BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Charmer

Average Rating 4
( 564 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(261)

4 Star

(177)

3 Star

(79)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great read!

This book was fantastic and very addicting. I couldn't put it down. I wouldn't reccommend this for children or young teens because there are a few sex scenes that made me uncomfortable, but the plot was well developed and overall it was an enjoyable read.

posted by Mandy93 on February 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Be Ware - This is One of 6 in a Series

I read the reviews before buying this, and would agree all 722 pages held my attention. What I did not know when I started reading it was that it is 1 of 6 in a series (didn't really want to be that committed to a book). So, I was surprised on page 722 when it read "The...
I read the reviews before buying this, and would agree all 722 pages held my attention. What I did not know when I started reading it was that it is 1 of 6 in a series (didn't really want to be that committed to a book). So, I was surprised on page 722 when it read "The End" with few answers to some question, and was a little frustrated. In general, the story is captivating. The characters are fairly developed. The reviews that I read said it was graphic and bloody. I didn't think so at all. The book's graphic sexually and sensually. In fact, almost from the beginning -- I was a bit taken back b/c the characters weren't really developed and it was hard from me to make the leap in the two main characters "loving" each other when it definitely was lust driven. And Keilor (the lead male) was hard to like because he treated Jasmine unspeakably (I think) and objectified her body and tried to dominate her or over-power her through lust-- that ain't love! I was never really clear on what the underlying story was -- besides the eventual love interest. Normally in books like these there are family feuds with some depth behind them, history, and just "something" of substance and this didn't really have it. I wish the ending was more full circle so that I felt like it was concluded. I looked up the other series books and it doesn't look like the 2 main characters are in the other 5 or 6 -- which surprised me b/c of the way Book 1 ended.

posted by Romance2 on April 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 177 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Long book ~ but enjoyable

    I was not expecting to enjoy this book as much as I did... There were times when the plot twists had me a little confused, but got back on track rather quickly. If you enjoy an "other worldly" genre, you will enjoy this book. Some sex & some violence; but not overly graphic. All in all a good story line. I had a few unanswered questions; but the book is definitely worth reading...

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Story

    The events in the novel moved quickly with a constant stream of action. The plot occasionally got a little convoluted but overall flowed well. The beginning and mild of this story were great, but it felt rushed. It felt left open and too much was left hanging in the balance.

    I'm not going to repeat the plot but the world building was original and well done with a nice mixture of fantasy and tech (such as a medieval castles with lights that come on by voice command). I also liked the main characters and loved the sexual tension between the hero and heroine. The heroine had some stupid moments but they were in character and I thought the relationships between the heroine and her best friend was very realistic.

    I was truly sorry to have this bookend. Not only is it a good story but it is well written and thought out. I loved the characters, even the ones I hated! There were some plot twists that I truly didn't see coming some that were so obvious. It was a very enjoyable book and one that I had trouble putting down. The author's narrative style was very easy to follow and told from the main character's point of view. The first few pages were a little hard to follow and I had trouble figuring out where the dog fit in and I see he kind of disappeared after a while. Probably could have left him out but was a nice way to start the book.

    Overall this was a good book to read and I recommend it. The love scenes were well written and not so graphic as to embarrass a reader reading in a public place but graphic enough to make the imagination a bit warm. I look forward to reading more of Autumn Dawn's creations. There appear to be a few more in this Dark Lands Series which I will read with pleasure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    An interesting storyline, but...

    I wish more detail would have been given to building characters. There are some pivotal plots that could have been powerful to read but it felt like author skimmed over them with lack of enthusiasm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Enjoyed the book

    I enjoyed the book but feel that the end was so rushed. There could have been more detail about the final fight and the birth of the babies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2012




    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    I say read it :)

    This book was good... the sex scenes do not ruin the story at all. In fact it even shows, that nearly lost view of, committing to one person for life. Definitely didn't feel like a complete waste of time and kept me interested enough to turn the page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Thoroughly entertaining!

    Love the Dark Lands series...look forward to more! They need a less-abrupt ending, however...a wrap-up of the events would be good...definitely recommend her books though...have enjoyed them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another world

    The characters were fairly well developed and I felt a connection with them. The plot was somewhat over done and some of the so-called secrets were rather obvious and mostly ridiculous. I didn't really love the aspect of "The Charmer" as an entity in the book. The book dragged on slightly too long.
    Overall, a decent read and I don't intend to read the next one, but this book will transport you to another world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    meh...

    The book was ok but there was too much sex and the ending seemed to just have been hastily thrown together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    kc51

    720 pages of reading of warewolf love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Excelllent read

    I truly liked this book and for the most part i sincerly liked the charcters. The only issue i had was with the main female charcter. For me she was a little to bipolar and i found her not to be a steady personality in dealing with the other charcters especially her bestfriend in the book. However it was a great read and i look foward to reading more nooks ny this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    <3 it!

    If you dont' read it you're missing out ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    good book, especially for the price

    A darker paranormal romance. Good characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    very good

    i loved this book, it wasnt ur typical wolf story and the ending did feel rushed but im assuming it was this way because of the next book. which by the way i am looking foward to it, but does anyone know when its due...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Fun, engrossing, well done!

    I recommend this book to anyone looking for a well written, fast-paced adventure and interesting characters. Looking forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great read

    so. ive. read. my. fair share. of. romances. and. this. is one. of. the. best. ive. read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    good to great potential

    great book if it was the only one in the series but six books is too much. and just so you know if you want to save a dollar i found this book free just search the title.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    good read

    I enjoyed the story and characters. I did feel that in some instances the story would jump into scenerios with little to no introduction or explanation. A lot of unfinished business with many of the characters has left me hoping for a second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    ginnywil

    Enjoyed very much. Can not wait to read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Good book

    I agree that the ending came too fast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 177 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9