Customer Reviews for

Chariots of the Gods

Average Rating 4
( 270 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(133)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

A book not to be missed.

To be able to present the reader with a new vision of the world is a gift that very few peole posess. Erich von Daniken in his Chariots of the Gods proves to be a master in theat art. His gift of writing is coupled by his endeavours to provide evidence for his theories....
To be able to present the reader with a new vision of the world is a gift that very few peole posess. Erich von Daniken in his Chariots of the Gods proves to be a master in theat art. His gift of writing is coupled by his endeavours to provide evidence for his theories. Thus, he tours the Earth; from the Medditerenian to China and South America, finding bits and pieces of the puzzle about the ancestor of man. It is a book that should not be missed.

posted by Anonymous on January 24, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Gullible

I am a 17 year old physics and mathematics major at Utah State University. To say that aliens are ancestors of humans is an absurd comment. Consider the anology of walking by an ant hill. We are much more inteligent than the ants obviously but we do not take the time to...
I am a 17 year old physics and mathematics major at Utah State University. To say that aliens are ancestors of humans is an absurd comment. Consider the anology of walking by an ant hill. We are much more inteligent than the ants obviously but we do not take the time to help them out or to interact with them. To say that aliens a much more inteligent race would help Earth out is an absurd comment and has no real scientific evidence to support it. Von Daniken for example, says that Egyptians had light bulbs. Common logic says that there would filaments and some kind of contraption to hold the filments but no remains what-so-ever have been found. Von Daniken wants to believe so badly that aliens existed that he will see any little drawing and interpret it as an alien visiting Earth. This has been given the term as an ink-blot analysis. To believe him and his radical views on history prove to how gullible we really are. I am very disappointed in the people who believe anything that read and don't make judgments for themselves.

posted by Anonymous on February 11, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2000

    A book not to be missed.

    To be able to present the reader with a new vision of the world is a gift that very few peole posess. Erich von Daniken in his Chariots of the Gods proves to be a master in theat art. His gift of writing is coupled by his endeavours to provide evidence for his theories. Thus, he tours the Earth; from the Medditerenian to China and South America, finding bits and pieces of the puzzle about the ancestor of man. It is a book that should not be missed.

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It really makes you think

    This book was great. It takes the feats performed by the great ancient civilizations and gives a convincing argument against the traditional beliefs commonly accepted as facts. Von Daniken points out the flaws in the ways things may have been done throughout ancient history and really makes you wonder... Have we been visited before by extra-terrestrials and did they indeed help shape our civilizations of the past to influence our civilizations of today?? This book really makes you second guess everything that you thought you already knew. GREAT BOOK!

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2001

    Gullible

    I am a 17 year old physics and mathematics major at Utah State University. To say that aliens are ancestors of humans is an absurd comment. Consider the anology of walking by an ant hill. We are much more inteligent than the ants obviously but we do not take the time to help them out or to interact with them. To say that aliens a much more inteligent race would help Earth out is an absurd comment and has no real scientific evidence to support it. Von Daniken for example, says that Egyptians had light bulbs. Common logic says that there would filaments and some kind of contraption to hold the filments but no remains what-so-ever have been found. Von Daniken wants to believe so badly that aliens existed that he will see any little drawing and interpret it as an alien visiting Earth. This has been given the term as an ink-blot analysis. To believe him and his radical views on history prove to how gullible we really are. I am very disappointed in the people who believe anything that read and don't make judgments for themselves.

    10 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Pure Science Fiction

    Read the book when I was a young teen and found it an entertaining piece of fiction. I was an avid science reader and this book really was educational in the sense that it awakened me to Pseudo Science and just how easy it is to fool you.

    Of course if you're 14 years old and get suckered for a month it's just embarrassing; if you're an adult, shame on you.

    9 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Really!

    This book is not science based and has no business being in the science section. If you haven't read it do so only as a testiment to the poularity of pseudo-science among the ignorant.

    8 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    Absolute bunk!

    If you believe this stuff then you need to read few astronomy books to get over your magical thinking. I agree this junk should not be in the science section!

    6 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    sceptics eat your heart out

    have ever looked at the mysteries of the past and wondered if our currant way of thinking is flawed. if so then this is the book for you. chariot of the gods looks at our ancient history with an modern view and an objective mind. Bringing new possibilities to the origins of intelligence and some interesting interpretations of holy texts. the basis of the book is (and quote)WAS GOD AN ASTRONAUT did he come down from the heavens on a chariot of fire (i.e rocket ship). erich von daikens theory has inspired millions and will inspire you too i wont elaborate on its content instead i will urge you to read it and take it on board with a pinch of salt. The main point of the book is that we must challenge the currant theories as the (its gods will) or (don't test god) answers aren't sufficient any more. my advice is to follow the example given by not taking it as fact, do your research and make your own assumption. after reading this book you will have a different view of ancient history and holy texts p.s be sceptical

