Customer Reviews for

The Charm School

Average Rating 4.5
( 145 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Favorite book ever in this genre!

    I read this book many years ago - twice. I never read a book twice. And recently I ordered the mp3 version and I am listening to it on my daily walks. And I must point out that I also am not a fan of audio books but here I am...
    A suggestion for another book to readers who loved this; Gorky Park by Martin Cruz Smith. Not as good as this one, but pretty close (I'd give GP four stars) , and if you're sad to be at the end of Charm School and the fasination you may have with Cold War Russia, then I think you'll be grateful for the suggestion.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2003

    one of Demille's Best

    This is by far one of the best books demille has written. Excellent choice for teens, and adults trying to get back into reading. Moves quickly, and is very enjoyable. Wish it could be made into a movie.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2002

    I too am a big fan

    I dont know what to say. this book was amazing. from the opening page, Mr. Demille sucks you right into the book. yeah this book was long, however it was well worth it. at times i would forget where i was i was so into it. so far Nelson Demille has not let me down. I highly recommend this book. it might keep you up at nights bc you want to know wat happens next. get ready for the fast pace and intensity. i gurantee you'll enjoy this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Highly Recommended--entertaining and believable.

    Loved this book! I couldn't put it down. Great characters and plot. Go for it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    This is an awesome read, especially if you are into espionage. This book is very well written and intriguing. It kept me coming back for me, and I could barely put it down. It is now most positively on my favorite book listing. I tell all my friends about it.

    Don't miss out..you gotta read this one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    This was one of the best cold war books I've ever read. The sto

    This was one of the best cold war books I've ever read. The story line draws you in from the very first page. .Very engaging and believable. A must read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Maybe the best ever!

    In my top 3 all time spy novels. US govt actually explored the possibility of the core of this plot following cold war. Characters are great and dialogue hilarious at at times, a welcome break from the tensions and spreads like kudzu over the last half of the book. Reread it recently which i never do,

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    I read this book many years ago along with all Mr. DeMilles book

    I read this book many years ago along with all Mr. DeMilles books......This is my first review only because I am so unhappy that the
    the TV program THE AMERICANS HAS stolen the plot
    from this book and not given Mr. Demille any credit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Highly recommend.

    Very good story. Also read him Plum Island, which also was good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Anonymous

    This is my favorite Nelson DeMille book. I couldn't put it down. A must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    One of the best spy novels ever written

    This is one of the best spy novels I've come across. The book starts fast and never lets up. I couldn't put it down. If you like spy novels, you'll love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Very good book, makes one think.

    DeMille is my very favorite author and while some of his books are better than others, most all of his books can capture your imagination with HIS imagination. His smartass type alpha characters equate to immeasurable reading enjoyment for hours on end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Very Good Book

    Was one that I could not put down. If you love military mystery, this is definite must read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Absolute must read!

    I have recently started to read Nelson DeMille and I truely feel like it was one of the best decisions of my life. Each Nelson DeMille books takes off immediately with an interesting plot, lovable-hateable characters and amazing realism.
    The Charm School is a fantastic journey into Russia during the Cold War through an American POV. Something that has been attempted before but never has successfully. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in the Cold War, Russia or a really good book that they won't be able to put down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Excellent book. I also recommend the Talbot Oddysey(?) as well

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Today's Fact

    Twenty one years ago Nelson DeMille wrote The Charm School which was about a Soviet Union infiltration into our society. With the recent spy capture it made it into today's reality. A must read and is Nelson DeMille considering a sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    Fantastic!

    I absolutely would recommend this novel to anyone. Right from the start I was hooked on this engaging thriller. One of the most evil villians I've ever encountered resides within these pages! This book is Demille's tour de force, to be sure; I've recommended it to several people (including my husband, who is not much into fiction) and they've all loved it. This book is a winner from the first page to the last! I was sorry to see it end! Sadly, I didn't get into Demille's other novels. You might also enjoy: the novels of Ken Follet, Ian Fleming's James Bond series, and Lee Child's Jack Reacher series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    Awesome DeMille!!

    Great read, couldn't put it down! Even though it was written before the demise of the Soviet Union and is therefore dated in some ways, still very riveting. Action and knowledgeable details simply amazing. Pick this one up today!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    fantastic

    great

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2008

    A reviewer

    I couldn't put this book down! It is one of those books that keeps you up way beyond your bedtime!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5