Customer Reviews for

Chariots of the Gods

Average Rating 4
( 272 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

A book not to be missed.

To be able to present the reader with a new vision of the world is a gift that very few peole posess. Erich von Daniken in his Chariots of the Gods proves to be a master in theat art. His gift of writing is coupled by his endeavours to provide evidence for his theories....
To be able to present the reader with a new vision of the world is a gift that very few peole posess. Erich von Daniken in his Chariots of the Gods proves to be a master in theat art. His gift of writing is coupled by his endeavours to provide evidence for his theories. Thus, he tours the Earth; from the Medditerenian to China and South America, finding bits and pieces of the puzzle about the ancestor of man. It is a book that should not be missed.

posted by Anonymous on January 24, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Gullible

I am a 17 year old physics and mathematics major at Utah State University. To say that aliens are ancestors of humans is an absurd comment. Consider the anology of walking by an ant hill. We are much more inteligent than the ants obviously but we do not take the time to...
I am a 17 year old physics and mathematics major at Utah State University. To say that aliens are ancestors of humans is an absurd comment. Consider the anology of walking by an ant hill. We are much more inteligent than the ants obviously but we do not take the time to help them out or to interact with them. To say that aliens a much more inteligent race would help Earth out is an absurd comment and has no real scientific evidence to support it. Von Daniken for example, says that Egyptians had light bulbs. Common logic says that there would filaments and some kind of contraption to hold the filments but no remains what-so-ever have been found. Von Daniken wants to believe so badly that aliens existed that he will see any little drawing and interpret it as an alien visiting Earth. This has been given the term as an ink-blot analysis. To believe him and his radical views on history prove to how gullible we really are. I am very disappointed in the people who believe anything that read and don't make judgments for themselves.

posted by Anonymous on February 11, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2000

    A book not to be missed.

    To be able to present the reader with a new vision of the world is a gift that very few peole posess. Erich von Daniken in his Chariots of the Gods proves to be a master in theat art. His gift of writing is coupled by his endeavours to provide evidence for his theories. Thus, he tours the Earth; from the Medditerenian to China and South America, finding bits and pieces of the puzzle about the ancestor of man. It is a book that should not be missed.

    18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It really makes you think

    This book was great. It takes the feats performed by the great ancient civilizations and gives a convincing argument against the traditional beliefs commonly accepted as facts. Von Daniken points out the flaws in the ways things may have been done throughout ancient history and really makes you wonder... Have we been visited before by extra-terrestrials and did they indeed help shape our civilizations of the past to influence our civilizations of today?? This book really makes you second guess everything that you thought you already knew. GREAT BOOK!

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2002

    kind of rubbish but a great inspiration for enthusiasm

    The common question: which one comes first? Is it Chicken or egg? No matter what we choose to believe, I must say the ancient astronaut theory should have take its place as well-deserved respect. As a student of history and anthropology, I don't believe that every answers should be heavily pending on the existence of extraterristrial. But in order to be a great scientist or a rationalist, you have to keep in mind that all kinds of unexplainable phenomone cannot be answer by the scientfic method. Therefore, we should all regard it as an inconclusive possiblity of human origin. I would argue that it is absolute arrogance to reject all possibility of alternative explanation. We have to keep in open eyes. We would have never gussed that alchemy contributed to the rise of modern chemistry. More importantly, we should focus on how ancient astronaut theroy inspires in the direction of "real history" and "real science". After all, I decide to become a historian after I read series of ufology books. So the point is, how much it inspire us to become more conventional. I think it is pointless to argue who's right or who's wrong.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    sceptics eat your heart out

    have ever looked at the mysteries of the past and wondered if our currant way of thinking is flawed. if so then this is the book for you. chariot of the gods looks at our ancient history with an modern view and an objective mind. Bringing new possibilities to the origins of intelligence and some interesting interpretations of holy texts. the basis of the book is (and quote)WAS GOD AN ASTRONAUT did he come down from the heavens on a chariot of fire (i.e rocket ship). erich von daikens theory has inspired millions and will inspire you too i wont elaborate on its content instead i will urge you to read it and take it on board with a pinch of salt. The main point of the book is that we must challenge the currant theories as the (its gods will) or (don't test god) answers aren't sufficient any more. my advice is to follow the example given by not taking it as fact, do your research and make your own assumption. after reading this book you will have a different view of ancient history and holy texts p.s be sceptical

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    Chariots of The God's Myth Or Fact??

    I have read the Book Chariot's of The Gods and I have to say that I find it totally thrilling. It grabs ahold and does not let go I begin to understand what the author is getting at, their are lost civilizations that have monumental structures that defy convential means. I would say that this is one book that everyone should read at least once. Who are we to say that any of this is Myth or for that matter Fact, you be the judge who gave these people the knowledge to build, all thes places that now stand in ruin. The Pyramids of Egypt,or for that matter the stone walls that are fitted together so tightly that you cannot even to this day slip a sheet of paper between them,they are cut so well and fitted together without any kind of Mortar more like a Jigsaw Puzzle fits together. But judge for yourself is this Fact or Myth?? I tend to belive otherwise someone had to have taught them how to do this, Then their is The Aztec Calendar which is accurate until the year 2013, the day that the Gods Return to Earth?? Again who taught them to make such a calendar? and why the year 2013?? Got your interest read the book and decide for yourself.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Interesting

