Customer Reviews for

Charlotte's Web

Average Rating 4.5
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(148)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Sorry I didn't read this when I was younger

    Charlotte's Web is an amazing book. When I was younger, I never wanted to read it. I have watched the movie and loved it. Now I am homeschooling my daughter and this book popped up for a novel requirement. She was against it at first. But from the very first moment of us reading it together--we were both hooked. I woudl limit it to 2 chapters per day. And after reading those 2 chapters--we both wanted to read more. It was a very hard book to put down. We both loved every minute of it. And i enjoyed reading this book (at the age of 35)--more because I read it with my daughter. We laughed together, we cried together. Imagine me, a 35 year old mother cryong when Charlotte died. This book is truly a wonderful peiece of literature that everyone should read. A true classic. However--now my daughter is begging me for a baby pig. Someday--she will read this to her children and they will hopefully beg her for one also.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a great book for the young reader that needs a challenging book to read.

    This book is great for the young reader to explore the land of imagination. The characters wil come alive and he or she will be captivated for hours. The story is set on a farm. A farmer's pig has a lot of newborns and one is a runt. His daughter Dorothy falls in love iwth the runt, named Wilbur, at first sight. He is treated as a human being by her. When he is too large to remain with Dorothy, he is given to Dorothy's uncle Mr. Zuckerman. After some time Uncle Zuckerman decides to fatten and kill Wilbur. With the aid of a spider named Charlotte and a rat named Tippleton, Wilbur's life is spared until the day he passes away on his own.
    The main characters in the book that will grab and retain a reader's attention is Charlotte the spider, Wilbur the pig, and Tippleton the rat. Charlotte is a carefree, kind, loving, and a true friend. She spells out adjectives to describe Wilbur throughout the story to save his life from being ended by Zuckerman. She instructs Wilbur on how to conduct himself when Zuckerman and other humans are watching him. Wilbur is a pig that learns to talk and is searching for a friend to replace Dorothy. He meets Charlotte and instantly falls in love with her. His life is spared and in return for Charlotte's help in saving his life, he watches over and cares for her three daughters that remain on the farm. The rat Tippleton exemplifies the true meaning of the word rat. He steals whatever he can get his hands on and lies to get himself out of trouble. He cares only for himself at the beginning of the book but gradually over time has a change of heart. This is largely due to the reality that is Wilbur is killed, then he will not be fed anymore. This prompts him to help Charlotte save Wilbur's life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    Charlotte's Web

    This is a great book. I read it as a kid. My daughter likes the story too. We got a copy of the book when we bought the DVD. It's a story about animals growing up and making friends. It does have a sad part in it as one of the main characters dies. It is a great story overall.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    this book was purchased as a gift

    I read this book as a child and remember it being a great story - because of that I purchased the book as a gift for my neice

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    an wonderful classic.

    Charlottes web is a wonderful book. This book is great for everybody. Adults will love reading this book, reading to or with there kids or just kids by there self. Everyone will love it.It has a great story-line. You will not want to put ot down. The book has a lot of emotion. I am not going to let you know anymore. You will have to read it to find out. Thank you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Story of frienships and love

    Charlotte's Web is a wonderufl tale of a young girl, her precious pig Wilbur, and a wonderful spider. The book is a beautiful story of friendship, love, and loyalty. It is a tender story of a lovely young girl and a very smart spider who together instill self esteem and dignity in their friend Wilbur. It truly is a book of life, in that all of the animal characters mirror people in this world who face the challenge of living their lives each day. It reminds me very much of a great series of children's books titled "Why some cats are rascals". In that three-book series the heroic cats also live their lives like humans. Both titles belong to my Top Ten Read-Aloud list.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    3rd Grade Book Reviewers!

    Charlotte¿s Web is a terrific and heart-warming adventure for a little runt who is saved by a girl named Fern. He moves to Mr. Zuckerman¿s farm to be cooked up for Christmas. Then he meets a small spider named Charlotte who saves his life from just a few words woven in her web. I give this story ten stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    When I read the book Charlotte┬┐s Web by:E.B. White i



