Customer Reviews for

The Charlatan's Boy

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Deeply Moving Story!

    I was first introduced to Jonathan Wilder's writing by a list of good Y.A. Christian fantasy and science fiction that Donita K. Paul sent me for my son, Robbie. Of course, I could just let Robbie read these books himself. I had to read them too! :D I got a real kick out of the series that began with The Bark of the Bog Owl.

    Feechifolk are something else! I've been hoping for a while to get my hands on another book by Jonathan Wilder. Recently, I finally got that chance!

    The Charlatan's Boy is about a boy named Grady, who has grown up considering himself a Feechie. Grady knows he's ugly; he's got one long eyebrow (instead of two), eyes set too close together, a narrow face, funny ears and a receding chin. And he's as nimble as a monkey.

    A charlatan, or con man, named Floyd raised Grady. Grady knows that Floyd isn't his father, but how the con man actually acquired Grady is a bit of a mystery, because Floyd tells a different story about how he got Grady every time.

    Floyd makes Grady perform as a "Wild He-Feechie" in Floyd's traveling Feechie Show. At first, the crowds they draw--and the money they make--is pretty good, but after a while, the villagers stop believing altogether that feechies are real, and stop paying to see the show. So Floyd turns his con-game in other directions; cheating another showman out of his phrenology equipment so Floyd and Grady can measure people's heads to tell what's in their hearts; then putting on Ugliest Boy contests, which Grady wins until they run up against the ugliest boy they've ever seen in a mining town, and Floyd loses all his money. After that they concoct fake medicinal remedies, but neither Floyd or Grady really has their heart in selling them, and they're not really happy with the results. Meanwhile, Floyd grows sulkier and grumpier, and is really mean to Grady, and Grady starts looking for ways to escape. But he's scared, because the only place he's ever really belonged is with Floyd.

    At last, Floyd decides that what they really need is a good Feechie scare to make the good folk of Corenwald believe in feechies again, so they can go back to being a feechie show. This leads to lots of unintended adventures!

    The Charlatan's Boy is an excellent read for Y.A., but adults will find that there's a lot about this book to recommend it to older folks too. I wouldn't recommend it for children younger than twelve or thirteen; younger children may have trouble seeing past how truly awful Floyd is to the spiritual truths embodies in Grady's life-journey, since Grady spends his time apprenticed to Floyd learning how to decieve people and part them from their hard-earned money.

    The ending was perfectly priceless! I was deeply moved by the wonderful spiritual implications.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Perfect Read-aloud for the Family

    The Story. Grady is an orphan, under the care of a flimflam man named Floyd. Together they travel throughout the island of Corenwald primarily selling as truth a pack of lies. The greatest of these is that Floyd is a feechie expert and Grady is a full grown feechie he's captured.

    Grady is attached to Floyd simply because he's all the boy has. Floyd, on the other hand, treats Grady mostly like a hired hand, refusing to tell him who he is or where he came from. When interest in the feechie act dries up, the charlatan and his boy try a variety of other routines, none particularly successful.

    One day Floyd gets an idea how to revive interest in feechies. Grady happily complies, and their scheme works--up to a point. Instead of giving Grady what he thought he wanted, the outcome of their plot shakes up his world for good.

    Strengths. The Charlatan's Boy is inventive. Words like "civilizer," "angrified," and "robustious," and accompanying unique grammar constructions join with an imaginative world and people to make this story feel like something you've never read before.

    The novel has a bit of the flavor of Paul Bunyan stories, whoppers told as real events, but there's a hint of Prydain, too, or maybe Narnia.

    At any rate, the book is a wonderful blend, one Sally Apokedak has called Frontier Fantasy. It's the perfect term, I think.

    The characters are every bit as strong as the inventiveness. Grady is lovable, sadly so because he wants so much to fit somewhere in the world he knows, but Floyd holds him at arms distance, at best. More than anything, I wanted to keep reading because I wanted to know what would happen to Grady next and in particular if he would ever find what he needed.

