Customer Reviews for

Charlotte's Web

Average Rating 4.5
( 215 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    When and Why to Read?

    This book was a lot of fun to read and I was surely interested in it. I think it was a good book to read with a class or to read just for fun!:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    highly recommend

    I loved this book as a child and read it many times - I can't wait to give it to my grandson and read it with him!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    Mikhaela's review of Charolette's web

    Introduction The place was on a farm. It's a girl that saved a pig that was a runt. He became very famous his name was Wilber. This book is very interesting of how he was famous. It has its ups and downs but is a very good book for children. Description and summary of main points This book is about how a pig named Wilber became famous because people thought he made words out of a spider web, but really it was charlotte. He was entered into many contests because of what people thought. Evaluation My opinion about this book is that it is a very well written and it keeps children interested in it. I still love this book because it's creative and has a good background of it. It also teaches kids a good lesson in life to enjoy what you have and not to lie. So that's why I love this book so much. Conclusion This story ended on a sad note. The reason this being is that one of Wilber's best friends died which was charlotte. He was very depressed and upset. He really didn't have anyone else to talk to because Charlotte was his only friend in the barn. Your final review My final review of the book is that it's a great story and it keeps you on the edge of your seat. Also you will just be waiting to hear the next part of what's going to happen. It teaches a valuable message to young people to respect what you have and not to lie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    A Classic-

    This is a great story that everyone should read. When I was teaching kindergarten, I read it to my class every year. This is a book that every child should read. A great book to snuggle up in bed at night and read together. The story of Wilbur and his life. His friend Charlotte and the amazing things she does as a good, close friend to Wilbur and their adventures with the other animals and a little girl. You will cry and you will laugh. This is a classic story that you can't miss!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Barely remember this. But remember the cartoon. Still, wow this.

    Barely remember this. But remember the cartoon. Still, wow this. The story, the characters and what happens. Sad but very nostalgic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    I am a 6th grader grade student in glendale AZ

    The main Characters are Charlotte, Wilbur and Fern. That Wilbur is a pig and he almost got chopped by Ferns Dad.And her dad doesnt kill Wilber ontill the Fern comes and convinces him to not kill Wilbur because Fern loves Wilbur as a pet. So her brother comes out named Avery and he says that he wants a pig. And their dad says no only for early risers. So later on in the story she finds out that she can't keep Wilbur. And she gives it to their next door neighboors and she crys and crys. Then the next door neighboors said that you can visit wilber any time you want. And then she stopped crying and she said okay as long as i get to she him.Then later in the story she finds out that they are selling every thing like the pigs the chick and other animals. And they want to kill wilbur before December break... So then charlotte comes in and says that we come up with something and they did and that was they will find words that will convince that they should kill him. And the words are SOMEPIG TERRIFIC, RADIANT ACTION and those were the words that they said to convince them to not kill him. And finaly they didnt kill him and they gave Wibur back to them and it is a happy ending! =] ya!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A sweet book about the unbreakable friendship between a pig and a spider.

    "Terrific": the word Charlotte used to describe Wilbur, also describes this book. This is the story of a lovable but lonely pig who befriends a spider named Charlotte. She eventually saves him from the threat of becoming pork by cleverly making him famous. This story has a sad yet sweet ending. Read this book, and you won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2008

    Stuck fast

    Who would have thought that a little piglet and a spider, of all things, would form the centre characters of one of the best selling kids¿ book ever. Wilbur, the young squeaker in question, is saved from a pig¿s normal fate by a charming little girl called Fern. The happy ending, however, veers off course when Wilbur is sent to her uncle¿s farm to be fattened up for the Xmas pot. Charlotte, a spider who lives in cellar at her uncle¿s farm, saves the day. I found myself becoming very fond of Charlotte and the web she weaves to save Wilbur. No wonder this story captured the imagination of so many¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2008

    A loving,caring, yet sad story.

    I give this story a 4 because it was touching, but sad. I didn't like Uncle Homer because I thought he was mean. This book would be good for kids going to a new school because it teaches kids how to go up to someone and see if they would be a good friend. Wilbur also has to think about having to be lonely without a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2007

    A Great Book

    Charlot's Web is a great book and is written by E.B White.It is a good book for any kind of child or even a grownup.It has some sad moments and some great moments the chacters in this book always express thier fellings like 'I am exhausted from all this work' and this book makes you want to read and read some and read some more.I realy liked reading this book about all kinds of animals sheep,rats,pigs,spiders and lots of more animals.Mayby you already read it read it again and it will even be beter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2006

    Some Pig or Terrefic?