    When I read the book Charlotte’s Web by:E.B. White i really liked the book. This book would be a fiction novel . My favorite part was when Charlotte wrote the words in the web. The book is mostly about friendship, life, death, and trust. i would recommend this book to parents and teachers of young children. Charlotte’s web has won a newberry honor award. This a fictional story about a pig a spider and a little girl name Fern. Fern wakes up and sees her papa going outside to the pig house she asked her mom what he was doing and she said some pigs were born last night. There is a spider at her uncles barn and her name is Charlotte. Wilbur the pig and Charlotte become best friends. There is some unexpected things that happen to Wilbur. The Zuckerman’s And Arable’s load up to go to the state fair and enter Wilbur in the pig contest. Fern meets this boy named Henry the go on the farisweel together. The setting for Charlotte’s Web is at the fair and at Fern’s Uncle’s farm. the main character’s are Wilbur, Fern, Henry, Avery, Mr.Arable, Mrs.Arable, Mrs.Zuckerman, Mr.Zuckerman. The theme for this book would be to never give up on something and friends can come from strange places and you can always find a way to do something. I think that overall that Charlotte’s Web is a great book and I would recommend this book to all ages. some main points would be when she wrote in the web and when they went to the fair. I would recommend this book to all ages. I really liked this book and i will probably read it to my kids.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    love this book

    i love this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Some book

    I read this book the summer before 5th grade. I had my mother send down books to me where I was staying with family in South Carolina, but not Charlotte¿s Web. In fact, I was hesitant to read it. But Charlotte¿s Web was truly enjoyable, even for a ten-year old. The story is about a pig named Wilbur, saved from death by the farmer¿s daughter Fern, who is eventually transferred to a new farm. There, he meets the brilliant spider Charlotte who becomes his friend and hero, keeping him from being turned into bacon by praising him in a web. The story involves serious and comic topics. I recommend anyone looking for a funny, medium-sized read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    unforgetable novel...

    i remember reading this book when i was more younger it was so good. the very first two chapters i read, i got attached . i jst could'nt put the book down. i woul rate this book a ten out of ten and i would definitly read the book again when ever i get the chance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Talk about interactive read alouds!!

    Charlotte's web is a wonderful book perfect for children and adults, which expresses love, courage, and friendship to the reader. The book is beautifully illustrated throughout the entire reading which helps any reader to truly be a part of the story.

    Charlotte's Web is about a young girl named Fern and her triumphal helpfulness of saving a pig in which her father was about to kill due to it being a runt. Fern takes care of the pig and names him Wilber, and she sits on a stool in Mr. Zuckerman's barn for many days just watching and listening to the noises of the barn. Wilber makes friends with a spider who calls herself Charlotte. Charlotte tries to save Wilber's life by doing all she can as a spider.

    As an elementary teacher I find this book to be a fantastic read aloud. Students always want to hear more about what is going to happen. The story does end on a happy note which is good for young readers, or listeners. If you decide to read this book for a read aloud, you might want to try some summarizing strategies. I like to give my students 3 post-it sticky notes and have them jot down notes on two sticky notes during the read aloud and return to their desks and write a complete sentence explaining either what was read, what they are thinking about, or what they think might happen next. Then I receive 1 sticky note from each and I can quickly read where they are with their comprehension. I use this in the second grade classroom, and it is great for them, and depending on how you set it up, you could probably use it for higher grade levels too for their responsibility of paying attention.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    The book about a spider and a pig

    The book Charlottes Web is a book that I would recommend people to read. It is a great book about animals, and it has many details. It is funny how they put the pig as the main character though. Wilbur is going to be killed if someone does not help him. Is Charlotte's idea going to help him? I really hope you like the story too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    Check this book out!

    A classic tale with a heart-warming story. It is one of my favorite books-many know this story very well. Defintely one of E.B. White's best!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    Great Book, Got to Read!!

    Introduction
    Charlotte's Web is a very interesting book. This book is loved by many. It's for any age of any gender. Basically it's an all time American classic.

    Description and summary of main points
    This book is about a girl and her family living on a farm. Her name is Fern Able. Her family and her self live on a farm. One late night she heard something. She looked out the window and saw her father walking over to the barn with an axe in his hand. She immediately hurried up and gathered her boots and rain jacket and she ran over to the barn as fast as possible. She asked her dad what he was doing with the axe. He replied and said a baby pig needed killed because he was the runt. The moment she heard those come out of his mouth she tugged and struggled trying to get the axe out of his hand. She saved that little baby pig that night. She named him Wilbur and he soon became a very popular pig in town.

    He soon became a very important pig all thanks to Charlotte. She wanted to keep Wilbur alive so that he wouldn't be sent to the smoke house. One day she made her web like usual and put a very special word in it. Every one in town came to see everyday what unusual word would be above his pin. They entered him in the town fair since everyone loved him.

    Evaluation
    I thought this was a wonderful book. It includes real things people have to go threw. There are happy times but then there are sad times. This book was fairly well written and just something everyone loves. I recommend it to anyone of any gender or age.