    The story is really an exploration of the human heart, so there is a lot of universal truth between the covers--about truth and lies, belonging and love. Without a doubt, Dr. Rogers' look at these timeless issues is from a Christian perspective, so it lends itself to Christian interpretation, whether intentional or not.

    Weakness. No, I don't think it's a perfect book, but it's well on the way. Primarily I thought a few chapters wandered about a bit. Some reviewers termed the story "episodic" and it was to an extent in the early part. Once Floyd and Grady settled on a scheme to revive their feechie act, the plot coalesced nicely and the pace picked up.

    Recommendation. A must read for fantasy lovers. A must read for those looking for a read-aloud book. A must read for those who want to discover quality literature. A must read for those who want a fun yet touching story about an engaging character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Just what is that man selling?

    The Charlatan's Boy by Jonathan Rogers caught my interest right from the cover and continued to entrance me until I finally finished it! I loved it so much I finished the novel in a day! The Charlatan's Boy is about an orphan named Grady, who has been traveling around with a charlatan named Floyd who supports them by coming up with quick scams or sideshows, since as far back as he can remember. The problem is that Grady can't remember even the slightest detail of his childhood and doesn't know who he is or where he came from. The only answers to his past come from Floyd, who withholds most of what he knows from Grady.

    These two struggle to make a living, made harder by the memory of better times when people from all the towns would flock to see Grady perform as "The Wild Man of Feechiefen Swamp." But to their dismay, no one believes in " feechies" anymore. But not if Grady and Floyd can help it.

    Together, these two extraordinarily colorful characters set out on the adventure of a lifetime and try to devise a plot to create another Great Feechie Scare which Floyd is convinced will make them rich again. Grady is more than enthusiastic about playing his part as a "feechie" once again, but he also can't stop wondering after living a life full of unknowns, if he will ever know who he really is.

    I received this book compliments of Christian Science Fiction and Fantasy for my honest review and have to say I have uncovered a 5 out of 5 stars within it's pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    Watch out! It's a Feechie!

    Summary: A charlatan's boy, literally a boy employed by a charlatan, tells the story of his adventures in the island nation of Corenwald as he roams from village to village with his lying and fraudulent employer. The boy, Grady, says at the beginning of his story, "I don't care who you are-when it comes to knowing where you come from, you got to take somebody else's word for it. That's where things has always got ticklish for me. I only know one man who might be able to tell me where I come from, and that man is a liar and a fraud." We see the ups and downs of Grady's life as Floyd (the charlatan) uses Grady to scam, cheat, and swindle drovers (cattle drivers) and villagers out of their wages. And Grady's story revolves around Floyd's main scheme: "THE WILD MAN OF THE FEECHIEFEN SWAMP!"

    I enjoyed Jonathan Rogers' The Charlatan's Boy quite a lot, which surprised me. The story started slow for me. And the writing was not what I usually enjoy, somewhat cute. This "cute" writing is due mainly to the voice of the narrator (Grady) who is a young lad, uneducated in a traditional sense, and very drawly, droolingly so. (Drawly and droolingly, hmm). However, the author has a good sense of humor and the story picked up soon enough for me to be drawn in and, I did not see this coming at all, but at the end of the story (the last three pages of the book) Grady made me cry. Rather, Jonathan Rogers made me cry. Well, okay, they both made me cry.

    So why did I, a grown man, cry?

    Because, truth it is, I am a natural born crier. I cry when milk spills. But mainly because it was not until the last few pages that I understood what Jonathan Rogers had done. He has made this story all about the true story. The bigger story. Grady's life, his story, is a metaphor. And it made me cry.

    But I am not going to give it all away here. If you want to cry too then you're going to have to read the book.

