Customer Reviews for

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

Average Rating 4.5
( 329 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(234)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

tray's review

this book was about a boy named Charlie. My favorite character is Augustus Gloop because he eats a lot of chocolate.I liked this book because there is
a lot of funny songs.You should read this book because it is a 5 star book it will keep you predicting.

posted by 824479 on January 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Sweet Treat Sans Typos

I read this book as a child and adored it, then purchased it for my Nook for my daughter to read. The stiry is still as wonderful as ever, but the frequent typographical errors and formatting issues are very jarring to the reader and mentally pitch the individual right...
I read this book as a child and adored it, then purchased it for my Nook for my daughter to read. The stiry is still as wonderful as ever, but the frequent typographical errors and formatting issues are very jarring to the reader and mentally pitch the individual right out of the story, which is a shame.

posted by TisHerself1999 on April 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 329 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    tray's review

    this book was about a boy named Charlie. My favorite character is Augustus Gloop because he eats a lot of chocolate.I liked this book because there is <BR/>a lot of funny songs.You should read this book because it is a 5 star book it will keep you predicting.

    16 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Great Read for All Ages

    I read this book for the first time in my life to my three year old boy. We both looked forward to our nightly chapter reading. Other than a few words in the text that are not appropriate for a three year old (easily replaced during aloud reading), the content was absorbing and entertaining. I would recommend this to anyone - parent, child or bachelor.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    Isaiah's Reveiw

    This book was about a boy named Charlie who loves chocolate. He meets the owner of a chocolate factory, Mr. Willy Wonka. My favorite characters in this book were the Oompa-Loompas. They sing a lot. I liked it because it was funny and the Oompa-Loompas sing. You should read this because it is <BR/>better than T.V.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    Bryce's Review

    A boy who went to the biggest chocolate factory in the world and he met a famous person. My favorite character in this book were the Oompa-Loompas because they started to sing a couple of times. I liked this book because it has a lot of funny stuff in it like Augustus going up the pipe. You should read this book because it is interesting like Charlie finding a coin to buy a couple of chocolate bars.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Great Book

    I LOVE this book. It transforms your seemingly impossible dream into a book. Buy the book and the only thing you will regret is the picture on the front cover. : )

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Charlie and the choclate factory

    Its amazing read this book i also love the movie who doesnt ? Read this book you'll be glad u did:)

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Great book

    It was fantastic he created a wonderful world for jucst about everyone!2 wrds read it

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    AMAZING

    De sooner
    You reader
    De better
    It getter
    De longer
    You reader
    De madder I getter!!!!!!

    6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

    If you like or has read one of Roald Dahls books you should really read Charlie and the Chocolate Factory I would highly recomend it.
    It is an amazing book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Charlie and the chocolate factoy

    What do you like? Cheesy books or ab book that is better than a movie with one of the top movie rattings? Well than you should try the book CARLIE AND THE CHOCLATE FACTORY it is about a boy named charlie tha wins a golden tocket and a a ther too find one and go through wonkas factory. Wrhappens to them?

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    Samantha's REVIEW

    This book was about Charlie Bucket and four kids competing to win the Chocolate Factory. [The five kids did not know they where competing.] And Charlie won. My favorite character was Augustus Gloop because he fell in a river and got sucked up a pipe then got stuck. I liked this book because it was very exciting. It is exciting because you never know what is going to happen next because there is always something happening to the characters. You should read this book because it is very well written.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    AWESOME!!!

    This book was awesome. After seeing both of the movies, then reading the first book I am beginning to understand the storyline a little bit better. At first when I saw the movie i didn't understand the meaning behind the story.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    Awsome

    This book was really good!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Great

    I love this book. I reccomend reading more of roald dahl. 5 stars!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Awsome

    Come with me! And you will be in the world of my creation!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Enter headline

    Im in a play aboout willy wonka and im an ompa lompa!i love this book and everyone should buy it :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Willi wonka

    Is one of the funniest charachters ever read this book. I give it a 5*/five stars

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    A Sweet Treat Sans Typos

    I read this book as a child and adored it, then purchased it for my Nook for my daughter to read. The stiry is still as wonderful as ever, but the frequent typographical errors and formatting issues are very jarring to the reader and mentally pitch the individual right out of the story, which is a shame.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Creepy picture

    The pic is creeping me out

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Inspired!

    11 years ago, when I was ten years old. Every year, my old school, Roosevelt Elementary School in Moline, IL, would host a Mini-theatre musical for 3-5 graders. It was my last year at Roosevelt. I decided to read the book and watch the movie so I could determine who I wanted to be. I chose Grandma Georgina, and I got her! TTYL

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 329 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17