Customer Reviews for

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

Average Rating 4.5
( 342 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(246)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

tray's review

this book was about a boy named Charlie. My favorite character is Augustus Gloop because he eats a lot of chocolate.I liked this book because there is
a lot of funny songs.You should read this book because it is a 5 star book it will keep you predicting.

posted by 824479 on January 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Creepy picture

The pic is creeping me out

posted by 5847403 on October 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Creepy picture

    The pic is creeping me out

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    Not worth to be called a classic, to tell the truth.....

    Seeing all of the reviews, people really seem to like this book. It's even considered a classic. I've seen the movie before I've read the book, that I have to confess, but I was really looking forward to the read the book itself. But when I read it, I found myself being very irritated at Charlie and Mr. Wonka, the book's 'heroes'. I found myself siding with the 'bad kids', Augustus, Violet, Veruca, and Mike. And I do have some reasons why. Number one, the plot is one that's overused. The good person with a heart of gold prevails. And speaking of it, Charlie doesn't seem to have any human flaws which makes him a Gary Stu and rather annoying. Number two, there wasn't any visible character development. Augustus was still a glutton, Veruca a brat, Violet a mean girl, and Mike a TV addict. And of course, our dear Charlie was still honest, good, and kind. From the beginning, you knew Charlie would win the special prize. To round it all up, I think that the plot was rather shallow. Charlie was a kid that was too good to be three-dimensional, the others are too bad to be real. Maybe it's just me, because I prefer books with realistic characters and situations. So, it will be forever my opinion that I don't think this book deserves to be a classic. There are other books out there with better plots and three-dimensional characters that I believe deserves the praise and honor that this book has.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    This book was given to my first grader by his teacher. He's read

    This book was given to my first grader by his teacher. He's reading at a 4th grade level, but I was extremely shocked when we were reading and came across the word "Ass," and characters telling each other to "shut up." I think it's completely inappropriate and I was very disappointed!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    X(

    I got this book and started to read it when i realized that every single page, 1-132, was BLANK. My friend says to call customour service and ill get my money back, but i decided to wait until i finish writing this. So, im just WARNING YOU!!!!!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2015

    Seriously?

    The sample didnt even hav the firdt page of chapter oe in it at all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2014

    Come if you dare

    You are stuped because you have no abilety of any specielty thats why. and just a reminder you have no specielty

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    -_-

    -_-

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Bowser and the koopalings fangirl

    Just about a dumb kid who survives it through a factory and has a sick d happy ending. Big deal!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Roald dahl

    It sucks never read it dont waist your time reading it!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Aint nobody got time for that

    Nobody watches that show anymore its maaad oldd -_-

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Dert

    Do not like sample, it is bad

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Sucks dick

    It suck the sample sucks you can only get to the chapter... chapter 8 tp be exact

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    NOT REALY I DONT LIKE U T ALL

    He is horible

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Shame

    Shame

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    This book is

    Crap

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1