BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Charming the Highlander

Average Rating 4.5
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Refreshing and engaging romance

    In 1200 AD during a clan battle in the Scottish Highlands, a wizard casts a spell that sends several MacBain and MacKeage warriors into the twenty-first century. The ten time travelers include the MacKeage brothers Greylen and Morgan. <P> A pregnant Mary Sutter fled her lover Michael MacBain when he insisted he was born in 1171. She stays with her sister Grace in Norfolk before deciding to return to her beloved Michael. Instead she dies in a car accident. She gives birth to a son, makes Grace promise to take the child to Michael, and asks for her ashes to be spread in Maine.<P> Rocket scientist Grace receives a sabbatical to complete her sister¿s dying wishes. Flying over Maine with one other passenger besides herself and her nephew, the plane crashes killing the pilot. The other flier Greylen keeps Grace, who he recognizes as his soul mate, and the baby alive by using all he learned in the highlands almost a millennium ago in real time, but not too long ago in his biological time.<P> This engaging time travel romance occurs after the displaced Highlanders have some time to adapt to their new environs. Still the audience observes the discomfit of Greylen when he flies on the commuter plane as this goes against all he knows (if God wants man to fly he would have given him wings attitude). It is this type of detail to the feelings especially of the lead couple that turns this into a delightful tale.<P> Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderfully Enchanting

    The first book in Janet Chapman's Highlander series is full of both humorous and tender moments. It starts off on a somber note with the heroine dealing with the death of her beloved sister, but soon picks up its pace with the addition of our hero Greylen and an unexpected plane crash. The interaction between the characters was definitely comical at times and sweet at others. My favorite thing about this book was that in addition to the sweet/humorous romance the author touched a bit on the hardships of losing a loved one and how sometimes that love can transcend even death.

    It is a bit different from usual time travel novels in that the characters have already had time to adjust to their leap through time. The only one who has any kind of problem at this point is the heroine who for the most part is in disbelief at the possibility of them being from a different time. The only problem I had with this book was that the romance was a bit fast and there wasn't as much getting to know you as I felt there could have been. It really was a wonderfully enchanting read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Great book

    This book was was a great read and made me a fan of janet chapman. A must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful start to the series

    I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I love highland romance books and this one is no different. The storyline flows well throughout and it has a bit of everything...fantasy, romance, humor, magic. A great book and a great start to a really good Highlander series by Chapman. If you liked Karen Marie Moning's "Highlander" series, you will like these too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Overall good story. Some parts had me thinking this was going to

    Overall good story. Some parts had me thinking this was going to be a three star rating but after reading the whole thing I decided on four stars. Enjoyed the book, liked all the characters. Got off to a fairly slow start but finally picked up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    Great story

    Love Janet Chapman and the Highlander series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    ****

    I like this story. I would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Love this series

    I love this whole series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Druids, time-travel and Highlanders...Oh MY! Absolutely love thi

    Druids, time-travel and Highlanders...Oh MY! Absolutely love this series! Fantastic loveable characters, sexy highlanders, steamy love scenes, witty humor, and sigh worthy romance! Highly Recommend! Janet Chapman rocks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    I love all of Janet Chapmans books. They keep you interested in the plot,while being heart warming and the romance is great. thumps up from me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this twist on the typical Highlander series. Instead of

    I loved this twist on the typical Highlander series. Instead of taking place in Scotland, or having them go back in time to the time of Highlanders we get Highlanders whom are thrown into the future. Into our modern times (well 2003). The twist brought along a lot of new aspects that I really liked such as the Clan/males learning the value or women and seeing them as equals, while still keeping their Alpha-Male and occasionally cave man personalities. I admit that I do still like the novels were they order them around as well. And then they threw in a baby. That’s right Grace is responsible for a little one during this novel and I loved watching Grey react with him. That made me have a heart swelling crush on him. And of course the fact that he could lift a sword that was big as Grace kind of helped. I loved the love between Grace and Grey, but for Grey is happened instantly. Love at first sight, which is always something I am weary about, but in this novel there is magic to help explain it and a long with magic comes the belief in soul mates. Janet Chapman does charm you in a novel filled with Highlanders, action, drama, and emotion, and has hooked me into the series. 
    Good:
    Grace—independent, smart, and determined. 
    Grey—protective, determined, loyal, and a hot sexy highlander. 
    Bad: 




    The love moved a little fast, although I liked the passion. I also got a little lost in some of the technical space talk, but that was barely an issue.




