Customer Reviews for

Charlie All Night

Average Rating 4
( 281 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 284 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2005

    Pretty Good- Highly Recommend

    I picked this book up and I had no idea who this author even was. I said to myself, 'I'll get it a try.' I am so glad that I did. I finished her book in 1 day. I really enjoyed this one...and now I am looking forward to reading others by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Saydee to Ryan d Jacob

    Hes not coming. Will u have sex with me? If jacob come will u?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Loved the characters and the story line!

    Loved the characters and the story line!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    Short, but still worth the time

    Tis book is a short story, so the characters aren't as developed as I would like them to be. I still enjoyed the general concept of the story and read it quickly. If you like Cruise, I would definitely recommend this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Great!

    I started reading Jennifer Crusie novels after I found 'Bet Me' at a yard sale. That has been my favorite so far but Charlie All Night was a quick, fun read. I love her witty writing style and although her stories are predictable, I enjoy them every time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Great book!

    I love this book I couldn't put it down!! A must read!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    WIN!

    Jennifer Crusie

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Great read

    Very good read kept me interested

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    Cannot say how many times I have read this book. It never fails

    Cannot say how many times I have read this book. It never fails to make me laugh. My daughter's 23 yr old boyfriend flipped through my copy and got hooked. He laughed out loud as he read it (fastest he's ever finished a book).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Not my favorite...

    Like most of her books, the book was a light and easy read. It came with some laughs but ultimately was not my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good but not great...

    I must say: What is it with Jennifer Cruise and all of this blinking? and Pot Stickers? By the end of reading the fourth book my eyes itched and I was hungry for Chinese.
    I must admit that although I did enjoy this book it wasn't terrific. The plot was ok - it had great potential - but it just didn't cut it.

    A friend of Charlie's dad, Bill, asked Charlie to come to work undercover at his radio station and see why he's gotten an anonymous letter saying that something illegal was happening at the station. So Charlie jumped on board and came to the rescue. His first day there he runs into Allie - who just happens to be slated to be his producer - and they hit it off. He immediately drops his hotel and moves in with her.

    It's not a bad book but I guess by the time I got through the 4th Jennifer Cruise book in less than a week I'd read more sentences about blinking that I was getting a bit annoyed. So I'd say it's a definite read - just don't read her books one right after the other...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Entertaining

    My Review:
    This was an entertaining little story. As always, when I listen to an audiobook, the story resonated with me more than normal. There is just something about listening to a book via audio that makes you internalize the story more (at least that is how it works for me.) Although I have to say, I wasn't a huge fan of the narrator on this one.


    Charlie is working at the radio station as a ruse. He is not a dj. His druggie brother is, but Charlie has been hired by one of his father's cronies to come in and investigate a letter which stated that something illegal was happening at the station. Charlie has 6 weeks to sniff out the problem before he heads back out on the road. He is a wanderer at heart and never stays anywhere for long. The only person at the station who knows his true identity is the station owner. Everyone else thinks that Charlie is simply a dj temporarily taking over the night shift.


    Allie has been demoted. She was producing the drive-time slot with her ex-boyfriend Mark, but suddenly she finds herself working in the dead of night as Charlie's producer. She has huge plans to make him a star just like what she did with Mark...if only she can get him to cooperate. In the meantime, they are enjoying their combustibility under the sheets via some no-strings-attached sex.


    This is a quirky little romance...typical Jennifer Crusie (i.e. it's totally fun and entertaining.) There is a broad cast of characters that make up the radio station personalities which keeps the whole thing really fun. They are a huge family and treat everyone who comes into their midst as family too, including Charlie. So, you can assume that his investigation is not leading to too many results. Everyone is simply nice and friendly. Well, everyone except for Mark, but he's just a dweeb and that isn't against the law.


    I had an idea of where the book was going, but it was still fun getting there. There aren't too many surprises in this one, but it was definitely entertaining and enjoyable. Definite Jennifer Crusie style, which is always fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Genuinely Fun & Sweet Read

    I love Jennifer Crusie! Her books are funny, cute, entertaining, and sexy. "Charlie All Night" has the right characters, the right spice, and a tiny bit of mystery. I really enjoyed the budding love/relationship between Charlie and Alice, and was so excited in the end! Crusie also added in a little mystery with the anonymous letter about a drug ring, and readers will be surprised around what that is about. The only thing I wish for in this novel, is that it added more into the mystery, because after all, that is why Charlie showed up in the first place.... All in all a light-quick-super cute- and sexy read. Don't miss out on this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    Easy, quick read.

    Very cute! I love the way Crusie's characters capture the reader's attention from the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    great book

    this book really was fantastic and the author really did a great job with word choice especially in the heated parts...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Solid Delivery by Crusie

    This was my first Jennifer Crusie book & after this I am a fan! She has a way of drawing in the reader & keeps the storyline moving forward. Quick read & fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    lots of sex

    this is my first jnifer cruise book ever and u mist say i thoroughly enjoyed it. characters could probably use more development, but storyline was fun and book was a fast easy read. fairly predictble and 'mystery' seemed like an afterthought to the SEXiness of the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    Super fun read!

    This was a fun read, great characters and fun witty writing. Download and enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Enjoyed.

    Easy reading. There is something unique about the writing and banter amongst the characters. A nice, breezy enjoyable read. I would highly recommend if you are looking for something that is not so intellectual and deep, just for fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    Great Book You Should Totally Read It

    This book was only my second Jenifer Crusie book after Strange Bedpersons but just like probally any other Jenifer Cruise book one thing they are talking a nice conversation the next they are rolling around in bed having sex.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 284 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15