Customer Reviews for

Charmed Knits: Projects for Fans of Harry Potter

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2007

    I love this book!

    I'm an avid crocheter and a beginner knitter. I poured over it for a couple of days after I got it. I've read it from cover to cover numerous times. I really liked this book because I would never have thought to make an Errol/Hedwig from knitting. How cute is that?! The Wand Cozies are the next big thing for dress up play! I wish I could have had a light saber cozy when I was little!! While you may be able to find other patterns elsewhere similar to the ones featured in Charmed Knits, they are packaged into one place and beautifully printed here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a great book for both beginning and experienced knitters

    I love this book! Like all Harry Potter fans, I'm entranced by anything Potter, and this does not disappoint. The layout is colorful and inspiring, the projects are easy to read and fun, and the difficulty rating system for "First Years" thru "N.e.w.t." (nasty exhausting wizarding test) are cute and very helpful. This book is one that you will not be sorry you bought - and a must for Potter fans, like me.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2008

    And your knitting needles will be turned into wands

    I was able to flip through this book in the store and put it down. Then I saw it again and looked at it again. I thought, nothing new that I couldn't get another book for. Then I saw it a third time and I just couldn't resist any longer! This book remains true to the series and offers lots of different patterns for both the beginning and the intermediate knitter. The more experianced knitters who think they know it all may find this book a rushed peice of paper just put out there to compete with the Potter fad. I find the designs elegant and fun. It does take some time to explain how to crochet since it does have some crocheting in there too but I have found that if you knit and try to learn how to crochet, you will have very little difficulty. (knitting is more difficult, by the way!) So, if you want to make some Potter inspired knits for you and your friends, go for it. You will be glad that you did before you grew to 'old' to appreciate your fun-loving Potter fan heart.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2007

    disappointing

    As the other reviewer stated, nothing new here or particlularly inventive or original and the Molly Weasley sweater is downright embarrassing- how the editors let it in with the obvious errors in the sleeve caps (rather lack of sleeve cap)is beyond me. Particularly disappointing was that I felt is was a cobbled together effort to capitalize on the present popularity of Harry Potter and knitting. Here was such an opportuity to have fun with a wonderful subject that lends itself so beautifully to the knitting, it is a shame this turned into yet another mediocre knitting book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2007

    average

    As a both an avid knitter and harry potter fan, I was initially excited to see this book. However, the most of the patterns inside are really nothing new. Many of the patterns are 'traditional' in that you can get instructions on how to make a sweater, a scarf, a shawl and even an owl in countless other books and knitting websites. What this book does offer is some good leads on yarn colors that match Gryffindor's 'or whichever house you were sorted into' colors most exactly. The novelty of having patterns rated 'OWL' or 'NEWT' wears off quickly and then you're left with the same old patterns tied in to your favorite magical series. If you're a Harry Potter fan that is new to knitting 'in that you don't have many other pattern books' and aren't up to doing some simple design work on your own, this book would be good for you. For anyone else, it's same-old.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It's cute

    This is an adorable book of patterns that anyone who enjoyed Harry Potter would at least get a smile out of. Most of the patterns are basic and most competent knitters could probably make most of this using patterns available free on the internet or with a bit of imagination. The thing I found most disappointing, though, was the size ranges in some of the patterns. Harry Potter was an age spanning series. From elementary schoolers to retired baby boomers, everyone could find something to love about the books. I was really hoping for that to be acknowledged in the patterns as well. I mean, c'mon wizard robes aren't just for little kids!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Harry Potter Fans will love this book!

    This book is full of patterns for many of the items seen in the Harry Potter films. I find them charming, easy to follow and just what I was looking for. Each pattern has a short description of the item, where it was seen and who it was worn/used by.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2008

    Disapointing

    I found the book full of patterns that have been done better elsewhere. I bought it especialy for one of the patterns and was disapointed in it. The exicution leaves you with a lumpy bumpy sweater. (even the example shown in the book is lumpy and ill fitted) The patterns are difficult to understand. But do buy it if you are interested in basic patterns in a habdy collection.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2008

    Charmed Knits not quite as charming...

    I found an Allison Hansel pattern online for free (published with author's permission.) I was so excited about it, that I decided to purchase the book. After reading it, I found a few fun ideas, but for the most part was disappointed after spending the money on the book. I would suggest flipping through it to see if there is a pattern in it that you really want before forking out the dough.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1