Customer Reviews for

Charlotte Figg Takes Over Paradise (Bright's Pond Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Pretty good

    Loved the story line

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Love this book!

    Well written, the characters are quirky and lovable. I love this authors writing style and will be reading the rest of the Brights Pond books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Love this book! The characters, storyline, everything!

    Love this book! The characters, storyline, everything!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    This was such a cute story. The characters are all likeable and

    This was such a cute story. The characters are all likeable and you laugh with some of the things that happen in the story. The best thing about this book is it is that it is based on normal people's every day lives and how a normal person would deal with things. When life gave her lemons she made lemonade.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Loved this one!

    I really loved this one, enough to maybe read it again!!!! Wish there were more.
    I so recommend this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Wonderful story..

    This story tells us all that no matter who you are or what you look like God still loves you. Paridise had me smiling and believing in the underdogs with each page truly a heart warming story about how much people really do have in common even if you don't know each other. Give this book 5 stars will read more from this auther.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "Corny" but cute. This was a story about a woman sudde

    "Corny" but cute.
    This was a story about a woman suddenly widowed and just wanted to get away 
    from everything and everyone and start a new life. She found a mobile home in a trailer 
    park named Paradise. She copied the picture of her new home off the internet and
    sold her present home them=n headed out for her beautiful new "Paradise" home.
    Once she arrived in her new residence, life took on a new and unexpected "turn".
    This is a slightly humorous "chic-lit". It does, however, portray life's "ups and downs".
    The importance of acceptance, friendship, and working together for good is presented 
    in a fun and wholesome way.
    There is drama, and some intrigue within these pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    definitly recommended

    i loved this book. the characters were interesting and i didnt want to stop reading, left me wanting more from them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Highly Reccommended

    I loved this book, came off a heavier reading book to this and it was a delight. Being a fairly recent widow I admired her spunk and she made me laugh. I wanted to move to Paradise too! I would read a sequel to this, hope one gets written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This book is a quick read. It is delightful and will make you feel a little more joy about living a simple life!! There's a lot between the lines as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Hillarious!

    Great read, each characther has unique personalities that will make you laught out loud at their antics. A lovely story about friendships and community.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    FUN BOOK

    Enjoyable read with lots of interesting characters. Charlotte, Rose and Asa are different but very relateable. Need to put aside your 2013 way of thinking and remeber how it was in the 70's. Makes you realize how far we have come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Enjoyable book.

    I just finished reading this book. I enjoyed it very much.
    Wasn't disappointed in it at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Absorbing story! Great characters!

    This book was a real treat.
    Charlotte Figg became a widow in an instant when her salesman husband fell dead of a heart attack. Instead of staying in their suburban Philadelphia home, she sells out and buys a trailer located in the heavenly-sounding park, "Paradise," which turns out to be a good deal less than perfect. Charlotte soon puts her mark on Paradise, but will it be enough to give courage to her new friends and even save a life?

    This is one of those books I was sorry to see end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Very cute story

    Very cute story. Won't plot spoil, but I enjoyed it. Not over kill with religon but with enough to benefit anyone. Well written!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Loved this book

    Really enjoyed this book. Want to read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Do read this!

    Wanted to give this 3.5 stars. This book runs the gamut from funny,to sad, to serious, to downright quirky. It's an easy read but has meat to it. Found myself sad that it ended and caught myself thinking about the characters and wondering what might have happened later. HMMMM how about a sequel??

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Not what I expected it to be!

    I wasn't aware that this book was a Christian based book; however, I still would have read it. It's a funny, uplifting book with a touch of intrigue and mystery thrown in to keep you guessing. It shows how we all have things in life that we hide or keep to ourselves whether it be an abusive husband or a violent past that we don't share with others for fear we will be judged. Allowing God in to our lives and relying on prayer to get us through the dark hours can be a great comfort and trusting that He will always be with us on our journey is something that many of the women in this book had to learn. The close friendships that developed over time in this book were a testament to how important it is to have good friends and that by allowing people in and sharing our scars, whether literally or figuratively can actually lessen the load we carry from our past. I would recommend this book to women and would encourage them to realize the importance of allowing God and friends in to our lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Excellent

    Very enjoyable read. Great characters you don't want to leave behind when the story is over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    When Charlotte┬┐s domineering husband drops dead with a heart att

    When Charlotte’s domineering husband drops dead with a heart attack, Charlotte doesn’t know which way to turn. When she reads an advertisement, Charlotte buys a doublewide trailer, sight unseen, and moves to Paradise Trailer Park. Her rosy view of a trailer park crashes to the ground when she pulls up to her purchase that is far less than advertised. Another resident, Rose Tattoo, conveniences her to stay, and together they pull the residents together and form a softball team. There she finds her old self, long ago crushed under the abusive hand of her husband. Charlotte deals with her grief, her fear, and her mother, along with a colorful cast of unusual neighbors.

    This story is laugh out-loud funny with the descriptions of Charlotte’s life, her choices, and the other residents at Paradise. It also pulls at your heart as the story touches on spouse abuse, and Charlotte’s search for the Lord. Though this book can be enjoyed by anyone, mature readers will be able to appreciate Charlotte’s struggle to grow after her husband’s death. I recommend this to anyone who has lived long enough to understand that life is a series of changes, and not for the faint of heart.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7