Customer Reviews for

The Charmer

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    Something for the heart

    I love the characters in this book especially the main male character. He was a strong take charge kind of guy. And sexy of course. The female character was good also she wasn't afraid to be real and I thought that was different. Very good book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I loved it!

    A wonderful romance! Adrian and Sophia's story was not only very touchingly romantic, it also had what I can only describe as an intellectual depth that was very welcome after reading several light romantic romps. The characters were smart and endearing. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2004

    Simply the Best....

    Adrian and Sophia were a very sophisticated couple. Having read the series in order so far, Adrian had already been introduced and he made a great impression, so I did wonder what type of woman the author had in mind for him. Sophia, with all her riches, intelligence, and vulnerability, was perfect for him. I haven't yet read Dante's story, but out of the first three heros, Adrian is the best one, followed very closely by Daniel St. John, then Vergil Laclere. The heroines in M.H.'s books are not always 'pure' and some even have reputations that the heros are willing to overlook. In Sophia's case, there is even a scene in which a man blatantly touches her while Adrian looks on. It's rather daring for an historical romance and I hope it sets a trend and puts romances in the 21st century and leaves behind those hard-to-believe-too-goody-goody romances. Also, we've all read stories that pit the wealthy character against the unweathly one. The author must convince the reader that the less fortunate person wants to marry the wealthy person out of love, not money. None has ever been 100% convincing, until now. Adrian and Sophia were so much in love, more so than any other couple I've read about, with the possible exception of Jason Bradford and Kianna Hamilton in the novel, THE ROSE OF ENCHANTMENT. This is a wonderful book, a keeper.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2003

    engaging historical romance

    In 1831 King William sends Adrian Burchard to bring Sophia Raughley back to England though she feels her home is in Paris after eight years there. However, with the death of her estranged father, Sophia inherits the Duchy of Everdom. This means among other things she is considered now a key political person because she controls several rotten borough representatives in the House of Commons including her escort. <P>Adrian first meets Sophia when she is almost unconscious during an orgy. An artist stud that she sponsors slipped her a knock-out drug so that he could have sex with her even if she is out cold, but Adrian stops him. Taking advantage of her claim that she is married, Adrian says he is her spouse and demands that her sponsored artists must stay away from her. Adrian forces Sophia to return with him, but quickly finds himself in love with a woman he thought was a crazy nymphomaniac. She falls in love with her escort who she thinks is a pawn of the rich and famous starting with Wellington. <P>As she did with THE SEDUCER and THE SAINT, Madeline Hunter provides her audience with an engaging historical romance that uses historical tidbits to bring alive the era and to enhance the lead couple, especially their relationship. Once Adrian arrives on the scene with his first impressions, the novel moves rather quickly forward as the twosome argue over just about everything except love. Madeline Hunter provides a delightful tale that will please her myriad of fans who can look forward to a sinful encore. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    Charming Story!

    THE CHARMER, is a charming story that had me swiftly turning the pages to see what was going to happen next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    outstanding

    One of my favorite.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1