    I received this book free from the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Great Book

    Could not put it down!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Supriseing too maybe hasa award!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Waterbrook pubshling worth while books Should have five stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    THE SUCCESSOR TO TWAIN

    Grady has no memory of his origins. Not for lack of trying, though; he has spent many hours trying to remember a family or home before Floyd, a huckster who makes his living perpetrating hoaxes on villages. Each time he asks Floyd where he came from, he receives a different story. One story is that he found him squawling under a palmetto bush; another story is that his real mama gave him away because he was too ugly to keep. Grady is inclined to believe that one, because he looks different from everyone else. He looks like a feechie, and Floyd makes a living by showing Grady as a "genuine, real live, he-feechie". As they make the rounds fleecing the villagers, Grady is on a journey to the knowledge of who he truly is.

    If I believed in reincarnation, and I don't, I would claim to have found the "genuine, real live, reincarnation of Mark Twain". Jonathan Rogers' writing style is so reminiscent of Twain that it is eerie. For everyone who ever felt sad because they realized they had read all of Twain's works, and now there is nothing to look forward to, here is the answer. And when I read his blog and realized that he also likes and is influenced by Flannery O'Connor, I was even happier. Anyone who likes Twain and O'Connor is okay by me. This novel was categorized as YA, but this middle-aged woman enjoyed it just as much today as I would have at 13. Jonathan Rogers is a writer for all ages.

    Definitely 5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Are you a He-Feechie? I enjoy good fantasy books, and that is w

    Are you a He-Feechie?

    I enjoy good fantasy books, and that is what this is. I was given the opportunity to review this book for free, all opinions are my own.

    It is really a sad story at first about a "homeless" child that follows Professor Floyd and his amazing wagon of hoaxes and flimflams. However mean Floyd may be, and whatever Floyd may make Grady do, Grady still stays. He knows no other way of life. He likes to make Floyd happy and to make money. The biggest scam that Floyd ever had was to bring back the Feechie scare days.

    After Grady invents a noise making machine and Floyd convince people that the Feechies are back, they are back in business.

    So Grady goes back in his cage and starts to scare people again. Grady has been told so many different stories and lies that it is difficult for him to know what is real anymore.


    I enjoyed the plot and the end of the book made me smile. It was hard for me to put the book down because I wanted to know where they were going next and what their next scheme was going to be. It was a very easy read and it took me to a different place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Grady is an uneducated 12-year-old orphan who is caring, innocen

    Grady is an uneducated 12-year-old orphan who is caring, innocent, and generally a nice person, but he is not particularly good looking. With no family to love, he travels the countryside with a con artist named Floyd. Together they work as a team to swindle wages from the town folks by using a variety of schemes, such as Grady performing as “The Wild Man of the Feechiefen Swamp.”

        Floyd knows all the tricks of their trades, and with Grady’s help, they plan to create a Great Feechie Scare, hoping they will get rich. After a life of being a liar and a fraud, young Grady starts to wonder what kind of a person he is becoming.

        WaterBrook Press was nicely enough to send me this copy in exchange for my review. I am glad I picked out The Charlatan’s Boy for my first review with them. Author Jonathan Rogers has creatively twined a charming folk tale in the swamps and wild country of Corenwald. Grady is a sweet and fun character to get to know. My favorite part of the book is when Grady accidentally goes to school. Everything that comes out of Grady’s mouth is hilarious, but the poor boy never actually means to be funny, as he is just not use to a normal life. Overall, I enjoyed reading about Grady’s adventures. I recommend The Charlatan’s Boy to all readers, young and old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    Super Book for children and adults.

    In the book The Charlatan's Boy, Jonathan Rogers spins a delightful tale about one such man. He is selling his lecture on Feechie folk. He claims to have a real, live he-feechie.

    His he-feechie is named Grady and they travel around Corenwald taking in the kind people of the villages. Grady knows that Floyd is a fraud and liar and yet he still has questions about where he came from and how he happened to start traveling with Floyd.

    When the good people of Corenwald stop believing in feechie folk, Floyd and Grady need to find a different way to make money. They start traveling again proving that Grady is the ugliest boy in the world. Until they stop in Greasy Cave and Grady loses the challenge to another boy. Then they travel around as phrenologists. They feel people's heads and tell them all about themselves from the bumps and crevices. Until someone in a fit of rage smashes their wagon.

