BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Charlotte Collins: A Continuation of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    Unexpectedly Fantastic!

    My very favorite book is Pride and Prejudice and so I often look at spin-offs or continuation stories based on it with a very critical eye. I am so glad that I gave this one a chance! Jennifer Becton captures the same feel of the beloved classic while simultaneously keeping it fresh and captivating.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Much better than I expected!

    I read this right after re-reading "Pride and Prejudice"... I thoroughly enjoyed it. The story picks up a few years after the end of the original, and develops the character of Charlotte and her sister Maria very well. I was a little skeptical with a continuation of such a classic, but the author does not rely on the previous plot too much, instead creating her own good story. If you like "Pride and Prejudice" and other similar historical fiction, you won't be disappointed with this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    Exellent read!

    Ms. Becton does an exellent job of telling poor Charlotte's story. She holds true to Austen's style of writing and I couldn't put it down until I finished!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Austen continued with style!

    Ms Becton carried the style of Jane Austen throughout the book. It read like a true Austen novel. The continuation of the story line featuring Charlotte Lucas Collins was pure delight. Let's hope Ms Becton chooses to develop more of the Pride and Prejudice characters into feature novels.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    Plain and Proper Charlotte Finds Love!

    "Happiness in marriage is entirely a matter of chance. If the dispositions of the parties are ever so well known to each other, or ever so similar before-hand, it does not advance their felicity in the least. They always contrive to grow sufficiently unlike afterwards to have their share of vexation; and it is better to know as little as possible of the defects of the person with whom you are to pass your life." - Chapter 6 Pride and Prejudice


    What a bleak and unromantic view of marriage Charlotte Lucas had! Did marriage to Mr. Collins refute or support her conviction? Did seeing the blissful and affectionate marriages of her dear friends Jane and Elizabeth Bennet alter Charlotte's opinion on marital felicity? Is love and happiness in marriage more important than financial security and a home of your own?

    In Jennifer Becton's beautiful Pride and Prejudice sequel, Charlotte Collins receives the opportunity for a second chance in love. After seven exasperating and tedious years of marriage, Mr. Collins passes away in an unfortunate carriage accident. Charlotte, now in her mid-thirties, enjoys a life of independence and solitude as she lives off the jointure Mr. Collins begrudgingly set up for her. Charlotte's peace and quiet is soon interrupted when her younger sister Maria becomes a permanent house guest and coerces Charlotte into being her chaperone. Charlotte finds herself revisiting the world of balls, beaus, and romance as she assists Maria in finding a felicitous match. It soon becomes apparent though, that Maria is not the only one who has romance on the mind...

    To continue reading go to my blog, Austenesque Reviews!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    Lovely Continuation of Charlotte's story

    I have always had a special place in my heart for Charlotte Collins (formerly Lucas) from Austen's Pride and Prejudice. It is so easy to compare her to Elizabeth, to applaud Elizabeth's rejection of Mr. Collins, and lament Charlotte's persuing of him. After all, who would want to be married to someone like Mr. Collins? The reader often feels dissapointed in Charlotte, and that her weakness highlights Elizabeth's strength. I have never felt dissapointed in Charlotte, but I have felt desperately sorry for her in many ways. To compare her, and her choices and options, to Elizabeth is unfair. As few choices as Lizzie has, Charlotte has even fewer. For one thing she is significantly older, with less family support, and probably an even more shaky financial future if she didn't marry. Charlotte is forced to make the realistic choice, and while we recognize it was realistic we have no real hope for her future happiness. Which is why I am so excited to see a continuation of Charlotte's story that gives her a chance at that happiness! Jennifer Becton's beautifully written novel is both believable and satisfying. While Darcy and Elizabeth make brief appearances, Becton remains focused on Charlotte's life and circumstances, turning her successfully into a true romantic heroine. After Mr. Collin's untimely demise Charlotte faces widowhood with the same seemingly unflappable calm that she faced her marriage. As Charlotte enters society again, this time as a chaperone to her younger, unmarried sister, she begins to realize that there might yet be a life for her beyond what she had imagined for herself. She even attracts the attention of two very different men . . . but are these men scoundrels or heroes? You will just have to read the book yourself to find out! And I highly suggest that you do! Becton's writing style is lovely, her novel is obviously very well researched, and, in my opinion, seamlessly weaves a new story strand into the rich tapestry of Austen's characters. The final scene rates high on the "tingle" factor, which is an important requirement for all romantic novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    Totally Fantastic, Absolutely Fabulous Austinesque Read!!!

    I've just finished Becton's wonderful continuation novel and absolutely loved it! It was entirely riveting and pulled me in to a world where all disbelief was suspended indeed! I love the transformation of both main heroines and i am officially in love with Mr...well, I don't want to be a spoiler. I can't wait for another one (or ten) from Ms. Becton!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Highly Recommended - Even if you thought you didn't like historical fiction!

    I had a tad few misgivings about reading a (boring) historical novel. I love novels...usually contemporary novels that I can relate to. But I knew Jennifer, and I knew her passion, and therefore, I knew I had to read this one. I felt a bit "lost at sea" since I have to admit (hanging my head in shame) that I have never read Pride and Prejudice. I wasn't sure that I could pick up on a continuation of a historical novel I had never read. Well...I was wrong!!! From the first couple of pages I was engrossed. Jen's research and historical correctness left me amazed; but bored? Not a chance!!! I was immediately taken up in the lives of Charlotte and her sister, Maria, and Jen did an excellent job describing their day to day lives and the period from which she was writing. As pages quickly turned, I was caught up in lives that I had never experienced or read about, but ones in which I was totally engrossed.

    I urge other contemporary fiction readers, as well as those fans of Jane Austen, to read this novel. I don't think you will be disappointed. I am waiting for the sequel of a full length book on Maria and (???) Well...I guess you'll have to read the book to figure it out.

    Hey Jen, has anyone secured the movie rights yet???

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Wonderful Read!

    What an enjoyable and wonderful foray into the world created by Jane Austen, filled with some familiar characters as well as many new ones from the mind of Jennifer Becton. You fall in love with the characters and begin to feel a true affinity for them as you make your way through the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Happiness for Charlotte

    I always liked Charlotte and thought she deserved better than Mr. Collins. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    Jennifer Becton has continued the story of Charlotte and her you

    Jennifer Becton has continued the story of Charlotte and her younger sister Maria. the story line is very different from some of the other sequels to Pride and Prejudice. Both sisters suffer from gossip in a small community but they overcome the hurt and rejection .They both find love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Great fun

    A very enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Great continuation of a lovable P&P character!

    Loved this story! Can't believe it was a an e pub. For our sake, Ms. Becton, keep E Pubbing! The prices are more affordable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    Only offered in eBook?

    Highly interested in reading this book, but why aren't more formats offered by B&N? You just lost a sale -- although I won't fault the author with a bad rating.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2