Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Charles Wuorinen: Ashberyana; Fenton Songs

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lyrical Rigor

    Insanely prolific, difficult to categorize, defiantly uncompromising, endlessly fascinating—composer Charles Wuorinen is all of these things and more. The melodic and rhythmic complexity of Wuorinen’s vast output (more than 240 compositions and counting) can be intimidating at first contact, but once one grasps the fact that all of his music is founded upon a concern with narrative, it becomes surprisingly much more accessible. This seems especially true of his vocal music, which is heard to great advantage on this Naxos recording. “Ashberyana” is a setting of four poems by John Ashbery, scored for baritone, string quartet, trombone and piano. The strings and piano provide a harmonic foundation that is by turns impressionistic and discordant the baritone gives eloquent expression to Ashbery’s highly idiosyncratic verse, while the trombone functions as a kind of secondary voice in sympathetic and at times sardonic counterpoint. The melodic progression is marked by a disjunctive quality, though not to the extremes of his more complex works. Wuorinen has set two further pieces to the poems of James Fenton, appropriately titled “Fenton Songs I” and “Fenton Songs II.” These proceed along similar lines, but with somewhat less severe and angular contours. The soprano voice also contributes to a softer, more rounded musical texture, but one that is still marked by dramatic contrasts of tone and intensity. The solo piano pieces “Praegustatum” and “Ave Christe of Josquin” are sequenced in between the vocal works, and provide brief tonal respites from the prevailing dissonance. Further contrast is proffered in “Josquiniana,” a string quartet arrangement of vocal music by the Renaissance composer Josquin des Prez. The six movements of this piece are distinguished by gorgeous harmonies and lush sonorities, and demonstrate that Wuorinen is no ivory tower elitist, but a composer who can, when the mood strikes him, articulate his musical aesthetic with striking warmth and clarity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1