    They decide then it is time to make people believe in feechie folk again. And set out to do just that.

    The book is at times hysterically funny, incredibly sad and thought provoking. The plot grabs you at the first word and won't let you go until the last word on the final page, and then you're left wanting more.

    On a scale of 1-5 I give this book 10 turning pages. Yes, it's that good! If you're looking for an all-around good story, you can't go wrong with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    unexpected ending

    I did a bad thing. Perhaps not a sin, but definitely a sin in the eyes of an English major. I judged a book by its cover. "The Charlatan's Boy" by Jonathan Rogers has a great circus-inspired cover. It's very reminiscent of the cover of "Water for Elephants."

    However, the inside of the book lacks much of what made "Water for Elephants" great. No romance, no real drama, and no face-paced plot. Now, this isn't to say that "The Charlatan's Boy" isn't a good book. It is a pretty good book (3 on a scale of 1-5). It's a slow moving book and took me quite a bit of time to read, just for lack of motivation!

    Let me share a synopsis. Grady is a side kick to Floyd. Grady is an orphan (at least he's never met his folks) and Floyd never seems to give him a straight answer about where he came from. They are hucksters, fooling people with their "Wild Man of Feechiefen Swamp" routine (Grady plays the role of the Feechie). People pay money to see this show, kind of like side shows in a circus. The bad part is that not a lot of people believe in Feechies anymore. There haven't been any sightings or scarings lately.

    What's a huckster and his boy to do? Stir up a new Feechie Scare. So really this is a tale about a man and a boy trying to make it in a world without doing an honest day's work. You do come to sympathize with the orphan Grady. He's a good kid, just has grown up in a dishonest trade. The ending really is a good one; I won't spoil it though. It's definitely not one that you expect!

    I have learned a valuable lesson. Don't judge a book by its cover, but do judge it by its ending (because it may just surprise you).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A cute family read-aloud

    "I only know one man who might be able to tell me where I come from, and that man is a liar and a fraud."

    The only life orphan Grady has known is a dangerous one, tramping from village to village with a huckster named Floyd. Grady and Floyd specialize in a show called The Wild Man of the Feechiefen Swamp--because everyone wants to see a real live, in the flesh feechie, right?

    Not necessarily.

    When Floyd and Grady get down on their luck, they try out some other schemes, to no avail. Seems like the only thing they were ever good at was the feechie scam. So they dream up an idea guaranteed to make them money--they're going to create a big feechie scare that will have folks flocking to see their act!

    The Charlatan's Boy by Jonathon Rogers is a fun read in an unusual world. Corenwald is populated with coal miners, farmers, buckskin-clad hunters, hucksters, and of course the infamous feechie, a creature with a propensity for bad grammer, worse manners, fisticuffs, and gator-grabblin'. Readers were first introduced to Corenwald with Rogers' The Way of the Wilderking Trilogy: The Bark of the Bog Owl, The Secret of the Swamp King, andThe Way of the Wilderking, an allegory of King David.

    The Charlatan's Boy continues the fun as Rogers chronicles the escapades of Grady and Floyd. I can't count the number of times I giggled while I was reading this book. Floyd is a ridiculous old shyster, always scheming up the next big thing, and sometimes it made me want to give him a big kick. Grady was a sweet character, loyal, funny, and even honest, despite his trade. And all the supporting characters had quirks that added a lot to the general fun of the book.

    Reading this book was like curling up in a camping chair to listen to a storyteller by the campfire. This isn't an action-filled book, so the plot tends to take it's own sweet time getting to the conclusion, but that's not a bad thing at all. In fact, the book wouldn't be half so fun if it had focused just on the action and conclusion.

    In my mind, The Charlatan's Boy makes a perfect family read-aloud story. It gets five stars!

    ~*~I received this book for free from WaterBrook Press's Blogging for Books program in exchange for my honest review~*~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    simply enchanting

    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review".

