Customer Reviews for

Charlie Bone and the Time Twister (Children of the Red King Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    I love this book!

    I read this one and the first one in not even 2 days. It was so interesting and kept me reading all day long. It was a fairly easy read because of the spaces between the lines of the words, but thats ok, i loved this book and cant wait to get the 3rd book!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    A Twisted Story of a Lost Boy

    Summary: Charlie Bone is at Bloor¿s Academy, when he finds out that his cousin, Henry Yewbeam was sent twisting through time to the present year from 1916. His evil cousin, Ezekiel, sent him twisting through time. A magic marble has the power to send anything and anyone back or forward in time. All you have to do is look at it, and that is how poor Henry became stuck in the wrong year. He suddenly appears in Bloor¿s Academy in one of the creepy hallways. When Ezekiel finds out that Henry isn¿t gone forever, he is furious, and wants to get rid of him for good. The Yewbeam aunts are pressuring Charlie to tell them where Henry has been hiding, but Charlie refuses to tell. Henry isn¿t safe at Bloor¿s Academy, because there is danger lurking around every corner. Henry finds a for sure safe place to hide, but he blows it when he ventures off, and is caught. He is brought to Ezekiel Bloor, where he is then sent off to die in a pit outside in the ruins. When Henry is thrown down in the pits, a huge rock is placed on top of the hole, leaving only a little crack for air, and a little bit or bread to eat. Will Henry ever get out of the hole before Ezekiel decides to make him truly be gone for good? I really liked how the book picked up pace right away. Jenny Nimmo did a great job at keeping the readers interested at all points. She really has done a fine job at not beating around the bush, and getting to the point, but she also did describe everything really well, so that you could picture it in your head, without over exaggerating. This book is the second book in a series of five, and you can¿t read them out of order. This book would fit both boys and girls, and the series is sort of similar to the Harry Potter series because of the magical powers, the endowed, and the special school.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Awesome

    Midnight for charlie bone is the best

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    pretty awsome!

    This book was just so absorbing! Something about it made me just not want to put it down and just the other night, before I knew it, it was 12:30! The Time Twister has all the elements a good book should have, a climax, good dialoge, a concluding ending, and that little sigature unique touch of the author. Even though this is all so true, this isn't Jenny Nimo's best work, so if you read this and like it , make sure to read the rest of the series and some of Nimo's other works!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    Just as Good as the First If Not Better!

    Charlie Bone and the Time Twister by Jenny Nimmo was a great book! When Charlie's great great uncle comes spinning through time to meet him, hijinxs insue, and Charlie's life will never be the same!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    SUPER GREAT BOOK!!!

    'Charlie Bone and the Time Twister' is a great book, fun for ALL ages!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2003

    This Rocks

    This book rocks, I love fantasies but this one ROCKS!!!!!!! I read this book in one day suggested it to a friend and almost my whole class was reading it or wanted to. READ THIS!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2003

    Great, but no Harry Potter!

    The first book was great. Midnight is a very enjoyable read and it kept me busy while waiting for Order of the Poenix to be released. The plot is good and the characters are interesting. And even though it was a great book and I can't wait for the sequel, everyone knows that Harry Potter has no competition here!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Kmari

    100000000000000000000000000999999999999999999999988888888888

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Read this book you will like it!

    I like reading these books so much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Read the first

    I read the first and it was amazing. Cant wait to read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Charlie Bone and The Time Twister

    Charlie Bone and the Time Twister is a thrilling sequel to Jenny Nimmo's roaring success in Midnight for Charlie Bone. In this book Charlie meets one of his ancestors, named Henry, who has been whisked to the future by his evil cousin. When he arrives in the present Henry meets Charlie, and together they try to find a way to bring Henry back to the past. But they are up against Henry's evil cousin, who has grown to an evil old man by the time Henry is in the future. Charlie finally manages a way to get Henry back almost far enough. Yet since Henry couldn't return to precisely his own time, he goes on to be raised by his younger brother. This makes an exciting book with constant twists and turns in the second novel in the Children of The Red King series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fantastic Sequel

    "Charlie Bone and the Time Twister," by Jenny Nimmo is the sequel to the New York Times bestseller, "Midnight for Charlie Bone." It is definitely a real page-turner that will always keeps the reader's interest. A fantastic sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    I know. It's crazy I didn't read the first book, I read the second and then fifth book (don't try to yell at me or something) and I even feel bad about it. Now I have to read the entire story, which doesn't really matter me now that I read the second, fifth, and half of the sixth book. This book is really great and sorry I got too hooked up on that speech above. So get this book whenever you can after the first book, and don't make the stupid mistake I did! Trust me, you want be able to live with yourself (just kiddin').

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    a really good book!

    This was a really good book, although I admit I liked Midnight for Charlie Bone better. All the same, both were filled with mysteries and surprises I enjoyed reading about. Definetely read Charlie Bone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2006

    i invite

    I love this book.I reccommeded this book for a 4.I know how to rate books yes but it shows or tells about the time twister at the beginning.can someone come up with a good reason for that?I think some of it makes poop look good. so i like the book a little.i also put a outstanding on maniac maggie.i amfinally done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2006

    A reviewer

    just simply a fantastic book a million thumbs up! lol!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2006

    Best book ever!

    This book is so cool! it always keeps you wondering whats gonna happen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2006

    GOOD!

    I love books with hidden secrets in them, that you can try and find before the characters do. They make you THINK! There are soo many of those in the Charlie Bones books. I'm already guessing about Charlie's father!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2006

    OK book...

    well, i do like the series and have all the books. this one was pretty good though i like the first one better. but,OMG this is sooo copying harry potter, i mean unknown wizard, going to wizard school, magaical talents, i mean be more original please! pretty good all around though and unpredictable and unexpected. the fourth barely had a plot, there was like no point to it and pretty disappointing. but this one was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5