Customer Reviews for

The Charm School (Calhoun Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    Loved it

    What a heartwarming story! The characters are very real and I fell in love with Ryan right away. Everyone has a little of Isadora in them and it is so easy to connect and relate with her. I loved the chemistry between them. A great love story overall and it will definitely go into my permanent collection!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very good read

    I really liked this book. I usualy do not read romantic novels but after reading this book I wated to read all of the Calhourn Trilogy. So far I read the Horsmans daughter also.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Read Before the Reprint and Absolutely Loved it!!!!!!!

    I orignally read this book back in the beginning of 2008 and just fell for the Calhoun Series. Isadore is one the most rememorable characters that I've read about. The Silver Swan Crew are unforgetable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best books i have ever read.

    The characters are so easy to fall in love with. The plot was original. And I will defedintaly be reading more of Susan Wiggs books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    LOVE LOVE LOVED IT

    I absolutely loved this book from beginning to end! I totally identified with the character and was so happy to follow her transformation from an "ugly ducking" to a "swan". When the author describes Isadora's hell she's been living in you feel the pain and I wanted to stand up for her! I totally want to go to Rio now!! Buy this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Wonderful!!

    I loved this book! I fell in love with the characters and didn't want the story to end. It is a wonderfully sweet and heart-warming romance. Definitely a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An extremely charming book

    This was unlike any of the romance novels I've read. The emotional connection between Ryan and Isadora was well-developed and believable, but what blew me away was the attention to detail and setting. From the decks of a merchant ship to a waterfall in the jungles of Brazil to the domesticated houses of Beacon Hill, I was able to buy into every detail without missing a beat. With such a richly drawn backdrop, how could these two misfit souls fail to find true love and conquer the evils of slavery? I would recommend this funny and poignant book to anybody!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Awesome book!

    I could not put this book down, I took my whole day off work and sat down and read this entire book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    you must read this book!!!!!!

    oh i just loved this book i hated to see it end...can you please make a sequil,i know it said u were about ryans brother but i really would like to read more on them ,,,, i couldnt put it down... hahahah i read it in 1 day i so wish it was longer .... but it truly was one of the best books ive read in a very long time :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    amazing

    this book blew me away i couldnt put it down i loooved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    amazing!!

    this novel is by far one of my all time favorites. i can read it over and over and it still feels as if i am reading it for the first time. it captures a romantic's soul in more ways than one. you will laugh, you will feel outrage and suspense, and be drawn in to the charactes. two thumbs up and five incredible stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2007

    Charmingly great!!!

    I loved this book a lot. The way the author used the ugly duckingly story to tie in with the real story was magnificent. When Ryan comes back for her it is so cute. I can't believe she punched her old crush. Well a better stop before I tell you the whole story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2005

    BEST BOOK EVER PENNED

    This magnificently written book is a cherioused keepsake to me. I've REREAD this book numerous times, each of which I am equally enraptured. I plan to be a writer someday soon and when that day comes I hope that I can compare, even in the slightest bit to this awe-worthy novel. Isadora is a sweet, intelligent, passionate woman. Ryan is a raw lusty man, who undoubtly could sweep any woman of any age off her feet. I refuse to dishonor Wiggs by calling Isadora and Ryan character, because she had made then more than that in this wonderfully dreamed fabrication. I bow to her in awe and the deepest admiration my body can hold, though the task of containing the ever expanding amazing can be quite the task. A true master at her skill, I give Wiggs INFINITE stars on this wonderous acheivement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2005

    Feel Good!

    This is a favorite of mine, a real keeper. If there wasn't a very passionate scene in it I'd have my 12 year old read it! What a great self-esteem builder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2003

    Wonderful Story!

    This was the first romance story i chose to read. I don't know why but my friend had told me all about it. She told me of the summary to this story and it had intrested me so i had decided to ask her to let me borrow it. I myself am large and am a outcast like Isadora always hiding, but i love reading how she changed among the voyage on the ship. I sometimes sit around thinking about the story as if it were I...me being Isadora. I loved the story so much i went out and bought it for my self. What made me love the story the most i would say was how you placed the setting for the first time they made love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2000

    Delightful and Entertaining

    The Charm School is truly a delightful book. I confess to feeling sorry I had to leave Captain Ryan Calhoun and the exotic warmth of Rio behind when I finished. The attention to details, such as the popular music of the time, the clothing, seafaring expressions and knowledge, the laws regarding runaway slaves, and the smoking of hemp in the 1800s, makes it apparent that Ms. Wiggs did a great deal of research for her novel. Further, the integration of Isadora's story with that of The Ugly Duckling is both clever and charming. Ms. Wigg's elevating her novels in this fashion is greatly appreciated by this reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2