Customer Reviews for

Charlie St. Cloud

Average Rating 4
( 893 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(481)

4 Star

(217)

3 Star

(114)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

focuses on relationships after a loved one dies

In 1991 in Marblehead, Massachusetts fifteen years old Charlie St. Cloud and his twelve years old brother Sam steal a neighbor's station wagon to go to the Red Sox game. They have a good time at the ball park, but on the way home while crossing the Saugus River, Charli...
In 1991 in Marblehead, Massachusetts fifteen years old Charlie St. Cloud and his twelve years old brother Sam steal a neighbor's station wagon to go to the Red Sox game. They have a good time at the ball park, but on the way home while crossing the Saugus River, Charlie crashes the vehicle; both die, but the emergency crew revives the teen. Sam is buried in the Marblehead cemetery.

Thirteen years later, Charlie is the caretaker at the Waterside Cemetery where his sibling is buried. Every night the St. Cloud brothers play catch as Sam delays leaving for heaven. When Charlie and Tess Carroll meet at the cemetery they are attracted to one another. She plans to sail around the world solo, but soon after their terrific date, her vessel is lost at sea. Charlie realizes the rescue team has failed to save her as he watches her spirit fade away while wondering what he can do.

This is a reprint of an engaging character study that focuses on relationships after a loved one dies and how much the living is obligated to deceased loved ones; especially since the person left behind loses a bit of themselves, but more so when they are a catalyst in a tragedy. The first half is as terrific and insightful a tale as this reviewer has read this year. However, the plot takes a weird turn with a couple of unnecessary twists that add tension, but destroy Sherwoodian after life physics. Still this is a fabulous tale that focuses on the debt of those alive owe to those who have died as Charlie, Tess and Sam make a fascinating macabre triangle (even if the brothers are Red Sox fans as I am from the Bronx).

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Blank

This was a nice and cute story, but I didn't like the way it was written. The movie and book were confusing.

posted by 18745882 on January 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 905 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 46
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    focuses on relationships after a loved one dies

    In 1991 in Marblehead, Massachusetts fifteen years old Charlie St. Cloud and his twelve years old brother Sam steal a neighbor's station wagon to go to the Red Sox game. They have a good time at the ball park, but on the way home while crossing the Saugus River, Charlie crashes the vehicle; both die, but the emergency crew revives the teen. Sam is buried in the Marblehead cemetery.

    Thirteen years later, Charlie is the caretaker at the Waterside Cemetery where his sibling is buried. Every night the St. Cloud brothers play catch as Sam delays leaving for heaven. When Charlie and Tess Carroll meet at the cemetery they are attracted to one another. She plans to sail around the world solo, but soon after their terrific date, her vessel is lost at sea. Charlie realizes the rescue team has failed to save her as he watches her spirit fade away while wondering what he can do.

    This is a reprint of an engaging character study that focuses on relationships after a loved one dies and how much the living is obligated to deceased loved ones; especially since the person left behind loses a bit of themselves, but more so when they are a catalyst in a tragedy. The first half is as terrific and insightful a tale as this reviewer has read this year. However, the plot takes a weird turn with a couple of unnecessary twists that add tension, but destroy Sherwoodian after life physics. Still this is a fabulous tale that focuses on the debt of those alive owe to those who have died as Charlie, Tess and Sam make a fascinating macabre triangle (even if the brothers are Red Sox fans as I am from the Bronx).

    Harriet Klausner

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Read before you see the movie!

