Customer Reviews for

The Charmer

Average Rating 4
( 563 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(261)

4 Star

(176)

3 Star

(79)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Long book ~ but enjoyable

I was not expecting to enjoy this book as much as I did... There were times when the plot twists had me a little confused, but got back on track rather quickly. If you enjoy an "other worldly" genre, you will enjoy this book. Some sex & some violence; but not overly gra...
I was not expecting to enjoy this book as much as I did... There were times when the plot twists had me a little confused, but got back on track rather quickly. If you enjoy an "other worldly" genre, you will enjoy this book. Some sex & some violence; but not overly graphic. All in all a good story line. I had a few unanswered questions; but the book is definitely worth reading...

posted by SapphireAngel on February 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Be Ware - This is One of 6 in a Series

I read the reviews before buying this, and would agree all 722 pages held my attention. What I did not know when I started reading it was that it is 1 of 6 in a series (didn't really want to be that committed to a book). So, I was surprised on page 722 when it read "The...
I read the reviews before buying this, and would agree all 722 pages held my attention. What I did not know when I started reading it was that it is 1 of 6 in a series (didn't really want to be that committed to a book). So, I was surprised on page 722 when it read "The End" with few answers to some question, and was a little frustrated. In general, the story is captivating. The characters are fairly developed. The reviews that I read said it was graphic and bloody. I didn't think so at all. The book's graphic sexually and sensually. In fact, almost from the beginning -- I was a bit taken back b/c the characters weren't really developed and it was hard from me to make the leap in the two main characters "loving" each other when it definitely was lust driven. And Keilor (the lead male) was hard to like because he treated Jasmine unspeakably (I think) and objectified her body and tried to dominate her or over-power her through lust-- that ain't love! I was never really clear on what the underlying story was -- besides the eventual love interest. Normally in books like these there are family feuds with some depth behind them, history, and just "something" of substance and this didn't really have it. I wish the ending was more full circle so that I felt like it was concluded. I looked up the other series books and it doesn't look like the 2 main characters are in the other 5 or 6 -- which surprised me b/c of the way Book 1 ended.

posted by Romance2 on April 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 564 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Long book ~ but enjoyable

    I was not expecting to enjoy this book as much as I did... There were times when the plot twists had me a little confused, but got back on track rather quickly. If you enjoy an "other worldly" genre, you will enjoy this book. Some sex & some violence; but not overly graphic. All in all a good story line. I had a few unanswered questions; but the book is definitely worth reading...

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Great read!

    This book was fantastic and very addicting. I couldn't put it down. I wouldn't reccommend this for children or young teens because there are a few sex scenes that made me uncomfortable, but the plot was well developed and overall it was an enjoyable read.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Be Ware - This is One of 6 in a Series

    I read the reviews before buying this, and would agree all 722 pages held my attention. What I did not know when I started reading it was that it is 1 of 6 in a series (didn't really want to be that committed to a book). So, I was surprised on page 722 when it read "The End" with few answers to some question, and was a little frustrated. In general, the story is captivating. The characters are fairly developed. The reviews that I read said it was graphic and bloody. I didn't think so at all. The book's graphic sexually and sensually. In fact, almost from the beginning -- I was a bit taken back b/c the characters weren't really developed and it was hard from me to make the leap in the two main characters "loving" each other when it definitely was lust driven. And Keilor (the lead male) was hard to like because he treated Jasmine unspeakably (I think) and objectified her body and tried to dominate her or over-power her through lust-- that ain't love! I was never really clear on what the underlying story was -- besides the eventual love interest. Normally in books like these there are family feuds with some depth behind them, history, and just "something" of substance and this didn't really have it. I wish the ending was more full circle so that I felt like it was concluded. I looked up the other series books and it doesn't look like the 2 main characters are in the other 5 or 6 -- which surprised me b/c of the way Book 1 ended.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    awful

    this book was not good at all...if the author had taken the time to turn it into 2 quality books instead of racing through one it may have turned out better. the main characters were annoying and their love story had no depth to it. i also did not care for the way the guy bossed around the girl who was aquiesent of it all...the girl needed to show some balls and stick up for herself. the plot was not thought out and this book was poorly written. I'm going to read a good author now, Patrick Rothfuss has never let me down

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Lame Ending, Too Much Sex

    The story hooked me and this would have been a really good book, but I was turned off by all of the weird and dominating sex scenes and the ending of the book completely sucked. I was expecting answers to questions, but there were none. I was into the story and suddenly, the story just stopped and it said the end. I really wouldn't recommend this to anybody.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    You can get the book cheaper

