Customer Reviews for

Charmed and Dangerous

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Charmed and Dangerous = Bobbie Faye's Very Very Very Bad Day

    Careful - think is this is a new Bobbie Faye Adventure? Actually it is a retitle and recover of the first Bobbie Faye Adventure - "Bobbie Faye's Very, Very, Very, Very Bad Day". Don't get me wrong - I love the Bobbie Faye books - in fact I thought this was a new adventure. When I received it I was very disappointed to find out that it is a reprint of Bobbie Faye's first adventure. If you have not read Very Bad Day - then buy this book! It is a great action adventure book with hot FBI agents and Hot cops, all trying to keep up with Bobbie Faye and her Bad Day - so fast moving and exciting you won't want to put it down! Then pick up her next book - Bobbie Faye's Family Jewels - oh wait they reprinted that with a new cover and new title too...Girls Just Want to Have Guns...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Non-stop action from start to finish

    Toni McGee Causey's first Bobbie Faye book, Charmed and Dangerous, is a non-stop, action-packed ride from start to finish. Bobbie Faye wakes up to find her trailer is about to implode, and her day goes downhill from there. As Bobbie Faye is accused of robbing a bank, carjacking & kidnapping, and a host of other crimes, you start to feel sorry for the poor girl, and even sorrier for those who are caught in her trajectory. You won't be sorry if you buy this book - I liked it so much I went out and bought the second book in the Bobbie Faye series, Girls Just Wanna Have Fun, while I was halfway through this one. If I had known there was a third book I would've bought that too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    Love Bobbie Faye and can't wait for the third installment

    Pure fun and escapeism. It is a fun easy romp and reads quickly and with a great wit and style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Contraband Days Queen Meets Murphy's Law

    In this first (and renamed/recovered) book of the Bobby Faye Sumrall legacy, we are introduced to the woman who gave Murphy ideas (and probably wet dreams). Bobby Faye is a walking, talking example of Murphy's Law in glorious and hysterical technicolor. Toni McGee Causey has given us a character to love and root for, especially since she is having a very, very, very, VERY bad day. I do NOT want to be Bobbie Faye when I grow up. That said, I would be her new BFF just so I could stand on the sidewalk and watch her zany parade of a life amble by...or careen out of control, as the case may be.

    Bobbie Faye believes in one thing: Family. With a capital F. And she'll do whatever it takes to preserve hers. Even if it means inadvertantly robbing a bank, or crashing a gorgeous hunk's truck into the bayou, or giving up the one family heirloom and tradition she has left. If you are a friend of Bobbie Faye's, you can't help but be drawn into the craziness. Heck, even if you've never met her, you can become "collateral damage" in the blink of an eye.

    One of the funniest things about this book was the "interview quotes" from various people whose lives have intersected Bobbie Faye's. For example, at the opening of Chapter One:

    You know how some people are born to Greatness? Well, Bobbie
    Faye Sumrall woke up one morning, kicked Greatness in the teeth,
    kneed it in the balls, took it hostage, and it's been begging
    for mercy ever since.

    --a former Louisiana mayor after Bobbie Fage accidentally
    ran her car into his office, knocking pages of fraud evidence
    into the street, which helped land him in Federal prison.

    They get even better. I was gigglesnorting so hard at the beginning of each chapter that my whole family is standing in line to read it. Even though the book is uproariously funny, there is still a touch of tenderness and sympathy. You can't help feeling compassion for Bobbie Faye and you can't help but root her on to victory. This book could easily have become slapstick and/or a parody. In the author's deft hands, it simply becomes a rollicking good read! This book stays on the keeper shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A zany jocular regional thriller

    In Lake Charles, Louisiana, twenty-eight years old Bobbie Faye Sumrall expects a relatively calm day while looking forward to wearing her family heirloom a tiara at the Contraband Days festival. However, her hope for being laid back is drenched very early when her defective washing machine sends a tidal wave throughout the trailer she shares with her five-year-old niece Stacey. The youngster sums up the opening disaster by thanking her aunt for placing a swimming pool inside their home

    That proves to be the most positive moment of the day as flooding is easy to deal with than her scoundrel brother Roy of catfish and BS slinging fame. He has been abducted and the kidnappers demand as ransom the tiara her late mom left her. Bobby Faye works on rescuing her sibling while not giving away her only valuable asset; her brother is not of equal value. However, at the bank thugs rob the tiara from Bobby Faye, who forces Trevor the trucker to pursue them at the same time her former boyfriend, police officer Cameron has another mental cardiac arrest knowing Bobbie Faye's chasing some armed and dangerous hoods; he fears what she will do to them when she tackles them.

    This zany jocular regional thriller is fast-paced from the opening trailer turned swimming pool scene to the confrontation over the tiara and to a lesser degree her scoundrel sibling; the action is top rate even with tons of amusing situations. Fans will laugh loudly at the antics of the heroine as she once again proves she is CHARMED AND DANGEROUS while robbing the bank, hijacking a truck, and chasing thieves. In Sumrall, just another wacko Bobbie Faye day (see GIRLS JUST WANNA HAVE GUNS) as she affirms Murphy is a foolish California optimist

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    Great fun!

    I love Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum novels, and wanted something similar. I love how fun this story was and how this one woman is a disaster you can't help but be drawn too. I look forward to the next books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1