contradicts his outrageous claims. Full of fallacies.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Are you kidding?

    Absolute crap and has no right being in the science section!

    4 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    There is a great video on YouTube called "Ancient Aliens De

    There is a great video on YouTube called "Ancient Aliens Debunked" that addresses the claims in this book. I read "Chariots of the Gods?" when it was first published in 1968. At the time, I was in my teens.I was so impressed with all of this UFO stuff, psychic phenomena, conspiracy theories, ... you name it.So, I read lots and lots of books and magazine articles on these subjects. I ordered many books from the library using inter-library loans to find all these cool rare books on strange and wonderfully mysterious subjects. A favorite was "Morning Of The Magicians", which catalogued centuries of strange unexplained phenomena.It took several years of studying into all of this fun pseudoscience, but I finally had to admit that the majority of these stories were based on hearsay, hoaxes, or lies that were then repeatedly inflated by people looking to acquire money or fame. I was sad as one by one, all of my favorite theories were shown to be overblown half-truths and inconsistencies. Yes, there are plenty of things that we have no good explanation for, but it doesn't help to explain a complex event with an even more complex cause. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Wrong Category

    When I look at a "History" section, I expect to see books about real events that actually happened. This is like going to the science section and finding a book promoting "flat earth theory". Not only is this book full of debunked BS, it's been debunked for decades. It's not even controversial. By all means, sell the book. But it has no place in this category.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    It's quite a funny and amusing book, until you realize that he's

    It's quite a funny and amusing book, until you realize that he's serious about what he's writing. He has no belief that early man could have done anything.To sum up this work, "Can't explain something, it must be aliens".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Completly absurd

    A completely fictitious historically inaccuracy of the ancient pyramids. What makes it worse is that people are actually believing this drivel

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    sample

    the sample was just the forward.that was stupid but this is something u r going to like if you like aliens

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2