Customer Reviews for

Charlotte Figg Takes Over Paradise (Bright's Pond Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 128 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Taking over Paradise

    What a hilarious yet heart-wrenching story! Charlotte Figg saw a real estate ad for a lovely double wide trailer situated in the Paradise Trailer Park, and she just had to have it! Her husband had just died, and she was eager to start a new and happier life, and Paradise sounded like just the place to start over. However, when she arrived in Paradise, she was devastated. She had been duped. The trailer that she now owned was a run-down piece of junk, with a couple of raccoons as it's current inhabitants. Turmoil about whether to run for the hills or try to make it livable was her first decision to make, and she chose to stick it out. Charlotte's new neighbors in Paradise are the most unlikely bunch of people you could ever imagine. There is Rose, the tattoo lady; Asa, the one-armed maintenance man; Ginger, the midget; Suzy, the victim of domestic violence; Hazel, the eccentric yet secretly wealthy owner of hundreds of hats and a few cats; and the list goes on and on. Even Charlotte has issues from her past that she needs to deal with in order to find her own healing. Each of the inhabitants in Paradise has their own story, some with a painful past and some with current secrets. Charlotte's influence (her scrumptious pies, her trailer renovations, her softball team, and her big heart) changes the neighborhood forever. I highly recommend this book ... it will make you laugh out loud many times, but it might also bring some tears as the lovable characters in this book share their hearts and their lives with each other.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Lovely story

    Wonderful story, no lovey dovy, just happy normal life stuff that happens to us all. Life throws her a lemon and she makes lemonade.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Anexcellent An exceiient read

    A very good book. Well written and holds your interest from beginning to end. Very deserving of five stars. The entire story was told without the use of vulgar or suggestive language which tofay seems to be a glowing accomplishment!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Well done

    This book is both humorous and well written and encourages the reader to look past peoples outer shells to the quality of character on the inside.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    Joyce Magnin Hits Another Home Run!

    After the death of her husband, Charlotte Figg sells her house, buys a trailer sight unseen, and begins a new chapter in her life. Just like "The Prayers of Agnes Sparrow," this second book in the Bright's Pond series, draws you in with another amazing collection of eccentric and sassy characters. The dialogue between the residents of the Paradise Trailer Park will have you literally laughing out loud! Their catchy phrases and sayings are worth remembering and repeating. This heartwarming tale may also bring a tear to your eye as Charlotte, who strives to help a neighbor who is a victim of spousal abuse, realizes she herself needs to deal with secrets from her own past. This book teaches us that those whom we are quick to dismiss, mock, and label as a motley crew of misfits, are sometimes just the right mix that God needs to perform miraculous wonders!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    this was good

    Very funny characters, very readable, love the Christian perspective and it has a very good plot and pace!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Anonymous

    I loved this book. Great story and so down to earth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Uplifting

    For free i really enjoyed this book. Good clean read! Made me wanna bake pies :) would definitely recommend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Highly love this book

    It was a really good book to read, i could not put it down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    misslady

    This is a book that i could read more than one time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2014

    Very funny

    Great book. Good clean Christian book it even gave me a few good chuckles. We need more like this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Love this book!

    Well written, the characters are quirky and lovable. I love this authors writing style and will be reading the rest of the Brights Pond books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Love this book! The characters, storyline, everything!

    Love this book! The characters, storyline, everything!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    This was such a cute story. The characters are all likeable and

    This was such a cute story. The characters are all likeable and you laugh with some of the things that happen in the story. The best thing about this book is it is that it is based on normal people's every day lives and how a normal person would deal with things. When life gave her lemons she made lemonade.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Loved this one!

    I really loved this one, enough to maybe read it again!!!! Wish there were more.
    I so recommend this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Wonderful story..

    This story tells us all that no matter who you are or what you look like God still loves you. Paridise had me smiling and believing in the underdogs with each page truly a heart warming story about how much people really do have in common even if you don't know each other. Give this book 5 stars will read more from this auther.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    definitly recommended

    i loved this book. the characters were interesting and i didnt want to stop reading, left me wanting more from them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Hillarious!

    Great read, each characther has unique personalities that will make you laught out loud at their antics. A lovely story about friendships and community.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Enjoyable book.

    I just finished reading this book. I enjoyed it very much.
    Wasn't disappointed in it at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Absorbing story! Great characters!

    This book was a real treat.
    Charlotte Figg became a widow in an instant when her salesman husband fell dead of a heart attack. Instead of staying in their suburban Philadelphia home, she sells out and buys a trailer located in the heavenly-sounding park, "Paradise," which turns out to be a good deal less than perfect. Charlotte soon puts her mark on Paradise, but will it be enough to give courage to her new friends and even save a life?

    This is one of those books I was sorry to see end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4