Customer Reviews for

Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Not Reading

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

CHARLIE JOE JACKSON'S, GUIDE TO NOT READING (REVIEW)

"CHARLIE JOE JACKSON'S, GUIDE TO NOT READING" BY TOMMY GREENWALD (REVIEW)

WARNING! CLEAR ALL CHILDREN FROM THE ROOM BEFORE READING THIS REVIEW!

This is a delightful book for middle grade children that actually makes them want to read regardless of the title. It t...
"CHARLIE JOE JACKSON'S, GUIDE TO NOT READING" BY TOMMY GREENWALD (REVIEW)

WARNING! CLEAR ALL CHILDREN FROM THE ROOM BEFORE READING THIS REVIEW!

This is a delightful book for middle grade children that actually makes them want to read regardless of the title. It turns out that this book is a clever reverse psychology tool that you can use to get your kids to read regardless of their determination not to.

The book is extremely imaginative and written for fun! When Charlie Joe loses his link to NOT reading books, he finds himself coming up with ways to get around actually reading and still being able to figure out what the book is about. The ending is GREAT!

Definitely pick up this book for your child or children whether they enjoy reading or not! It's a fantastic read!

-Kitty Bullard / Great Minds Think Aloud Book Club

posted by IntellectualReviewer on July 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Bad. Very bad.

This book portrayed stereotypes, and books as bad. Books give you imagination and no, you do not get glasses by reading small type. I would not reccomend unless this is a last hope to get a child to read

posted by Anonymous on August 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    CHARLIE JOE JACKSON'S, GUIDE TO NOT READING (REVIEW)

    "CHARLIE JOE JACKSON'S, GUIDE TO NOT READING" BY TOMMY GREENWALD (REVIEW)

    WARNING! CLEAR ALL CHILDREN FROM THE ROOM BEFORE READING THIS REVIEW!

    This is a delightful book for middle grade children that actually makes them want to read regardless of the title. It turns out that this book is a clever reverse psychology tool that you can use to get your kids to read regardless of their determination not to.

    The book is extremely imaginative and written for fun! When Charlie Joe loses his link to NOT reading books, he finds himself coming up with ways to get around actually reading and still being able to figure out what the book is about. The ending is GREAT!

    Definitely pick up this book for your child or children whether they enjoy reading or not! It's a fantastic read!

    -Kitty Bullard / Great Minds Think Aloud Book Club

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    CJJ is LOL funny

    'Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Not Reading' is a howlingly funny book that would be great for any middle-schooler - reluctant reader or not. The plot is both crazy and plausible: Charlie Joe Jackson intends to do well (ok, well-ish) in school without actually reading the assigned books. CJJ has been successful at this in the past, but now things are happening that make his goal increasingly difficult. CJJ's reactions to the roadblocks - and what is happening all around him at school - are just LOL funny. Literally, I was laughing out loud as I read this book. Which was sometimes embarrassing. But I digress; let's get back on track. Beyond the plot, I loved how CJJ pokes fun at himself all the way through the story. For example, on page 4, in explaining how the book will work, CJJ promises, "The chapters will be short. The pages will be shorter. And whenever possible, I will keep the words shortest." Then on page 12, even though something really awful has just happened and you are dying to find out what happens next (CJJ's best friend suddenly won't help and he doesn't know why), CJJ stops the storyline to apologize. "I just looked at the previous chapter and realized it was way too long," he says. "Sorry about that. Won't happen again." Personally, I found this as hilarious as what was happening with CJJ and his don't-read-a-book-at-all-costs goal at school. Tommy Greenwald has created a fun, funny and really interesting character in CJJ, and then he made this book fly with a plot that is both believable and unpredictable. And J.P. Coovert's illustrations liven an already fast read. If you haven't yet read 'Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Not Reading' (or bought it for the middle-schooler in your life), you are missing out. Unless, to quote CJJ (p77) you are "comically challenged." Because "comically challenged" is what you'd have to be to not love this book.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Besr book that i have ever read

    I am currently readin this with my fifth grade class , and all of us love it:) :) :)

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Charlie joe jacksons guide to not reading

    I loved this book it is funny for kids and even funny for everyone

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    To b

    Yes this book is very good

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Not Reading

    Charlie Joe Jackson is so funny!!!!!!!! He gives so much advice and this book is great for kids. It gives so much detail on how he starts off hating to read and then shares ideas on how to read!!! This book is great for kids even if they hate reading it's a great book for them to start off with.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Amazing amount of amasingnisz

    Boy who is trying to avoid reading.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    H

    Funny

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Curios person

    Should i get it im ten and read thing really good about the book its just alot of the reviews say tgat fith graders or 12 year olds are reading this so point is should i get it or should i not get it????

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Bad. Very bad.

    This book portrayed stereotypes, and books as bad. Books give you imagination and no, you do not get glasses by reading small type. I would not reccomend unless this is a last hope to get a child to read

    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Love the book.

    This was a really good book i enjoyed reading so did my little brother and he is 4 1/2 years younger than me.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    charlie joe has a great sense of humor!!!!! halarious:)

    charlie joe has a great sense of humor!!!!! halarious:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    AMAZING BOOK

    The book was amazing and i woyld give it five stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Fun and helpful

    Charlie Joe Jackson actually has a great attitude about the world but goes to such great lengths to not read he makes all his friends, family, teachers, and himself mad at him. He would rather lose a girlfriend than read a book. Obviously, the amount of work in not reading becomes enormous and complicated. This book is clever and fun to read, and would help students who think they hate reading feel understood. The overall tone of the book is positive and although there is a girlfriend, no kissing is mentioned or implied. Highly recommended. There are so many sad, heavy books and this book is some fresh air. I enjoyed it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    THIS IS A GOOD BOOK

    This is areally good book. I had to read this book for our reading program in abbott middle school. This book is great for all ages and you should READ IT!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    hi

    hi im selena gomez

    2 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Comepletly awesome!!!!!!

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Reply if u know what im saying

    Coke omitted melecular micronobes entitled nepalian twoshoes. Busy oswad made messes!!!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Please read my comment thk

    I recommed this book please read it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Not Reading

    I love this book so much! But I really don't see how this is a book that is called Guide to Not Reading!!! LOL I recomend this book for reading lovers. :) GET THIS BOOK!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4