    If you look up 'the charmer' you will find the same book but only for the price of $0.01.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    eh...it was alright

    this book was ok...the entire time i was reading it i couldn't decide if i liked it or not. there were way too many & unnecessary sex scenes, some of which seemed to border on almost rape. if you took those scenes out you could probably take out about 200 pages. the book would actually be very good if you took out those scenes because you could focus on the actual story. it also ended quite abruptly.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    This cover picture made it look more interesting

    I did read this book all the way through but honestly, times it was good and other times i had to force myself to keep reading.... the characters didnt hold character and their transformation was weird... it should be re-written and doctored up a lot

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Meh.

    It wasn't the greatest. Some parts had me intrigued, but the other parts felt slapped together and made no sense. The love story had no depth as did many of the events in the book. For a world that felt like it should have been more fantasy than it was -- there was too much modernity included in it.

    The ending was horribly abrupt. It was only the icing on my cake of dislike. If I knew what was in store I would have never picked it up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Story

    The events in the novel moved quickly with a constant stream of action. The plot occasionally got a little convoluted but overall flowed well. The beginning and mild of this story were great, but it felt rushed. It felt left open and too much was left hanging in the balance.

    I'm not going to repeat the plot but the world building was original and well done with a nice mixture of fantasy and tech (such as a medieval castles with lights that come on by voice command). I also liked the main characters and loved the sexual tension between the hero and heroine. The heroine had some stupid moments but they were in character and I thought the relationships between the heroine and her best friend was very realistic.

    I was truly sorry to have this bookend. Not only is it a good story but it is well written and thought out. I loved the characters, even the ones I hated! There were some plot twists that I truly didn't see coming some that were so obvious. It was a very enjoyable book and one that I had trouble putting down. The author's narrative style was very easy to follow and told from the main character's point of view. The first few pages were a little hard to follow and I had trouble figuring out where the dog fit in and I see he kind of disappeared after a while. Probably could have left him out but was a nice way to start the book.

    Overall this was a good book to read and I recommend it. The love scenes were well written and not so graphic as to embarrass a reader reading in a public place but graphic enough to make the imagination a bit warm. I look forward to reading more of Autumn Dawn's creations. There appear to be a few more in this Dark Lands Series which I will read with pleasure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Weird Plot Changes

    It was an ok book, but there were a lot of stuff that got me confused. First, I really didn't know what was going on with the guy's ex-girlfriend kidnapping Jasmine. Seemingly important battles were only two sentences long. And in the beginning Jasmine had Lemming, her border collie. The poor thing was mentioned two or three times in the beginning of the book and then was never heard from again. Instead, she was replaced by a small giraffe... Again it was an ok book, but i won't be continuing the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    Just ok

    I told myself I would finish this book just because I started it. I only got to pg 577 of this book. The beginning was ok, but after halfway through, there was too much going on. The author seemed to get lost. The sex scenes didn't seem necessary and at times, the main character allowed herself to be controlled by sex. Almost like she was a sex slave. How do you fall in love with someone who rips your clothes off and plays with your privates without allowing you release just because you talk back? It wasn't sexy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    Not bad but could have been better

    The ending was rushed and i do have to agree that there was some of pointless scense in the middle but all in all not bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    not too good

    This was not one of my favorites. The writer is all over the place and makes it difficult to follow. Not a smooth read at all. It's also a bit cheesy. I'm disappointed in the book and not sure I'll finish the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    yeah....

    there were soooooooo many pointless, random sex scenes that it actually made me laugh. i think the word erotic should have been used in the description bc it was bordering on it. the story is decent but if id known it was going to be so raunchy i wouldnt have bought it. i perfer less vivid romantic... encounters

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this story!

    I really enjoyed Keilor and Jasmine's story. It has a bit of everything ... cool fantasy elements, smoldering & heart wrenching seduction, hot sex scenes, action, intrigue, friendships, childhood obstacles to overcome etc. etc. I liked how Jasmine reacted to situations and how she challenged Keilor. It was so interesting that I immediately bought the next 2 in the series. Not to mention the price can't be beat for the amount of story you get!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    Highly recommend

    I couldn't put the book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Great

    One of my favorite books and authors. I highly recommend it. Autumn Dawn has a vivid imagination, and superb writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Wonderful

    Wonderful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Love it

    I couldnt stop reading this book for a second

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 564 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29