    The story of Grady and his adventures through Cornewald with mentor, scoundrel, and friend Floyd, was an enchanting story, full of twists and turns, dealing with scams, shows, and urban legends of the local people. The story, however, is simple and surprisingly down to earth, and realistic.

    All of the characters in the book have a strong voice, and you can easily relate and immerse yourself in every single one.


    The fact that the point of view is from that of the main character helped me feel every emotion along with young Grady, and the back country accents only feed into the realism.

    This book is a great book if your are older and looking for a simple fun read, or if you are buying it for your kids.

    I truly enjoyed this book and am looking forward to the sequel in the fall!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    A MUST read for families

    I am usually draw to books with amazing covers. My theory is if it has a nice cover than it's a good book. That theory proved correct once again. The story revolved around a young boy named Grady and the man who took him under his wing, Floyd. Grady and Floyd travel the country side putting on "feechie shows" for the villagers charging them only a few coppers. When the feechie trade starts to dwindle they find new ways to swindle the villagers for more money. The story has a great ending and is perfect for families to read together!

    I received this book free from the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group book review bloggers program. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    A fun read for the whole family

    The Charlatan's Boy by Jonathan Rodgers is a fun story full of adventure and excitement. The story is narrated from the point of view of the main character, Grady. Set in a more southern, an almost wild west feeling, setting; Grady tells the story of how he and Floyd, his rough around the edges and not very good father figure, carry out the great "feechie scare".

    The Charlatan's Boy is a story about truth, lies, and finding out who you are through the midst of some interesting circumstances. It's a great book for the whole family to read and enjoy with some excellent moral lessons thrown in. I look forward to more offerings from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    An Instant Classic

    What a charming and witty book! A young adult novel, The Charlatan's Boy is a book full of hilarity, imagination, inner exploration and discovery. Floyd and young Grady travel town to town selling hoaxes, false ideas and solutions trying to survive, their most favored being the idea of Feechiefolk.. When people stop believing in this hoax, Floyd and Grady are scrambling to survive. They stumble upon a plan to make it big while maintaining their desired line of work, peddling the tale of Feechies. Through encounters with other peddlers, villagers, and other countrymen, their tale spins and web that all become entangled in.

    A joy to read for all... Adult and young adult alike, Rogers offers entertainment in a way reminiscent of C.S. Lewis and Mark Twain. This book should become an instant classic!

    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated for writing this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Too Funny!

    'The Charlatan's Boy" by Jonathan Rogers "Laaadies and geeentermen! Perfesser Floyd presents: the Wild Man of the Feechienfen Swamp!" Grady has always been with Floyd for as far as he can remember, going from village to village, performing different acts. He remembers when business was good and he would perform as "the Wild Man of th Feechienfen Swamp", but no one believes in feechies anymore. Floyd and Grady come up with a plan to create their own Great Feechie Scare, so people will pay once more again, to see their act. After so many schemes Grady doesn't even know who he is anymore, so many questions like, where did he come from? Where did Floyd get him? He wants to find himself, but has no one to tell him except Floyd, and he isn't honest, so where can he find answers? I completely LOVED this book! It was so different from other books I've read, very original story. Even the cover is different, just so colorful! This is definitely a must read book, I was hooked since the first chapter. It's hilarious but sad at the same time, made me feel happy and grateful for having a loving family. Defenitly recommend this book to all book lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    {The Charlatan's Boy} - what I thought

    The Charlatans Boy
    by Jonathon Rogers

    The Story
    (The setting is the countryside of a fictional land. Of all the aspects of the story, this was perhaps the weakest, as not much information is given about the land.)


    Brought up by a smooth talking charlatan, and often displayed as a "he-feechie", Grady - the main character in the book - is confused about what "normal" life would be like. He has been ridiculed enough that he believes himself to be ugly, unwanted, and unlovable. The charlatan - Floyd - is willing to ridicule, lie, and scare anyone and everyone to make money. Including Grady. Mostly Grady.