    Overall (Writing style, story line, and general):




    Overall, I was enchanted. I loved Grace and I loved Grey, and I loved the isolation of the small town so that it didn’t make their transition into the new world seem unrealistic. The writing was easy to follow, and the passion had me blushing. I cried and worried when necessary and completely got dragged into their lives. The story was interesting and brought a new twist on the Highlander genre (it really should have it’s own, there is definitely enough books). Janet Chapman brought some new twists to a traditional story and made an ensemble of memorable characters. I can’t wait to see what the future has in store for the other characters of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Enjoyable read

    The story will keep you hooked from the beginning. After finishing the first in a great series I was ready to start reading the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMENDED

    ALL OF JANET CHAPMAN'S HIGHLANDER BOOKS ARE GREAT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Leave your critic and logic behind; it¿s a bit of fluff (and Scottish muscle!) to fill a wintry afternoon.

    This romance happened sooo quick. Like 6 days start to finish. Granted the whole shebang starts off with a tragic death, instant attraction, babies, and a dramatic plane crash…that’s like 6 years of action tucked into less than a week of time…guess they didn’t need day seven, but hey, don’t we all need a day of rest?
    Though it was fast I found myself very wrapped up in the action. I liked the survival aspects of it all. It was a lot of emotion very quickly, but this served to enhance (or excuse) the insta-love. I mean if a huge Scottish warrior saves you and your 4 week old nephew from certain death in a plane crash, then from being frozen on a mountain top in Maine, I might fall a little in love too. Especially if his kisses were as good as Grace claims.

    I loved Baby, he was the sweetest addition to the cast of characters. Watching all those Scottish warriors fall for him was one of my favorite parts of the novel. My only hesitation was that I couldn’t quite connect with Grace’s inability to tell Michael that he was Baby’s true father. I thought it was pretty obvious from the start that not only was Michael a good man (Grace was concerned about this) he was hurt and lonely after losing the woman he loved. Baby would have gone a long way toward easing this man’s pain from the very beginning.

    This is a quick formula read. If you’re in the mood the instant attraction, fast plot, and dramatic situations this read will drag you in pretty quick. Just don’t be surprised when it’s all over faster than a Kardashian marriage…In both situations the key is to enjoy the absurdity and remember that you’re enjoying characters that never exist in real life.

    Bring on the massive, time-traveling, Scottish warriors, lol.

    Rating: 3/5 Leave your critic and logic behind; it’s a bit of fluff (and Scottish muscle!) to fill a wintry afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    a book hard to put down

    The whole series is a great easy read, entertaining, just feel good stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Cool

    I vreatly enjoyed this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Great

    Try n read the books in order.But either way each n everyone is a great love story. Filled with love, life ,fun n caring.One was not worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    excellent!!!

    A great story with a fantastic magical twist...if you liked the Nora Roberts Three Sisters Island books you will love this series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great start to a wonderful series

    I love this book and all the of the rest in the series. This series has everything magic, love, mystery and a good plot. I also really liked it because every other chapter isn't some over the top sexscapade. It is a true romance novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2007

    Loved it!!!

    In this first book of the series, all the cast of characters are set for the next books. I thought this was a great book!!!! I couldn't put it down. The story flows smoothly, and I really enjoyed it. After I finished it, I had to go out and get all the books in the Highlander series. A Highly recommended read. And a great introduction to Janet Chapman's style of writing. Believe me....you will want to read more of this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5