    When I started this book i thought (me personally) the book started out poor, but as I kept reading it I thought hey this book is good! So, I'm giving it four stars. So, 'Some Pig' or 'Terrific'? I think Terrific! This movie will probably be good too. Including a great cast: Dakota Fanning, Cedric The Entertainer, Whoppie Goldberg and more (movie opens 12/20/06).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2006

    My Review

    I can still visualize the book that my aunt kept in the bookcase of her headboard in her guestroom. The spine clearly read, ¿Charlotte¿s Web¿. She would read the book to me when I would sleep over at her house. I¿d think to myself, ¿who would ever befriend a spider¿. I soon discovered, the answer to my question was a little runt of a pig named Wilbur. In E. B. White¿s Charlotte¿s Web, a little farm girl by the name of Fern learns that the runt piglet is going to be killed. ¿ `Where¿s Papa going with that ax?¿ said Fern to her mother as they were setting the table for breakfast. ¿Out to the hoghouse,¿ replied Mrs. Arable. `Some pigs were born last night.¿ `I don¿t see why he needs an ax,¿ continued Fern, who was only eight.¿ Mrs. Arable tries to explain to Fern that a runt will never amount to anything and only take up space, but Fern is beside herself. She runs to her Papa and begs for the little piglet¿s life to be spared. She succeeds. However, after Wilbur becomes a fat, healthy, hog, the farm animals uncover a dirty truth ¿ Wilbur¿s going to be slaughtered! Read this timeless classic to find out how Wilbur and his friends plan to save the day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2006

    What i THink about charlottes web!!!

    i have read Charlottes Web sbout 10 times and it always suprises me every time i read it!! Charolettes Web is a fun book that shows the characteristics you need in a good friendship. I would definantly recommend this great book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    OMG DEFINITELY READ THIS BOOK

    Charlotte's Web is a great book for both beginning reader's and advanced reader's. It is a great story about true friends and not killing animals for food which i think is a very mean thing to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2006

    Charlotte's Web

    Charlotte's web is one of my favorite books. It teaches many valuable lessons in a fun way, and is a great adventure for anyone. This book shows true friendship and is definitely a classic that you will want to read over, and over again. I would strongly recommend this book to anyone of any age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2006

    Amazing and classic

    As a pig lover I honestly enjoyed this book. I can read it over and over tons of times and never get tired of it. It's an amazing childrens book and great for kids and adults of all ages!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2006

    Find out why Wilbur is a great famous pig!

    I chose this book because it is a famous story about a pig. I knew by the cover of the book that this story was about a little girl who loves animals. This book type is animal fiction and the author is E.B. White. The main characters in this book are Charlotte the spider, Wilbur the pig, and Fern the little girl. Charlotte becomes Wilbur¿s best friend, because he was lonely. She was very nice to him. This book was so exciting. Charlotte figures out a way to save Wilbur¿s life. Wilbur was Fern¿s pig and then her uncle bought him. She still got to visit him a lot though. Fern was so scared that her uncle was going to kill Wilbur and eat him. I liked the book because it was interesting how Charlotte learned to spin her web to save Wilbur¿s life. The book also showed how animals and people become friends. This book gave me a good feeling inside, but also made me sad sometimes. My favorite part of the book is when Charlotte spins into her web ¿Some Pig.¿ I learned that it doesn¿t matter how big or small you are you can make a difference. I think this book is great and can be read by all ages! Everyone should read this book at least once in their life, maybe twice. On a scale of 1 through 5 I would rate this book as a 4 1/2. Do not miss out on this awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    A good book for your library

    Charlotte's Web is a wonderful story about Wilbur the pig and Charlotte the spider. All of the animals told in the story have their own special personalities. The story is about friendships. The writing is easy to understand. I enjoyed reading Charlotte's Web.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2004

    This book is very, very good!

    This book should be sold to almost everyone,'cause it's so good!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2003

    Do you want to read a good book?

    E.B.White's Charlotte's Web is an exiciting and slightly educational book.Charlotte's Web is about a small pig who meets a spider that saves his life by weaving many webs to trick the farm owners.this book has great detials, illustrations and plot.I don't like farms much but this book really entertianed me.I felt that this book was really about friendship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3