    But despite Floyd's careless treatment of Grady, the boy is so alone otherwise that he chooses to stay with Floyd even when other options present themselves. Eventually, however, a crossroads appear.


    My Thoughts
    After seeing several positive reviews from fellow bloggers, I was excited to receive my review copy of The Charlatans Boy.

    The book was slightly different than what I had expected, but I enjoyed it nevertheless. Not only is it easy enough for children to comprehend and enjoy, but it also has enough unknowns and charm to keep older age groups curious and interested.

    The book reminds me somewhat of Samuel Clemons' (a.k.a Mark Twain) works. Realistic, full of childhood thoughts, ponderings, and fun, and just refreshingly different.

    The characters are somewhat simple at times, but they are portrayed remarkably well.

    My only complaint with the book would be that I thought it would be more direct about Christianity. It is definitely influenced by Christianity, but not as much as I had hoped it would be.


    8 out of 10 stars. I'm looking forward to reading the sequel.


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "The Charlatan's Boy" by Jonathan Rogers

    The story of Grady, the Charlatan's Boy. Good reading, and powerful character development. In the words of the author, it was a "sockdolager" of a tale. Actually, the book was dropped into the tub at one point as I was trying to read well washing. I should probably say something like, "I'm really embarrassed," but I'm not. I'm kinda' proud, actually. And I managed to dry it out, too, so here's your review.

    ***

    Grady is orphaned, apprentice of a huckster, and ugly as a bald cow. He lies to make money, and lives with the dirtiest cheat in all the land of Corenwald. (Metaphorically, and literally.) He knows nothing of himself, and is taught to know everything about others. Since he was 4 years old, he worked with Floyd, "Perfesser" of all things Feechie.

    Feechies live in swamps, eating equally strange sounding critters, and are known as the scourge of the Corenwalders. "Feechies are coming!" is a common cry in the streets; they are a cause of constant fear. Swindlers sell Feechie potions, put on Feechie performances, and build Feechie defense systems. But when nothing happens, the Feechie trade dies away.

    Grady and Floyd, reluctantly out of the Feechie business,try many other acts. But it's never the same. And, that being so, Floyd and Grady think up a plan: A plan that will revive the Feechie trade, and. make them a lot of money. Heroics? No. Uproarious fun? Plenty.

    ***
    Roger's book was pleasurable, to say the least, and the character development was marvelously thought provoking. If there were more books like this, (which, I am told, there soon will be,) I would waste no time waiting for the library: I would hurry to the book store.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read!

    THE CHARLATAN'S BOY This has to have been one of the best books that I have read in the young adult genre for awhile. It has the feel of classic writing, while offering up a folksy vibe to the writing. Telling the story of Grady, a boy who is with a traveling con show, this book offers the reader, adventure and soul. It's one boys view on finding his own place in the world, and often he offers up his thoughts on the matter, which is very entertaining. As the tale turns we see unexpected changes, and lovely twist. I believe that both the young and the young at heart will enjoy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    Good Read

    This was a very interesting book. I had heard great reviews about it, but I wasn't sure what to expect when I cracked it open.

    I have a read a lot of books, but never a book like this one.

    Rogers takes you inside Grady's head, his writing style is very unique. It made me think of Gilbert Morris' Barney Buck series (just the writing style - all country like). The words in this book were my favorite. I'd laugh and read them out loud. Words/sentences/chapter titles like "feechiefolks", "In which we commence terrorizing the populace", "goozle", "gumption", etc.

    And the plot was actually pretty good, the characters were quirky and felt almost real, and the feechies...Any book with feechies in it HAS to be good.

    I'd never read a book about shows on the road (besides circuses) and charlatans, and I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed reading about it. It was interesting seeing Grady's point of view in the story - you usually never see it from an entertainers point of view.

    I recommend this book to any who is interested in feechies, the world's most beautiful eighty-two-year-old woman, Pete's Dragon (and who DOESN'T love that movie?), alligators, or cowboys.

    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3