Customer Reviews for

A Charmed Place

Average Rating 4
( 542 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(217)

4 Star

(168)

3 Star

(91)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

77 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

Loved this story. One thing you can count on with this author, s

Loved this story. One thing you can count on with this author, she always delivers a truly satisfying read. I loved the hero, Dan Hawke, and who wouldn't? His love for Maddie has remained steadfast for twenty years. She has married, he hasn't. But she's divorced no...
Loved this story. One thing you can count on with this author, she always delivers a truly satisfying read. I loved the hero, Dan Hawke, and who wouldn't? His love for Maddie has remained steadfast for twenty years. She has married, he hasn't. But she's divorced now, with a rebellious teenage daughter on her hands. When Dan returns to the Cape Cod town where he and Maddie first fell in love, it would seem to be easy sailing. But there are serious and believable complications that get in the way. All the characters in this novel are fully drawn and the coastal setting is wonderful. I want to live there!

posted by AvidGardner on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

I was prepared to enjoy this book. I mean, beautiful cover, grea

I was prepared to enjoy this book. I mean, beautiful cover, great reviews...but when the very FIRST line involved S&M? Forget it. I am deleting this book from my nook library, even tho I purchased it.

posted by EEKmystery on March 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    I was prepared to enjoy this book. I mean, beautiful cover, grea

    I was prepared to enjoy this book. I mean, beautiful cover, great reviews...but when the very FIRST line involved S&M? Forget it. I am deleting this book from my nook library, even tho I purchased it.

    13 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Hated this book.

    I stuck with it for a couple of hundred pages thinking it had to get better, but it never did. I don't understand why this writer gets such great reviews. The writing is unbelievably cliche-ridden, the plot is predictable, all the characters are painful stereotypes (the noble heroine, the rugged hero, the sullen teen-ager, the despicable ex-husband, the nosy neighbor, the sexy best friend...) And why 1000-plus pages?! I had to give it one star because zero or minus stars aren't an option.

    9 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    Can not put the book down.

    Antoinette Stockenberg really captures the reader. When I began to read the book it is hard to put down. Love it and will check out other books she has written. Nice light reading but you can feel for Maddie and Hawke.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Colt

    Hey

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    Relaxing read

    This is certainly not "deep reading", but it you need something light and relaxing, it's a fun book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Not so great

    The story was very predictable -just a romance novel-nothing special.]
    I did not really care for it

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Repetitive scenes and dialogue. Could have been told in 50 page

    Repetitive scenes and dialogue. Could have been told in 50 pages.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Too much going on

    I tried to read this but after 200-some pages just gave up. There were just too many different things going on...save the lighthouse, who is the mysterious man and what is the big history with him and one woman, the ex-husband and his psychic abilities, the unsolved murder of the father and lets not forget the belligerent teenage daughter. Its like the author had a whole soap opera going on in her head. Leave it for TV! Pick one story line and developthat.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    What is it about.

    What

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    difficult to read

    I can't seem to finish this book. It just does not keep me interested. The heroine is silly, self flagellating, and drapes herself in guilt. As if.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Sappy and predictable

    There are srrange references in the way each character speaks that let the reader know this author is untrue to the time frame of the novel and its characters. Teens don't say "uncool"; 40somethings don't wear Keds.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Boring

    Very unremarkable and boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    BORING

    Tried to read it but just could't - went back to it three times. Just could not care about the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Slow & painful

    Very slow moving. Poor writing. Could not connect with the characters. This could have been a great rommance but was not. Alot of rambling. First novel i read of hers and will not be reading again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Ok.....

    It was ok....

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Not worth the money!

    I read the whole book, but it wasn't one that I really enjoyed. The story could have been good, but it only ever skimmed the surface. Not realistic!!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2