Customer Reviews for

Chariots of the Gods

Average Rating 4
( 273 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

A book not to be missed.

To be able to present the reader with a new vision of the world is a gift that very few peole posess. Erich von Daniken in his Chariots of the Gods proves to be a master in theat art. His gift of writing is coupled by his endeavours to provide evidence for his theories....
To be able to present the reader with a new vision of the world is a gift that very few peole posess. Erich von Daniken in his Chariots of the Gods proves to be a master in theat art. His gift of writing is coupled by his endeavours to provide evidence for his theories. Thus, he tours the Earth; from the Medditerenian to China and South America, finding bits and pieces of the puzzle about the ancestor of man. It is a book that should not be missed.

posted by Anonymous on January 24, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Gullible

I am a 17 year old physics and mathematics major at Utah State University. To say that aliens are ancestors of humans is an absurd comment. Consider the anology of walking by an ant hill. We are much more inteligent than the ants obviously but we do not take the time to...
I am a 17 year old physics and mathematics major at Utah State University. To say that aliens are ancestors of humans is an absurd comment. Consider the anology of walking by an ant hill. We are much more inteligent than the ants obviously but we do not take the time to help them out or to interact with them. To say that aliens a much more inteligent race would help Earth out is an absurd comment and has no real scientific evidence to support it. Von Daniken for example, says that Egyptians had light bulbs. Common logic says that there would filaments and some kind of contraption to hold the filments but no remains what-so-ever have been found. Von Daniken wants to believe so badly that aliens existed that he will see any little drawing and interpret it as an alien visiting Earth. This has been given the term as an ink-blot analysis. To believe him and his radical views on history prove to how gullible we really are. I am very disappointed in the people who believe anything that read and don't make judgments for themselves.

posted by Anonymous on February 11, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 277 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    Mind Boggling

    This book was magnificent. It points out a whole new world of ideas, facts, theories, and truths! A must have.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Wrong Category

    When I look at a "History" section, I expect to see books about real events that actually happened. This is like going to the science section and finding a book promoting "flat earth theory". Not only is this book full of debunked BS, it's been debunked for decades. It's not even controversial. By all means, sell the book. But it has no place in this category.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    It's quite a funny and amusing book, until you realize that he's

    It's quite a funny and amusing book, until you realize that he's serious about what he's writing. He has no belief that early man could have done anything.To sum up this work, "Can't explain something, it must be aliens".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wow! I bought the Nook version of Chariots of the Gods as it had

    Wow! I bought the Nook version of Chariots of the Gods as it had been sited in another book I was read. I'm glad I did. Read the book in a matter of days. This book is very interesting, thought-provoking, and engaging. An excellent read! Daniken masterly crafts his points of discussion in a way that is easy to intellectually digest, but yet each point carries so much weight. Worth the read. As funny as this sounds, be prepared to see the world around you in a different light and your curiosity fueled to learn more afterward.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    ALIENS??

    I love this book. Everyone who wants to open their eyes should read it. Those who are strongly religous...stay away or else you will be a convert to aliens...

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazed!

    Science and Religion can not explain the world completely, because they are trapped in a box. When one steps out of the box they are scorned and ridiculed, but they are also exposed to a broader band of possibilties and that is exactly what this book does. It ask all the right questions to get one to step out of the box and just think! Ofcourse nothing has been proven but they never will be until people embrace the the thought that nothing is set in stone and things are not always what they seem.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    it is a good book to help open your mind to possibilities in our ancient history

    some of the research is out dated because of the year the book was written but the book is still a great read. very exciting and mind expanding.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    So I have just finished this book and my only regret is that I b

    So I have just finished this book and my only regret is that I bought it in ebook format. If I had a hard copy the maps would have been easier to look at. Now as far as some of the reviews which are negative I have to disagree and consider that you didn't look at this book with an open mind. The first argument is whether or not this book belongs in the science or science fiction book section. Actually I think it could go in either. Daikien presents a hypothesis to explain some of the mysteries present in out history. He offers an alternative explanation to mysteries such as how the pyramids were built considering the Egyptians didn't have the wheel and the nearest quarry was miles away. Daniken doesn't state that his alternate theory is the only possible solution, he presents an intriguing viewpoint and invites you het reader to make up your own mind. I found it interesting and thought provoking at the very least.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Great read

    If you like ancient astronaut theories, you will like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Classic

    Its the book that started it all for me. Was never the same. Was sad when i finished reading it years ago as teen wanted more couldnt get enough had to watch all the shows about ets remember in search of in70s

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Great book

    Really makes you think about what our ancient history was actually like.
    Opens up a great deal of questions about the validity of what we have all been taught about the pyramids, Stonehenge and more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Sabariam

    Watches and angrely grabed the weapon out of his hand and throwit into the long grass

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Domino

    Nearly gets hit by his scythe

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    David

    Takes his scythe out. He destroys every tree and rock.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I was so excited to finally read this book after hearing about i

    I was so excited to finally read this book after hearing about it for so long. The way the author "Erich Von Daniken" puts the book together is absolutely brilliant. The author puts alot of the text in a form of questions that one person can ask themselves to draw up their own conclusions from at the end of the book. Everything in my opinion that the author brings up in a form of question, is highly likely and not so impossible as one might think. Imagine being back in the ancient day and seeing something flying in the sky, coming from the heavens. It would seem quite different and all of these which seem odd to us drawings and depictions were tryng to tell us one simple thing in the best way that ancient people could describe it. "The ones whom from the heavens came." Why should we be soooooo narrow minded to stick to one single belief or idea, is it cause it makes people uncomfortable with what is being taught in history books, or being told in the news. Without asking questions or seeking the truth our society and civilization wouldn't be where it is today. We owe a lot to asking very simple questions and maybe in turn we will get the answers which we are seeking. Just as the author "Erich Von Daniken" put it we owe it to the future generations to ask these questions and come out of the normal way of thinking. We are meant for great things, so lets achieve them! This book is great and extremely easy to read. Anyone interested in out of the box thinking should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    a blast. i took this read with my while i was on vacation --- i

    a blast.
    i took this read with my while i was on vacation --- i was more into this read then my freedom. this book serves well for anyone that has a flexible mind...put your bible down and take a look at it.
    great read !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    So hard to follow

    I liked this book okay, but it is difficult to follow. I didn't like the way it was written. Many good ideas and examples but there are more up to date books that are more accurate and easier to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Completly absurd

    A completely fictitious historically inaccuracy of the ancient pyramids. What makes it worse is that people are actually believing this drivel

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    A "must read" book!

    This book will open your eyes. I was impressed with how the information was presented as Erich von Daniken employed the "scientific method" to express his theories. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Disturbing facts

    This book is very scary and had trouble sleeping for a few weeks.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 277 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14