Customer Reviews for

Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator

Average Rating 4
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great a Must

this is agreat fun sequal

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

So weird

We bought this book.

Did you think Charlie's adventures ended when he won the chocolate factory? As it turns out Charlie's day didn't even end there. Once in the Great Glass Elevator Charlie (and all the Buckets) found themselves on a wild journey to some really str...
We bought this book.

Did you think Charlie's adventures ended when he won the chocolate factory? As it turns out Charlie's day didn't even end there. Once in the Great Glass Elevator Charlie (and all the Buckets) found themselves on a wild journey to some really strange places. Really strange. In one of Dahl's wildest stories childrens' classic hero Charlie finds himself orbiting Earth, fighting aliens, traveling to unreal places like Minusland and most off all, trying to convince his grandparents to get out of the bed they've been in for the last twenty years.
Dahl is famous for his dark, wry view of just about everything. In The Witches he took on women, in Charlie in the Chocolate Factory he took on bratty kids, in Matilda he took on the education system. In this one he takes on really lazy adults. Surely by this point readers should know Dahl was an equal opportunity -ist (or at least played one for effect through his fiction) but he was also a fantastic storyteller, slyly infusing his tales with enough dark humor and irony to make even young readers feel like they're in on Dahl's cosmic joke.
Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator is quite nonlinear, so it threw my more literally minded autistic son, but my daughter found the wild and crazy wild enjoyable. She especially enjoyed the space bits, which were almost science fiction-y enough for her.
As always, especially with Dahl's wilder works, it's an acquired taste, not for all readers. But avid readers will want to taste Dahl's clever, intelligent story telling which, unlike many kids books (especially those tied in with movies, TV shows or licensed characters) doesn't treat young readers like thick-headed dummies who need moral messages drilled into their heads.

Contains: Bad science, mean old people

Recommended for: 8-12 yrs, flexible

posted by MicheleLeesBookLove on January 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    That Was The best book ever

    I think this is a fantastic book you should make it into a movie because it would be the best movie in the whole world I just wan't to read it over and over again I enjoyed it so much that I think you sould wite a book about them going to Hawaii were I live that would be so awesome people will love it.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2000

    Great a Must

    this is agreat fun sequal

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2000

    This is the best book in the world.

    This book I bought Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator is because I am a Roald DAhl fan. The book starts where the first book left off(Charlie and the Chocolate Factory). I recommend this outstanding book to all.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2006

    MAKE THIS INTO A MOVIE!!!

    great book! more like 6 stars! kept me on the edge of my seat! the rocketing into orbit around the earth, the space hotel, the commuter capsule getting attacked by knids,,,this MUST be made into a movie, otherwise the collection of 'wonka' movies/books will be incomplete.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2005

    My review....

    I love Ruald Daul's books I love reading them at night too put my self asleep even druing class i'll try to read a sentence or too

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2005

    must read

    this was a great novel by ronled daul. i think this is better then the first.i relly liked it. this would have to be a must read.roneld daul has outdone himself.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Best book since james and the giant peach

    LOL THE MOST IN A LIFETIME AND WILL NOCK YOUR SOCKS OFF!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    That was........

    AWESOME!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Calling China

    "The contrys so full of wing's and wong's that every time you wing(ring)you get the wong(wrong) number!!!!!!!!!""

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    G

    U

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    SshxhzsYhuwnrbykjlnhbn.imm..hm..."..........ygtessdggrdxfhfjdjfchcfrtbefsqqaxzcgjun vmgcbhhkujjhgggh.

    Hbthgbhwnn ggbyvhbbh bvgg rvybbvv ggghgghhggggggggggggggggggggghugbhhgvvbgvvbvbbbbbbbbbvbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbvvvggcgfghhntrgghjnujvbhbtyyyyyyytgfdsaghkjtdfmnmil.mppjhrsxchhrubrgefhnhnjumurni.kuutvgvfbjhnegejbymmkkkkkukukkkkyktjju

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    it awesome

    Grand ma Georgina eat s wonka vite and become a minus

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Awesome!

    It is ve

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I luv this bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbboooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooookkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkklkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Good

    Reading thus book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Good

    Good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Read

    Havent read it yeat but if it is anything like the first book it should be great

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Abby

    Loved it willy wonka amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    ?that

    I loved this book so much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Its not bad! Its great!

    Make this into a movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3