    This book has been out since 1968. I have heard many things about this book for years and finally got around to reading it. This book was way ahead of its time and a page turner. The question marks are something to note. Mr. Von Daniken has been scrutinize for things listed in his book but the critics need to point out the question marks. I admire Mr. Von Daniken passion to bring up points and possibilites in relation to ancient civilizations, religions, cultures, etc....It is neat to hear about the facts about the ancient wonders of the world. I do disagree with some of the author's conclusions and want to point out that many commentators such as Mr. Von Daniken will spend the whole time telling you the history of things and the fact these ancient gods may return but not tell the audience what we must do to appease the gods. What would these gods find acceptable for mankind to be right with them? As for me, I believe these gods are nothing more than fallen angel worship, ie gen 6, jude, enoch, etc....If these gods were to show up, it would be nothing more than devils in alien flesh. Another point, these gods influenced certain civilizations and these civilizations advanced greatly in many areas. But many wonder what happened to them? Where did they go? Amazing, little tiny Israel is still going. Makes you wonder if Jehovah God is the true God. Which I believe He is. Derek D

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2000

    Excellent

    I picked this book up at the school library, on a friend's recommendation. When i began reading it i became more and more aware of the ubsurdities of our beliefs today, and with many of our oldest texts, including the Old Testament. Now, dont think of me as blasphemous. Before you accuse me of that, read this book, it will open your eyes up to infinite possibilities, and poses the ultimate question: Was God an Astronaut?

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Classic book for anyone in the science fields.

    Great read, pay no attention to one star reviews, they must have wandered away from the bible section.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    Mind Boggling

    This book was magnificent. It points out a whole new world of ideas, facts, theories, and truths! A must have.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wow! I bought the Nook version of Chariots of the Gods as it had

    Wow! I bought the Nook version of Chariots of the Gods as it had been sited in another book I was read. I'm glad I did. Read the book in a matter of days. This book is very interesting, thought-provoking, and engaging. An excellent read! Daniken masterly crafts his points of discussion in a way that is easy to intellectually digest, but yet each point carries so much weight. Worth the read. As funny as this sounds, be prepared to see the world around you in a different light and your curiosity fueled to learn more afterward.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazed!

    Science and Religion can not explain the world completely, because they are trapped in a box. When one steps out of the box they are scorned and ridiculed, but they are also exposed to a broader band of possibilties and that is exactly what this book does. It ask all the right questions to get one to step out of the box and just think! Ofcourse nothing has been proven but they never will be until people embrace the the thought that nothing is set in stone and things are not always what they seem.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    it is a good book to help open your mind to possibilities in our ancient history

    some of the research is out dated because of the year the book was written but the book is still a great read. very exciting and mind expanding.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Great read

    If you like ancient astronaut theories, you will like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Classic

    Its the book that started it all for me. Was never the same. Was sad when i finished reading it years ago as teen wanted more couldnt get enough had to watch all the shows about ets remember in search of in70s

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Domino

    Nearly gets hit by his scythe

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    David

    Takes his scythe out. He destroys every tree and rock.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I was so excited to finally read this book after hearing about i

    I was so excited to finally read this book after hearing about it for so long. The way the author "Erich Von Daniken" puts the book together is absolutely brilliant. The author puts alot of the text in a form of questions that one person can ask themselves to draw up their own conclusions from at the end of the book. Everything in my opinion that the author brings up in a form of question, is highly likely and not so impossible as one might think. Imagine being back in the ancient day and seeing something flying in the sky, coming from the heavens. It would seem quite different and all of these which seem odd to us drawings and depictions were tryng to tell us one simple thing in the best way that ancient people could describe it. "The ones whom from the heavens came." Why should we be soooooo narrow minded to stick to one single belief or idea, is it cause it makes people uncomfortable with what is being taught in history books, or being told in the news. Without asking questions or seeking the truth our society and civilization wouldn't be where it is today. We owe a lot to asking very simple questions and maybe in turn we will get the answers which we are seeking. Just as the author "Erich Von Daniken" put it we owe it to the future generations to ask these questions and come out of the normal way of thinking. We are meant for great things, so lets achieve them! This book is great and extremely easy to read. Anyone interested in out of the box thinking should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    a blast. i took this read with my while i was on vacation --- i

    a blast.
    i took this read with my while i was on vacation --- i was more into this read then my freedom. this book serves well for anyone that has a flexible mind...put your bible down and take a look at it.
    great read !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    A "must read" book!

    This book will open your eyes. I was impressed with how the information was presented as Erich von Daniken employed the "scientific method" to express his theories. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    One of the most interesting hypothesis on our existence that I've ever heard.

    After reading Chariots of the Gods, anyone will question their preconceived ideas of our existence and the history of mankind in general. Erich Von Däniken takes the reader through a journey back in time like no other writer has ever done before. When the reader returns they might even find that they have a new perspective on things such as religion, culture, spirituality and so forth. Däniken also purports that mankind has been visited by extra terrestrial beings in the past who are responsible for the development of our intelligence in many aspects. This idea is referred to as Paleo-contact. Whether this is a theory or a fact, there are very compelling arguments to to ascertain and mysterious questions about our past capabilities that still cannot be explained for or replicated with today's knowledge or technology. While the reader might not agree with all or some of Daniken's theories, they will definately question and possibly re-invent their own after reading Chariots of the Gods.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7