    This book drew me in right from the forward. It provides a view of death that is both disturbing and comforting at the same time. You are rooting for Charlie and Tess and grieving for Sam. Don't let the Hollywood version rob you of the best read I've had all summer. Read this first, then see the movie and let Zac bring Charlie to life!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Took me by surprise

    This book left me speechless. I wasn't sure what to expect when I first bought it. It was tough to put down too. Once you started, you couldn't stop even if your hands went numb from reading so long. I definitely recommend this.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful

    Charlie St. Cloud was just plain beautiful.
    Charlie can see ghosts. Mainly, his younger brother who died in a car accident that Charlie was also in, but he survived. The boys play catch and talk, mostly because of a promise to never leave each other. So Charlie makes it his brotherly duty to be home and with Sam at sunset, if he misses it once, he believes he will never be able to see his brother again. And what kind of life will he have then?
    The story line itself is what drew me into the book. The pages kept flying, and I soon figured out what was going on with the relationship between Charlie and Tess. It was amazing, and yet tragic all the same.
    I'm not going to lie and say I didn't cry during this book. At least twice I cried, once because of something heartbreaking, and another time because it was heartwarming.
    Every page had some new realization that makes the reader want to keep reading. I guarantee you won't be bored in this book. It's literally impossible.
    The ending was shocking, and I loved every word of it.
    Ben Sherwood defiantly outdid himself. And I can't wait to see the movie.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    amazing

    I first heard of this title a few weeks ago after seeing a movie preview for it and the preview alone was very emotional and moving so when I found out it was a novel I just had to read it. This book was so good. A book I truly could not put down (I finished the book the same day I started it). It's a beautiful book that really touches you. It's a wonderful story, flows nicely, few twists, and is just very well written. Its charming, sad, hopeful, makes you laugh, makes you cry; it encompasses many elements one hopes to get from a book. Its a great read.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    Beautiful Story

    I just finished this book, and I loved the story. I just wish it was longer. At only 269 pages, it is the shortest novel I've ever read, and it left me wanting more. I can't wait to see the movie.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    Great Summer Book

    This book was excellent! It had me interested from the very first page! The characters and story was compelling and made you feel like you were part of the book. It is a tear jerker, and at some moments I did cry. I thought the author did a good job on capturing the emotions of loss and love. Very easy and smooth read, that kept me wanting to read on and on and on. I reccomend this book to anyone.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Blank

    This was a nice and cute story, but I didn't like the way it was written. The movie and book were confusing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    Great Book!!!

    I was ready to watch the movie until I decided to read the book first. Once you start reading you won't be able to put the book down. I read the book in three days, that is how much suspense is in the book. I am excited to see how the movie turns out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    oh! i'm speechless

    An amazing book with amazing characters and an amazing story. an all around amazing book. the only thing i didnt quite like was how tess was a spirit in the beginning.... other than that it was amazing!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good Book

    This is one of the best books that I have read in a long time. I had seen the previews for the movie and decided that it looked intriguing so I decided to pick up the book. It was one that I couldn't put down and I read it in less than a day. It is a beautiful story that made me cry several times. I would recommend it for sure and actually have told my friends that they needed to read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Short, easy, dramatic

    I felt like the story was very rushed. It was hard to get involved with the story because it moved at lightning speed. There could have been much more description and character development. The story is definitely sad, yet heartwarming. Overall, I was very disappointed with this book and was glad when it was over.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Surprisingly Good Read

    I picked up this book after seeing a trailer for the new movie coming out this month. It caught my interest right away and I couldn't put it down. Hopefully the movie does it justice!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    Amazing.

    This book, I thought, was wonderful. It had the perfect mix. I laughed and cried. It also really made me think. At first, i thought it was going to be predictable like many other books I've read, but this book had great twists and a great storyline. So I hope that you read it and enjoy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    So awesome

    Best book and movie everrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Zac

    Efrom

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Loved the movie.....

    I watched the movie but i want to know if this book is the same as the movie!u

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Love this book!

    I absolutely love this book! I was frowning only on the fact that it was very short.. but i came to terms and was ok with it because everything you want to know ends up being covered. The characters are very easily welcomed along with the storyline. What you need to know is conveyed in an orderly fashion and I would not change anything.. (I am only a reader anyway) The movie I didn't quite agree with, but no disrespect, and I'm not going to diss this story in anyway. Hollywood just did it a little out of order is all. But overall great read!! P.s. Love lil Sam's humor:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Badger den

    The old badger den. A fox has occupied it now, though. Only experienced warriors are allowed near it, no exceptions.





    ~•|Swiftstar|•~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Love it

    Tmpbug

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 905 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 46