Customer Reviews for

Charleston

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

great read

as usual with a john jakes book very interesting. between the historical references and the family aspect i always find his books intriguing and this one was no different. he is one of the best i have found.

posted by 5605272 on April 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Typical Jakes

I read this book mainly because I was born in Charleston and spent the majority of my like a South Carolinian. I found the story interesting, but only moderately so. We all know that times were tough in 18th and 19th century America, but John Jakes would have you beli...
I read this book mainly because I was born in Charleston and spent the majority of my like a South Carolinian. I found the story interesting, but only moderately so. We all know that times were tough in 18th and 19th century America, but John Jakes would have you belive that nobody ever died who did not come to a violent end. Also, Jakes loves to employ the 'chance meeting' with a prominent historical figure as a literary device. Sometimes it works, and sometimes it seems forced, as in the connection of the character with Denmark Vessey, accused leader of a slave uprising. John Jakes tries to cover too much in the scope of his stories and the result is unsatisfying to someone looking for a solid tale revolving around the history of the city of Charleston.

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    great read

    as usual with a john jakes book very interesting. between the historical references and the family aspect i always find his books intriguing and this one was no different. he is one of the best i have found.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Captivating

    A realistic novel detailing several families in Charleston during the Civil War period. John Jakes is an excellent weaver of fact and fiction.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    Another John Jakes' excellant book! Charleston is a must see city!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2005

    Typical Jakes

    I read this book mainly because I was born in Charleston and spent the majority of my like a South Carolinian. I found the story interesting, but only moderately so. We all know that times were tough in 18th and 19th century America, but John Jakes would have you belive that nobody ever died who did not come to a violent end. Also, Jakes loves to employ the 'chance meeting' with a prominent historical figure as a literary device. Sometimes it works, and sometimes it seems forced, as in the connection of the character with Denmark Vessey, accused leader of a slave uprising. John Jakes tries to cover too much in the scope of his stories and the result is unsatisfying to someone looking for a solid tale revolving around the history of the city of Charleston.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2003

    Decent light reading

    I have to agree with some of the other reviews on this web page. I personally could not put this book down, but felt that it wasn't up to the typical John Jakes standard. I found the main character Alex too abrasive at times and hard to relate too. I also felt there were too many dissertations on the history going on around the characters and not enough character development itself. I would recommend it to anyone interested in this type of book, but only after they had read the Kent Family Chronicles and the North and South trilogy first.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2003

    Fantastic!

    There are not enough words to describe just how brilliant this book is. It is without a doubt a must read for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Charledtcn Vharj Charledton

    Great historical read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    Good book.

    Book was good, but got very slow towards the middle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2002

    Very disappointing

    I struggled through this novel and only completed it because I am a huge fan of John Jakes. I was expecting a story evolving around Charleston and its characters but found this was a story mainly of characters but not the city itself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2002

    Another Jakes Page-Turner

    This book is a multi-generational saga of several inter-connected Charleston families that spans from the founding of the city to Reconstruction. Masterfully weaving his fictional characters in with the rich history of this South Carolina city, Jakes presents a wide assortment of citizens and their diverse beliefs. All citizens of Charleston are not portrayed as the stereotypical hot-headed slave owner fighting for secession. Thankfully, Jakes creates characters that represent the opinions and convictions of a broad spectrum of Charlestonians. This prohibits Jakes from presenting an indepth look at each character individually but he successfully balances this with an action packed plot. The characters that Jakes created are realistic and engaging. One of the lead female characters, Alex, was born and raised in Charleston yet recognized the inhumanity of slavery. Her convictions became so strong that she defied convention and traveled alone to the North to work with abolitionist groups. Overall, the story begins slowly, but with characters as alive and intriguing as Alex and her acquaintances, it quickly builds into another John Jakes page-turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2002

    Terrible

    I have been a fan of Jakes for years and eagerly await his new books. This one is terrible to say the least. The characters are weak, drift in and out of the story with little or no development. I was very disappointed in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2002

    Not up to Par

    Being a huge fan of John Jakes' books, I eagerly awaited for the arrival of this new book. I was somewhat disappointed after reading this book because of the following reasons. The character development was weak. You never felt like you knew or understood the characters like in past Jakes' novels. Too much ground was covered in too short of time. The book basically went from the 1770's to 1866 in only 500 pages. Finally, the interaction with the fictional characters in the actual History is not as fascinating as in previous Jakes' novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2002

    the "drive-through" John Jakes book.......

    I have read every single John Jakes book and am a complete lover of history. I waited for this book to come out for two months and wow what a let down. Usually, after reading one of his novels I feel as though I personally know the characters, their homes, and their histories. This book moved WAY TOO FAST!!!!!!! Not only do I not remember half the character's names I do not even know where they came from... I am not disappointed when they disappear from the story due to accidents etc. I just don't care!!! This is not usually the case... the main character is definately no Orry Main even though there is a reference made to the Mains in this novel. Overall, the storyline may not have been too bad but it became more of a history lesson than the stories we have come to love and expect out of John Jakes. I look forward to the next SAGA... anyone who tells a tale like he does needs more than a 500 page span to do so. This just looks like he had to make a deadline to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2002

    Charleston - a disappointment

    I've read every book by John Jakes and I bought his latest book Charleston the day it was released. I'm sorry to say,this is not his best work. The story jumps around from one event to another so quickly,it's hard to find much of a story except for the history. I'm very disappointed and I hope his next book is more like his former work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2