Customer Reviews for

The Charmer

Average Rating 4
( 564 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(261)

4 Star

(177)

3 Star

(79)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Long book ~ but enjoyable

I was not expecting to enjoy this book as much as I did... There were times when the plot twists had me a little confused, but got back on track rather quickly. If you enjoy an "other worldly" genre, you will enjoy this book. Some sex & some violence; but not overly gra...
I was not expecting to enjoy this book as much as I did... There were times when the plot twists had me a little confused, but got back on track rather quickly. If you enjoy an "other worldly" genre, you will enjoy this book. Some sex & some violence; but not overly graphic. All in all a good story line. I had a few unanswered questions; but the book is definitely worth reading...

posted by SapphireAngel on February 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Be Ware - This is One of 6 in a Series

I read the reviews before buying this, and would agree all 722 pages held my attention. What I did not know when I started reading it was that it is 1 of 6 in a series (didn't really want to be that committed to a book). So, I was surprised on page 722 when it read "The...
I read the reviews before buying this, and would agree all 722 pages held my attention. What I did not know when I started reading it was that it is 1 of 6 in a series (didn't really want to be that committed to a book). So, I was surprised on page 722 when it read "The End" with few answers to some question, and was a little frustrated. In general, the story is captivating. The characters are fairly developed. The reviews that I read said it was graphic and bloody. I didn't think so at all. The book's graphic sexually and sensually. In fact, almost from the beginning -- I was a bit taken back b/c the characters weren't really developed and it was hard from me to make the leap in the two main characters "loving" each other when it definitely was lust driven. And Keilor (the lead male) was hard to like because he treated Jasmine unspeakably (I think) and objectified her body and tried to dominate her or over-power her through lust-- that ain't love! I was never really clear on what the underlying story was -- besides the eventual love interest. Normally in books like these there are family feuds with some depth behind them, history, and just "something" of substance and this didn't really have it. I wish the ending was more full circle so that I felt like it was concluded. I looked up the other series books and it doesn't look like the 2 main characters are in the other 5 or 6 -- which surprised me b/c of the way Book 1 ended.

posted by Romance2 on April 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Be Ware - This is One of 6 in a Series

    I read the reviews before buying this, and would agree all 722 pages held my attention. What I did not know when I started reading it was that it is 1 of 6 in a series (didn't really want to be that committed to a book). So, I was surprised on page 722 when it read "The End" with few answers to some question, and was a little frustrated. In general, the story is captivating. The characters are fairly developed. The reviews that I read said it was graphic and bloody. I didn't think so at all. The book's graphic sexually and sensually. In fact, almost from the beginning -- I was a bit taken back b/c the characters weren't really developed and it was hard from me to make the leap in the two main characters "loving" each other when it definitely was lust driven. And Keilor (the lead male) was hard to like because he treated Jasmine unspeakably (I think) and objectified her body and tried to dominate her or over-power her through lust-- that ain't love! I was never really clear on what the underlying story was -- besides the eventual love interest. Normally in books like these there are family feuds with some depth behind them, history, and just "something" of substance and this didn't really have it. I wish the ending was more full circle so that I felt like it was concluded. I looked up the other series books and it doesn't look like the 2 main characters are in the other 5 or 6 -- which surprised me b/c of the way Book 1 ended.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Lame Ending, Too Much Sex

    The story hooked me and this would have been a really good book, but I was turned off by all of the weird and dominating sex scenes and the ending of the book completely sucked. I was expecting answers to questions, but there were none. I was into the story and suddenly, the story just stopped and it said the end. I really wouldn't recommend this to anybody.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    You can get the book cheaper

    If you look up 'the charmer' you will find the same book but only for the price of $0.01.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    Not bad but could have been better

    The ending was rushed and i do have to agree that there was some of pointless scense in the middle but all in all not bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    yeah....

    there were soooooooo many pointless, random sex scenes that it actually made me laugh. i think the word erotic should have been used in the description bc it was bordering on it. the story is decent but if id known it was going to be so raunchy i wouldnt have bought it. i perfer less vivid romantic... encounters

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Three stars means I liked it, but I probably won't be re-reading it

    I liked the world building and the storyline was interesting, but I didn't buy the romance. I didn't find any reason for them to like each other beyond the physical. She was immature and he gave her no reason to think that he liked her. What did he see in her? Beyond the really great sex? I couldn't tell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    AWESOMEEEE!!!!

    Awesomeeee book absolutely loveddd it! Must check it out. Wish they would continue their story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining but predictable

    A little disappointing. For me, the storyline was very predictable, although it did still entertain me. I actually expected it to be a lot more sexual than it was given the other reviews that I read, and to be honest it was those scenes along with the occasional clever dialog between the characters (which often made me giggle) that got me through the book. Not a bad read, but not something I couldn't put down either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    Wasn't happy with the ending

    I hate reading a book just to find out that 3 months worth of story is rolled in to two paragraphs. I was very disappointed in the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good for price

    I agree, it was rushed in the end but i am looking forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    what happen to the begining

    the started like it was in the middle of the book... left feeling info was missing on the main characters. The ending was just horrible... this book could have been so much better if it had more background and developement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    On the fence!

    Agree w/ other reviews - was very RUSHED ending, found myself thinking, what just happened! Perhaps a sequel? Soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    A solid romance

    The book was an enjoyable read. The idea and world were fresh. My only complaint was that the beginning and ending seemed rushed. It jumped right to extreme attraction between Keilor and Jasmine with no reasonable explanation as to why Jasmine would feel that way. At the end, once the traitors were caught it skipped right to the babies without any explanations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4