Customer Reviews for

Charlotte's Web

Average Rating 4.5
( 213 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(144)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 213 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Sorry I didn't read this when I was younger

    Charlotte's Web is an amazing book. When I was younger, I never wanted to read it. I have watched the movie and loved it. Now I am homeschooling my daughter and this book popped up for a novel requirement. She was against it at first. But from the very first moment of us reading it together--we were both hooked. I woudl limit it to 2 chapters per day. And after reading those 2 chapters--we both wanted to read more. It was a very hard book to put down. We both loved every minute of it. And i enjoyed reading this book (at the age of 35)--more because I read it with my daughter. We laughed together, we cried together. Imagine me, a 35 year old mother cryong when Charlotte died. This book is truly a wonderful peiece of literature that everyone should read. A true classic. However--now my daughter is begging me for a baby pig. Someday--she will read this to her children and they will hopefully beg her for one also.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a great book for the young reader that needs a challenging book to read.

    This book is great for the young reader to explore the land of imagination. The characters wil come alive and he or she will be captivated for hours. The story is set on a farm. A farmer's pig has a lot of newborns and one is a runt. His daughter Dorothy falls in love iwth the runt, named Wilbur, at first sight. He is treated as a human being by her. When he is too large to remain with Dorothy, he is given to Dorothy's uncle Mr. Zuckerman. After some time Uncle Zuckerman decides to fatten and kill Wilbur. With the aid of a spider named Charlotte and a rat named Tippleton, Wilbur's life is spared until the day he passes away on his own.
    The main characters in the book that will grab and retain a reader's attention is Charlotte the spider, Wilbur the pig, and Tippleton the rat. Charlotte is a carefree, kind, loving, and a true friend. She spells out adjectives to describe Wilbur throughout the story to save his life from being ended by Zuckerman. She instructs Wilbur on how to conduct himself when Zuckerman and other humans are watching him. Wilbur is a pig that learns to talk and is searching for a friend to replace Dorothy. He meets Charlotte and instantly falls in love with her. His life is spared and in return for Charlotte's help in saving his life, he watches over and cares for her three daughters that remain on the farm. The rat Tippleton exemplifies the true meaning of the word rat. He steals whatever he can get his hands on and lies to get himself out of trouble. He cares only for himself at the beginning of the book but gradually over time has a change of heart. This is largely due to the reality that is Wilbur is killed, then he will not be fed anymore. This prompts him to help Charlotte save Wilbur's life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    When and Why to Read?

    This book was a lot of fun to read and I was surely interested in it. I think it was a good book to read with a class or to read just for fun!:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    Charlotte's Web

    This is a great book. I read it as a kid. My daughter likes the story too. We got a copy of the book when we bought the DVD. It's a story about animals growing up and making friends. It does have a sad part in it as one of the main characters dies. It is a great story overall.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    this book was purchased as a gift

    I read this book as a child and remember it being a great story - because of that I purchased the book as a gift for my neice

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    an wonderful classic.

    Charlottes web is a wonderful book. This book is great for everybody. Adults will love reading this book, reading to or with there kids or just kids by there self. Everyone will love it.It has a great story-line. You will not want to put ot down. The book has a lot of emotion. I am not going to let you know anymore. You will have to read it to find out. Thank you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Story of frienships and love

    Charlotte's Web is a wonderufl tale of a young girl, her precious pig Wilbur, and a wonderful spider. The book is a beautiful story of friendship, love, and loyalty. It is a tender story of a lovely young girl and a very smart spider who together instill self esteem and dignity in their friend Wilbur. It truly is a book of life, in that all of the animal characters mirror people in this world who face the challenge of living their lives each day. It reminds me very much of a great series of children's books titled "Why some cats are rascals". In that three-book series the heroic cats also live their lives like humans. Both titles belong to my Top Ten Read-Aloud list.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    3rd Grade Book Reviewers!

    Charlotte¿s Web is a terrific and heart-warming adventure for a little runt who is saved by a girl named Fern. He moves to Mr. Zuckerman¿s farm to be cooked up for Christmas. Then he meets a small spider named Charlotte who saves his life from just a few words woven in her web. I give this story ten stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    When I read the book Charlotte¿s Web by:E.B. White i



    When I read the book Charlotte’s Web by:E.B. White i really liked the book. This book would be a fiction novel . My favorite part was when Charlotte wrote the words in the web. The book is mostly about friendship, life, death, and trust. i would recommend this book to parents and teachers of young children. Charlotte’s web has won a newberry honor award. This a fictional story about a pig a spider and a little girl name Fern. Fern wakes up and sees her papa going outside to the pig house she asked her mom what he was doing and she said some pigs were born last night. There is a spider at her uncles barn and her name is Charlotte. Wilbur the pig and Charlotte become best friends. There is some unexpected things that happen to Wilbur. The Zuckerman’s And Arable’s load up to go to the state fair and enter Wilbur in the pig contest. Fern meets this boy named Henry the go on the farisweel together. The setting for Charlotte’s Web is at the fair and at Fern’s Uncle’s farm. the main character’s are Wilbur, Fern, Henry, Avery, Mr.Arable, Mrs.Arable, Mrs.Zuckerman, Mr.Zuckerman. The theme for this book would be to never give up on something and friends can come from strange places and you can always find a way to do something. I think that overall that Charlotte’s Web is a great book and I would recommend this book to all ages. some main points would be when she wrote in the web and when they went to the fair. I would recommend this book to all ages. I really liked this book and i will probably read it to my kids.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    highly recommend

