Customer Reviews for

Charlotte Figg Takes Over Paradise (Bright's Pond Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun Read!

    This book had me laughing from the first page. Loved all of the characters. God takes a front seat in this one, yet not a preachy book.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Taking over Paradise

    What a hilarious yet heart-wrenching story! Charlotte Figg saw a real estate ad for a lovely double wide trailer situated in the Paradise Trailer Park, and she just had to have it! Her husband had just died, and she was eager to start a new and happier life, and Paradise sounded like just the place to start over. However, when she arrived in Paradise, she was devastated. She had been duped. The trailer that she now owned was a run-down piece of junk, with a couple of raccoons as it's current inhabitants. Turmoil about whether to run for the hills or try to make it livable was her first decision to make, and she chose to stick it out. Charlotte's new neighbors in Paradise are the most unlikely bunch of people you could ever imagine. There is Rose, the tattoo lady; Asa, the one-armed maintenance man; Ginger, the midget; Suzy, the victim of domestic violence; Hazel, the eccentric yet secretly wealthy owner of hundreds of hats and a few cats; and the list goes on and on. Even Charlotte has issues from her past that she needs to deal with in order to find her own healing. Each of the inhabitants in Paradise has their own story, some with a painful past and some with current secrets. Charlotte's influence (her scrumptious pies, her trailer renovations, her softball team, and her big heart) changes the neighborhood forever. I highly recommend this book ... it will make you laugh out loud many times, but it might also bring some tears as the lovable characters in this book share their hearts and their lives with each other.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Not what I expected. In a good way.

    Good writing,well developed characters,and great attention to detail. I can totally picture the trailer park, the field, the wacky inhabitants. This story delves deeper than I thought it would. I find myself on the edge of my seat as things happen to Charlotte hoping things turn out good for her. She definitely has some obstacles to overcome and seems to still be figuring that our for herself. Haven't quite finished it yet. But highly recommend if you enjoy getting involved.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Wonderful, cozy, charming story!

    You will ejoy this book if you liked Fried Green Tomatoes. It was quirky and cute. I fell in love with the characters. I laughted out loud many times. Its a very easy read. I really recommend it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Lovely story

    Wonderful story, no lovey dovy, just happy normal life stuff that happens to us all. Life throws her a lemon and she makes lemonade.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Anexcellent An exceiient read

    A very good book. Well written and holds your interest from beginning to end. Very deserving of five stars. The entire story was told without the use of vulgar or suggestive language which tofay seems to be a glowing accomplishment!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Well done

    This book is both humorous and well written and encourages the reader to look past peoples outer shells to the quality of character on the inside.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Fun story!

    Really delightful story. I want to read more from this author!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    Joyce Magnin Hits Another Home Run!

    After the death of her husband, Charlotte Figg sells her house, buys a trailer sight unseen, and begins a new chapter in her life. Just like "The Prayers of Agnes Sparrow," this second book in the Bright's Pond series, draws you in with another amazing collection of eccentric and sassy characters. The dialogue between the residents of the Paradise Trailer Park will have you literally laughing out loud! Their catchy phrases and sayings are worth remembering and repeating. This heartwarming tale may also bring a tear to your eye as Charlotte, who strives to help a neighbor who is a victim of spousal abuse, realizes she herself needs to deal with secrets from her own past. This book teaches us that those whom we are quick to dismiss, mock, and label as a motley crew of misfits, are sometimes just the right mix that God needs to perform miraculous wonders!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    this was good

    Very funny characters, very readable, love the Christian perspective and it has a very good plot and pace!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Funny

    Clean, funny

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable and funny! I really enjoyed this book. It¿s fun, h

    Enjoyable and funny!




    I really enjoyed this book. It’s fun, humorous and touching. The story had me thinking and relating to things in personal life as well. The characters were down to earth, common and very believable. A feel good story that reminds me that God is always in control.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Anonymous

    I loved this book. Great story and so down to earth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Read this book..

    Well written! story is kind of fun & sad at the same time. Depicts people like we all know!
    A Relaxing time spent reading this book! Will look for more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Fun quick read!

    Great use of descriptives for your characters!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Uplifting

    For free i really enjoyed this book. Good clean read! Made me wanna bake pies :) would definitely recommend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Really cute

    Loved this book. Was a fun read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Highly love this book

    It was a really good book to read, i could not put it down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    misslady

    This is a book that i could read more than one time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    You will like it

    Funny and you wanted to go live there. Just what everyone wants to do

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7