Customer Reviews for

Charlie Bone and the Beast (Children of the Red King Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cahrlie Bone and the Beast Book Review :]

    Charlie Bone and the Beast by Jenny Nimmo is a fictional story about a boy named Charlie, who is endowed. His endowment is that he can travel into paintings or photographs. I personally like this book along with the series. Charlie is always helping people or getting into trouble. I would recommend it to sixth graders and up.
    In this particular book Charlie is trying to save Asa, one of the endowed, who has been locked up underground in Bloor's Academy where Charlie attends school. Along with trying to safe Asa, a new boy has enrolled into Bloor's and Charlie has to be his mentor. The new boy's name is Dagbert Endless and his endowment is that he can drown people. Dagbert tries to ruin everything for Charlie starting with his friends, but Charlie never gives up.
    Once Charlie gets Dagbert off his back, he plots his way of getting Asa back to safety. With the help of Charlie's endowed friends, can Charlie get Asa back before he dies? You will have to read the book to find out, but I recommend reading the series before. Every book in the series is filled with new challenges, endowments, struggles, and saves made by Charlie and his trustworthy friends.
    In conclusion, I feel these books are the best books I have read. Jenny Nimmo is a very creative and imaginative writer. After this book there is another if interested. It is called Charlie Bone and the Shadow. It is also good. If I were to rate Charlie Bone and the Beast, I would rate it five stars. I hope you consider reading this good book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2008

    Amazing book series on the shelf!!!

    I love the Charlie Bone books! i just finished book 5 and I'm addicted!!!! If you need a good book then read this one! The books are about a boy named charlie Bone. Charlie is a smart boyy with a lot of friends until his wicked grandma makes him go to a school for the endowed called Bloor's Academy. He is trying to find his father and help his friends out at the same time. Please read this book!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    X-men vs Harry Potter

    I couldn't help but fly through the pages. This series is so creative with each of the character's superpowers you can't help but become a fan. Definitely worth reading.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    LOVE IT

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Great Book!

    Good Book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Cana Rensberger for TeensReadToo.com

    In Ms. Nimmo's sixth book in the series featuring Charlie Bone, a kettle of trouble is brewing. Charlie and his friends once again lead the reader on a breathtaking adventure through the world of Bloor's Academy. <BR/><BR/>Charlie is appointed official monitor to a new student who can control water. Charlie is not thrilled to have Dagbert following him everywhere. It soon becomes clear that Dagbert is doing everything he can to split up Charlie and his friends. Especially when strange things begin happening on Piminy Street. <BR/><BR/>A strange beast, part human, part something else, howls in the night. Stone statues begin to move. Rivers overflow their banks without warning. Trolls come alive, and a blacksmith forges steel late into the night. Even Cook is afraid. Who are these strangers from the sea? Will Charlie and his friends be able to save Asa from the Bloors? <BR/><BR/>There is a similarity between Ms. Nimmo's books and the famous Harry Potter series; the students go to a special school. But the similarity ends there. The books are written on an easier reading level for the younger reader. Ms. Nimmo is exceedingly imaginative in creating her characters and their endowments. I would love to see these characters on the big screen. She artfully doles out just enough morsels of the Red King's history to satisfy, while leaving a few crumbs behind to eagerly lead the reader to her next book. <BR/><BR/>Ms. Nimmo has created another terrific page turner. I recommend that if you have read none of the CHILDREN OF THE RED KING series that you read them in order. But mostly...I recommend you read them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Love this series!

    Charile Bone is one of the greatest series... and i've read a lot of books and this is one of the books that really hooked me. I haven't read this book yet since it's not in my school libary, but i'm getting it soon. I just can't wait to see what happens next!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Good book bad store

    This book is good but barns and noble dosent ever warn you that when you lend a book you cqnt read it so now my favorite is now on my nook but not readable TONI19@soccer!!<3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    NO SHE DIDN'T

    Tancred and Lysander are mine their girlfriends just need to back off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    I love Jenny Nimo's books

    Omg their AMAZING! I personally reccomend this series to anyone of any age!!!! Its THE BEST SERIES EEEVVVVVERERRR!! LOL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    E

    R

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome, awesome, awesome!

    Awesome, awesome, awesome book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    An Amazingly Awesome Book!

    'Charlie Bone and the Beast' is an amazingly awesome book!!! Anyone who reads it, will absolutely love it and completely enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    Friends Balance the Scale between Good and Evil.

    A mysterious salty smelling boy named Dagbert Endless joins Charlie at Bloors Academy. Taking away the fact that he smells like fish, stalks Charlie, and will do anything for the hideous Manfred Bloor, Dagbert is perfectly normal. As Dagbert helps Manfred, other strange events occur. There is a frightening howl in the middle of the night, and Charlie thinks it is Asa who is trapped in a cave. Throughout the story Charlie and his friends will attempt to save Asa, so he doesn¿t revert back to evil Manfred. One thing that I loved about this book was that it wasn¿t hard to understand or follow. One thing I didn¿t like about the book was that it had so many things that seemed important, but had no value or lead to nothing. I was really upset about that. Five books come before this one in the series. You could go without reading the previous books in the series, and you might have some trouble but could get through. These books are like a less complex version of Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    This is my absolute favorite book!

    I love this book! I've read the whole book on the day I got it! I'm completely hooked to the whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2008

    Love this book!

    I'm half-way done with this book and so far im in love. this book includes every memory from the last books and some new adventures too.it really keeps me hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    A book lover

    I havent read this book yet because im only on book four but i was mad when i foundt out that Emma and Tancer are going out i thought it would be Emma and Charlie but then i rememberd that with Payton and Miss Ingledew (Ihad to get my book) but im wondering what who Olivia likes not sure going to have to wait (I think itll be Olivia and Fidelio, how to prounace that name ill never know) gtg and read Charlie Bones and The Castle of Mirrows

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    This series is so well written and full of plot twists and hidden secrets. Book 6 and 5 are the best in the series and for anyone who has not read any of the book, what are you waiting for they are sooo good you will read through them really fast because you just cant bare to put the book down! I cant wait for the next two books to come out and i hope they are BETTER than the first 6, even though that will be a difficult thing to accomplish!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2007

    Fantastic!

    This book was absolutly amazing I cant wait for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2007

    Charlie Bone is awesome!

    Jenny Nimmo is a great author!I hope she makes more of the Charlie Bone books. Tf you like fantasy, suspense, and mystery then this is the book for you! This time around Charlie bone trys to save a friend, find his father (again) and get through another year at Bloor's Academy.I hope you enjoy this book as much as I do!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4