    I loved this book as a child and read it many times - I can't wait to give it to my grandson and read it with him!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    love this book

    i love this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Some book

    I read this book the summer before 5th grade. I had my mother send down books to me where I was staying with family in South Carolina, but not Charlotte¿s Web. In fact, I was hesitant to read it. But Charlotte¿s Web was truly enjoyable, even for a ten-year old. The story is about a pig named Wilbur, saved from death by the farmer¿s daughter Fern, who is eventually transferred to a new farm. There, he meets the brilliant spider Charlotte who becomes his friend and hero, keeping him from being turned into bacon by praising him in a web. The story involves serious and comic topics. I recommend anyone looking for a funny, medium-sized read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    unforgetable novel...

    i remember reading this book when i was more younger it was so good. the very first two chapters i read, i got attached . i jst could'nt put the book down. i woul rate this book a ten out of ten and i would definitly read the book again when ever i get the chance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Talk about interactive read alouds!!

    Charlotte's web is a wonderful book perfect for children and adults, which expresses love, courage, and friendship to the reader. The book is beautifully illustrated throughout the entire reading which helps any reader to truly be a part of the story.

    Charlotte's Web is about a young girl named Fern and her triumphal helpfulness of saving a pig in which her father was about to kill due to it being a runt. Fern takes care of the pig and names him Wilber, and she sits on a stool in Mr. Zuckerman's barn for many days just watching and listening to the noises of the barn. Wilber makes friends with a spider who calls herself Charlotte. Charlotte tries to save Wilber's life by doing all she can as a spider.

    As an elementary teacher I find this book to be a fantastic read aloud. Students always want to hear more about what is going to happen. The story does end on a happy note which is good for young readers, or listeners. If you decide to read this book for a read aloud, you might want to try some summarizing strategies. I like to give my students 3 post-it sticky notes and have them jot down notes on two sticky notes during the read aloud and return to their desks and write a complete sentence explaining either what was read, what they are thinking about, or what they think might happen next. Then I receive 1 sticky note from each and I can quickly read where they are with their comprehension. I use this in the second grade classroom, and it is great for them, and depending on how you set it up, you could probably use it for higher grade levels too for their responsibility of paying attention.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    The book about a spider and a pig

    The book Charlottes Web is a book that I would recommend people to read. It is a great book about animals, and it has many details. It is funny how they put the pig as the main character though. Wilbur is going to be killed if someone does not help him. Is Charlotte's idea going to help him? I really hope you like the story too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    Check this book out!

    A classic tale with a heart-warming story. It is one of my favorite books-many know this story very well. Defintely one of E.B. White's best!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    Mikhaela's review of Charolette's web

    Introduction The place was on a farm. It's a girl that saved a pig that was a runt. He became very famous his name was Wilber. This book is very interesting of how he was famous. It has its ups and downs but is a very good book for children. Description and summary of main points This book is about how a pig named Wilber became famous because people thought he made words out of a spider web, but really it was charlotte. He was entered into many contests because of what people thought. Evaluation My opinion about this book is that it is a very well written and it keeps children interested in it. I still love this book because it's creative and has a good background of it. It also teaches kids a good lesson in life to enjoy what you have and not to lie. So that's why I love this book so much. Conclusion This story ended on a sad note. The reason this being is that one of Wilber's best friends died which was charlotte. He was very depressed and upset. He really didn't have anyone else to talk to because Charlotte was his only friend in the barn. Your final review My final review of the book is that it's a great story and it keeps you on the edge of your seat. Also you will just be waiting to hear the next part of what's going to happen. It teaches a valuable message to young people to respect what you have and not to lie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    Great Book, Got to Read!!

    Introduction
    Charlotte's Web is a very interesting book. This book is loved by many. It's for any age of any gender. Basically it's an all time American classic.

    Description and summary of main points
    This book is about a girl and her family living on a farm. Her name is Fern Able. Her family and her self live on a farm. One late night she heard something. She looked out the window and saw her father walking over to the barn with an axe in his hand. She immediately hurried up and gathered her boots and rain jacket and she ran over to the barn as fast as possible. She asked her dad what he was doing with the axe. He replied and said a baby pig needed killed because he was the runt. The moment she heard those come out of his mouth she tugged and struggled trying to get the axe out of his hand. She saved that little baby pig that night. She named him Wilbur and he soon became a very popular pig in town.

    He soon became a very important pig all thanks to Charlotte. She wanted to keep Wilbur alive so that he wouldn't be sent to the smoke house. One day she made her web like usual and put a very special word in it. Every one in town came to see everyday what unusual word would be above his pin. They entered him in the town fair since everyone loved him.

    Evaluation
    I thought this was a wonderful book. It includes real things people have to go threw. There are happy times but then there are sad times. This book was fairly well written and just something everyone loves. I recommend it to anyone of any gender or age.

    Conclusion
    Charlotte's Web, is just an all time American Classic. Many people love this book. Its for anyone old or young boy or girl. To be honest while reading this book it made me realize things throughout my life. Read it you won't regret it.

    Your final review
    Like I said Charlotte's Web is a book for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Still a classic and a wonderful book

    This is a wonderful book about friendship, trust, love, loss and rebirth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    A Classic-

    This is a great story that everyone should read. When I was teaching kindergarten, I read it to my class every year. This is a book that every child should read. A great book to snuggle up in bed at night and read together. The story of Wilbur and his life. His friend Charlotte and the amazing things she does as a good, close friend to Wilbur and their adventures with the other animals and a little girl. You will cry and you will laugh. This is a classic story that you can't miss!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 213 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11