Customer Reviews for

A Charmed Place

Average Rating 4
( 534 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(214)

4 Star

(165)

3 Star

(90)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

77 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

Loved this story. One thing you can count on with this author, s

Loved this story. One thing you can count on with this author, she always delivers a truly satisfying read. I loved the hero, Dan Hawke, and who wouldn't? His love for Maddie has remained steadfast for twenty years. She has married, he hasn't. But she's divorced no...
Loved this story. One thing you can count on with this author, she always delivers a truly satisfying read. I loved the hero, Dan Hawke, and who wouldn't? His love for Maddie has remained steadfast for twenty years. She has married, he hasn't. But she's divorced now, with a rebellious teenage daughter on her hands. When Dan returns to the Cape Cod town where he and Maddie first fell in love, it would seem to be easy sailing. But there are serious and believable complications that get in the way. All the characters in this novel are fully drawn and the coastal setting is wonderful. I want to live there!

posted by AvidGardner on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

I was prepared to enjoy this book. I mean, beautiful cover, grea

I was prepared to enjoy this book. I mean, beautiful cover, great reviews...but when the very FIRST line involved S&M? Forget it. I am deleting this book from my nook library, even tho I purchased it.

posted by EEKmystery on March 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 534 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Loved this story. One thing you can count on with this author, s

    Loved this story. One thing you can count on with this author, she always delivers a truly satisfying read. I loved the hero, Dan Hawke, and who wouldn't? His love for Maddie has remained steadfast for twenty years. She has married, he hasn't. But she's divorced now, with a rebellious teenage daughter on her hands. When Dan returns to the Cape Cod town where he and Maddie first fell in love, it would seem to be easy sailing. But there are serious and believable complications that get in the way. All the characters in this novel are fully drawn and the coastal setting is wonderful. I want to live there!

    77 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    This is an easy read love story with suspense, mystery, and a gr

    This is an easy read love story with suspense, mystery, and a great ending. There are just a COUPLE of words used in sexual situations that I felt were "distasteful", but most others were carefully worded. (Don't get me wrong... I like to read romance. I just don't like crude language used in romantic situations.) Overall this was a great book. I purchased this book on my Nook, because it was only $.99. I didn't expect not to be able to put it down. I was never a reader until I picked up the Twilight series 3 years ago. Since then I have read over 30 books.

    46 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Yes, I highly recommend "A Charmed Place"!

    Having just gotten my NOOK for my 70th birthday I stumbled upon "A Charmed Place"! I found the review quite informative (I live in Massachussets and all the towns and sites were very familiar to me!) and was excited about getting an instant book to read! As I began reading, I was amazed that I could NOT put the book down and kept reading until wee hours of the morning! Now, that I have finished the book, I feel a void in my life!! Honest! Antoinette Stockenberg's characters come alive and deal with everyday happenings: happy and sad! I am looking forward to purchasing another book by this author!! Thank you, Barnes and Noble for the NOOK!

    36 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Great

    Enjoyed this novel all 1000 pages.

    30 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Good storyline!

    Good story but would have been better without the explicit sexual scenes which really added nothing to the story.

    25 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    Loved it, good plot, I hate when I have the plot figured out in

    Loved it, good plot, I hate when I have the plot figured out in the first few pages, this one delivered. As far as the S&M in the first line, get over it, there is no S&M in this book so don't be afraid to enjoy reading it. The reviewer referred to a casual opening comment "He'd look perfect tied to my bedposts." and that is it.
    I don't think the sex scenes, which were brief to read, really added to the story. The final scene has so much romance in it, all without sex. I really love the high romance without emo and explicit sex. This author can do it! Don't sell out and keep up the great writing. I will read more by Ms. Stockenberg.

    23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Highly recommend! Kept me reading late into the night. Great

    Highly recommend!

    Kept me reading late into the night. Great love story, with a mystery that kept me turning the pages.

    16 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    GREAT READ!

    This is the first book I've read by this author, and it was fantastic. I will be reading all of her books! I quickly got into the storyline and kept reading and reading, but I was so disappointed when it was finished. It's really a "make you feel good" book and you just want to keep on reading about the characters and their lives. Even though there are family up's and down's, it still has a wonderfully romantic happiness involving the 2 main characters. Every romantic novel I've read that is set in Cape Cod is absolutely wonderful. I keep telling my husband, one of these days, we are going to visit Cape Cod!

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    I was prepared to enjoy this book. I mean, beautiful cover, grea

    I was prepared to enjoy this book. I mean, beautiful cover, great reviews...but when the very FIRST line involved S&M? Forget it. I am deleting this book from my nook library, even tho I purchased it.

    13 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Ok

    I liked how long it was (hate finishing a book in a day) and it definitely kept my interest but overall, pretty cliche-y

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Very Good Read ! This is the first book I read by this author. I

    Very Good Read !
    This is the first book I read by this author. I was looking for some new books (and authors) to read and found this. Once I started reading the story I couldn't put it down. I enjoyed all the characters. I will definitly be reading more of her books.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    A Charmed Place

    A very nice romance between two adults - she a widow with a child, he a news correspondent having travel the world. Add a vacation summer home and a lighthouse, a young teenage daughter, and a past romantic relationship when they were young. I'm not usually a fan of romance, but this one is good.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Hated this book.

    I stuck with it for a couple of hundred pages thinking it had to get better, but it never did. I don't understand why this writer gets such great reviews. The writing is unbelievably cliche-ridden, the plot is predictable, all the characters are painful stereotypes (the noble heroine, the rugged hero, the sullen teen-ager, the despicable ex-husband, the nosy neighbor, the sexy best friend...) And why 1000-plus pages?! I had to give it one star because zero or minus stars aren't an option.

    9 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    April 9, 2012

    I truely enjoyed reading this book, so much that I read in about six hours. I was unable to put it down. It's a romance; a really good mystery and you're guessing to the end. I will read more by this author. Five stars because it has everything, murder, romance, mystery.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    Fun spring break reading.

    I am glad I found this series. It is a fun light read and escape for the lighter seasons of the the year. I have just ordered the third in the series. It fills the needs of the light hearted side of your personality and season. Read it, you'll like it!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    I loved this book...could not put it down until the end. The st

    I loved this book...could not put it down until the end. The story proceeds at a good pace, and the characters develop beautifully. I am so happy to have found a new author to love and read, and I'm excited about reading more of her books.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Great beach book

    I lent this book from my mother in law. This is not the normal book I would have read but I was sucked in immediately. It was a very easy 1000 pages. The most easy and quickest. This book remindes me of a great book for summer. A must read

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Could not put down

    A friend loaned this book to me and i was afraid I would not finish it in 2 weeks... its over 1,000 pages. I finishedit in 4 days. Could not put it down!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Easy, quick read. A predictable outcome, but fun characters and

    Easy, quick read. A predictable outcome, but fun characters and interactions on the way to the obvious conclusion.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting Read

    I thought this was going to be a romantic charmed type book, the type I usually love. But I was surprised with this one. It was extremely long, but I got through it. I enjoyed most of it, but I usually like shorter books. Interesting characters and realistic dialogue. It is worth the read on nook for sure.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 534 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27