    Conclusion
    Charlotte's Web, is just an all time American Classic. Many people love this book. Its for anyone old or young boy or girl. To be honest while reading this book it made me realize things throughout my life. Read it you won't regret it.

    Your final review
    Like I said Charlotte's Web is a book for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Still a classic and a wonderful book

    This is a wonderful book about friendship, trust, love, loss and rebirth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2015

    My Thoughts: I chose to reread Charlotte's Web for Banned Books

    My Thoughts:

    I chose to reread Charlotte's Web for Banned Books Week this year mostly because I haven't read it in probably more than 15 years. I did read it numerous times growing up, so I remembered a lot of it. What I took away this time around was probably more than I ever took away back then though. Most of you already know the story, so I won't go into that. What I will talk about is how the book made me feel.

    One of those things was Fern. She was loving and caring and full of life. She knew what was going on with the animals and she talked about it all the time. There was something extra special about her. I think what got to me was how much she just enjoyed the simple pleasures in life. Sitting on the stool by Wilbur's pen, taking in the sights and sounds. How many of us get to do that anymore? How many of us wish we could do that right now?

    Of course, there was also Charlotte. Wonderful and amazing Charlotte. Her outlook on life and her wisdom are amazing. The way she and Wilbur interacted touched my heart. Wilbur learned a lot about life from Charlotte, and in the end he became the terrific pig she always knew he could be. The absolute best thing about their friendship can be summed up in this conversation between the two of them:

    "Why did you do all this for me?" he asked. "I don't deserve it. I've never done anything for you."

    "You have been my friend," replied Charlotte. "That in itself is a tremendous thing."

    That quote... typing it out is bringing the tears to my eyes. It's such a beautiful quote.

    Reading Charlotte's Web by E.B. White again brought back so many memories and caused me to have a brighter outlook on life. Friends are important, helping each other is important, enjoying the simple things in life is important. If you haven't read this one since you were a kid, I strongly recommend that you read it again sometime. It will warm your heart just as it did before. I am certainly glad I took the time to.

    My Rating: Exceptional

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2014

    I read this book for my 3rd grade book report and I liked it a l

    I read this book for my 3rd grade book report and I liked it a lot. There once was a pig named Wilbur who got saved by a girl. Wilbur was raised on a farm. There, he met a spider named Charlotte. Charlotte and Wilbur became good friends. Three of Charlotte's children also become friends with Wilbur. I think people should read this book because it teaches about friendship and feelings. As I was reading I felt like I wanted to be friends with Charlotte because she helps her friends (like Wilbur). The one thing I didn't like was that Wilbur was whining and crying a lot during the story. Overall, this book is awesome because it has a lot of friendships, is interesting, and is very well-written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2014

    Read this to a 2/ 3 grade split class, with worksheets and activ

    Read this to a 2/ 3 grade split class, with worksheets and activities incorporated into the lessons. 
    Wilber is a runt pig who is saved from slaughter by Fern, a young farm girl. Fern raises Wilber for the summer, but when fall comes he must either be sold for slaughter or sold period. Wilber goes to Fern's Uncles house. Fern's Uncle Mr Zuckerman believes he has purchased a great bacon pig. He begins to feed and care for the pig. What he does not know is the miracle that the pig will bring to his farm, his family and his community.
    This story highlights friendship, sacrifice and the creative mind. It is a story to share with all children in an attempt to teach them to accept others, appreciate the things they do, and find love where you never expect it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2014

    Title: Charlotte's Web Author: E. B. White P

    Title: Charlotte's Web
    Author: E. B. White
    Publisher: Penguins Books UK
    Published: 7-3-2014
    ISBN: 13-1-9780141354828
    Pages: 184
    Genre: Children's Fiction
    Tags: Classics, Animals, Friendships
    Overall Rating: Excellent
    Reviewed For: NetGalley
    Reviewer: DelAnne


    Charlotte's Web is the story of a little girl, Fern, who saves a new born pig, Wilbur, about to die all because he is the runt of the litter. Later when Wilbur grows big enough Fern's father sends Wilbur off. When the new owner later decides to kill Wilbur, he begs the other farm animals to help him. Only a spider was able to come up with an idea. An idea that does more than just save Wilbur's life, it makes him famous.


    For those who have never read Charlotte's Web you are in for a treat. Charlotte's web is an endearing story that has withstood the test of time. If you have read it before there are a few new items included in this Special Edition. Garth William's illustrations reflect the story beautifully. Take the time to renew your acquaintance with an old friend or make a new one. You will also enjoy the short interview with the author and as well as all the interesting little facts, most never published before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8