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2002

    kind of rubbish but a great inspiration for enthusiasm

    The common question: which one comes first? Is it Chicken or egg? No matter what we choose to believe, I must say the ancient astronaut theory should have take its place as well-deserved respect. As a student of history and anthropology, I don't believe that every answers should be heavily pending on the existence of extraterristrial. But in order to be a great scientist or a rationalist, you have to keep in mind that all kinds of unexplainable phenomone cannot be answer by the scientfic method. Therefore, we should all regard it as an inconclusive possiblity of human origin. I would argue that it is absolute arrogance to reject all possibility of alternative explanation. We have to keep in open eyes. We would have never gussed that alchemy contributed to the rise of modern chemistry. More importantly, we should focus on how ancient astronaut theroy inspires in the direction of "real history" and "real science". After all, I decide to become a historian after I read series of ufology books. So the point is, how much it inspire us to become more conventional. I think it is pointless to argue who's right or who's wrong.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Not history, not science

    I took a college course on ancient mysteries, and ended up writing a paper on why this guy is full of crap. He either does not research very thoroughly or outright ignores evidence that contradicts his outrageous claims. Full of fallacies.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    Wow!

    I first heard of this on History channel Ancient Aliens. You cannot ignore this data, and ask yourself do we really think we were first?

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    Chariots of The God's Myth Or Fact??

    I have read the Book Chariot's of The Gods and I have to say that I find it totally thrilling. It grabs ahold and does not let go I begin to understand what the author is getting at, their are lost civilizations that have monumental structures that defy convential means. I would say that this is one book that everyone should read at least once. Who are we to say that any of this is Myth or for that matter Fact, you be the judge who gave these people the knowledge to build, all thes places that now stand in ruin. The Pyramids of Egypt,or for that matter the stone walls that are fitted together so tightly that you cannot even to this day slip a sheet of paper between them,they are cut so well and fitted together without any kind of Mortar more like a Jigsaw Puzzle fits together. But judge for yourself is this Fact or Myth?? I tend to belive otherwise someone had to have taught them how to do this, Then their is The Aztec Calendar which is accurate until the year 2013, the day that the Gods Return to Earth?? Again who taught them to make such a calendar? and why the year 2013?? Got your interest read the book and decide for yourself.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2002

    To extremist.

    Daniken puts forth some intersting theories in this book,but it is badly flawed by his extremist point of view.He so ardently believes in these theories that anyone who doesn't is branded a reactionary idiot or some kind of religious fanatic.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Are you kidding?

    Absolute crap and has no right being in the science section!

    4 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    So-so

    I am only about half way through this book. It is an interesting read, good piece of fiction.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Interesting

    This book has been out since 1968. I have heard many things about this book for years and finally got around to reading it. This book was way ahead of its time and a page turner. The question marks are something to note. Mr. Von Daniken has been scrutinize for things listed in his book but the critics need to point out the question marks. I admire Mr. Von Daniken passion to bring up points and possibilites in relation to ancient civilizations, religions, cultures, etc....It is neat to hear about the facts about the ancient wonders of the world. I do disagree with some of the author's conclusions and want to point out that many commentators such as Mr. Von Daniken will spend the whole time telling you the history of things and the fact these ancient gods may return but not tell the audience what we must do to appease the gods. What would these gods find acceptable for mankind to be right with them? As for me, I believe these gods are nothing more than fallen angel worship, ie gen 6, jude, enoch, etc....If these gods were to show up, it would be nothing more than devils in alien flesh. Another point, these gods influenced certain civilizations and these civilizations advanced greatly in many areas. But many wonder what happened to them? Where did they go? Amazing, little tiny Israel is still going. Makes you wonder if Jehovah God is the true God. Which I believe He is. Derek D

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2009

    Open your mind

    This was one of the most interesting books I have ever read. Von Daniken's claim that we have been visited in the past by higher intelligences is plausible. I love how he uses details from the Bible to reinforce his ideas. Bear in mind that his suppositions viewed through the traditional lens will seem preposterous. If you have firm religious convictions, this book could be hard to digest. On the other hand, it may astound you.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2001

    Interesting and excellent book but, don┬┐t take it seriously

    Intersting and well thougt out explanations for certain events in the bible. Many explanations talk of supernatrual and extraterrestrial-beings.Erich Von Daniken really gives some seemingly outrageous explanations but yet logical ones for those unexplainable events.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2000

    Excellent

    I picked this book up at the school library, on a friend's recommendation. When i began reading it i became more and more aware of the ubsurdities of our beliefs today, and with many of our oldest texts, including the Old Testament. Now, dont think of me as blasphemous. Before you accuse me of that, read this book, it will open your eyes up to infinite possibilities, and poses the ultimate question: Was God an Astronaut?

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Classic book for anyone in the science fields.

    Great read, pay no attention to one star reviews, they must have wandered away from the bible section.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    Mind Boggling

    This book was magnificent. It points out a whole new world of ideas, facts, theories, and truths! A must have.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14