Customer Reviews for

The Charnel Prince (Kingdoms of Thorn and Bone Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Lalaland

    ;I strage world eh? Strange books too huh... wierd :/ deserves one star! Well if there were less than one star then i would press it jk!!! Well i am really bored so...ya :). Goodnight to all of my viewers:)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Poor ending.

    Compelling story line you can't wait to find time to read. Then the bizarre impossible hero acts roll through till the end that leaves you saying. What?! *#$* I just read 500+ for this.... >finding a new author. Bye

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    highly recommend

    Did not want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Charnel Prince, the Kingdoms of Thorn and Bone series, Book 2

    In my opinion, "The Charnel Prince" was a million times better than "The Briar King"! There wasn't as much romance, and who is chasing who romantically. And, the stakes are much higher in this book! With the Briar King now awake, all kinds of dark monsters are roaming the land. Towns and villages of people are disappearing, and they are hording as undead, like zombies. Queen Muriele is forced to send her half-wit son, the heir, away into hiding, and becomes mutual friends with her dead husband's, the King, former mistress, Alis Berrye, when the undead Prince Robert claims the throne of the Kingdom of Crotheny! Muriele does commission Leovigild "Leoff" Ackenzal, a composer that reminds me of Stephen when he first set out from Virgenya, to compose a piece of music for the people of Crotheny. With the help of Mery Gramme, Lady Gramme's daughter, he is able to thwart the efforts of Praifec Hespero. His music is so emotionally moving that it is said to be shine crafting. Knight Neil MaqVren is tracking Princess Anne, at the request of Muriele, to bring her back home safely. Anne and Austra begin to grow apart when Austra truly falls in love with the fake attentions of Cazio, and the secrets of magic that Anne has been keeping from her. Anne is beginning to accept her destiny, and is trying to reach Eslin, alive. Someone has stolen the key to the secret room deep below the castle, to take possession of the Kept, and all his secrets and prescience.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2007

    A chore to read... too many whiney characters...

    I started out becoming somewhat hooked with the Briar King, but by the first 25 pages of the Charnel Prince, I knew it was going to be a loooong read. I like the Holter and his girlfriend(for lack of a better term), and there are some good ideas here, but the language that Keys uses seems to trip over itself sometimes. I became very tired of the soap opera between Ann Adare and her friend -- really tired because it just never ends. If you can stomach the soap opera, the parts about the Holter are pretty good. I felt the book was too long, and should have been shaved down by about 150 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    AWESOME.

    I usually dont write reviews. But after reading this book I felt ashamed I have not heard from it before. The books is extremely well written, the characters are unique and well developed. Conspiracy, gore, love, war, everything. Reading this book was like reading the Wheel of time (book 1 to 4) Jordan went crazy afer that. Or the Sword of Truth (1-5). I would put this book high on my best time favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2006

    Great read!! Awesome sequel

    I love a good series and love great story telling. I love this author. You get totally engrossed in the story and grow to love all the characters. I can't wait for the Blood knight. Keep up the great writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2006

    Awesome

    This book is complex, the charecters are colorful and have distinct pesonalities. Love it, love it, love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2005

    Real fantasy has no reality

    While I must admit that the Briar King had Keye's at his most impressive story telling point, the Charnall prince does not fall far behind. In a world where fantasy is being pushed to be more and more realistic he stays true to what every fan of fantasy holds dear. The book more than anything is about discovering the truth behind why all the events in the first book happened the way they did. He explains it in riveting ways that do not involve six chapters of an oracle revealing the 'truth.' This book is perfect if you are a fan of fantasy. If you are not a fan of fantasy read it anyway, it is so clear and riveting that anyone could get engrossed in it. However to get the full effect of the Charnall Prince you must read the Briar King.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2004

    An impressive act of storytelling...

    The author of the Kingdom of Thorn and Bone series is destined for immortality in the pantheon of fantasy literature. I realize that's a steep accusation to live up to, but Greg Keyes is one of the few mere mortals in this world who can do just that. His magical writing draws you into the story like no other author has yet achieved. I highly recommend this book to anyone with an unquenchable imagination and a love for literature. WARNING: You must be a person with a vibrant soul to appreciate the beauty of this tale. Only a book-burning libertine would not love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2004

    I hate to say it but...

    This book falls into the same old, tired cliches a lot of fantasy books do these days. The first book, The Briar King was considerably better. Keyes is a pretty skilled writer which is why this is such a disappointment. The character's don't really stand out from one another, the tasks are pretty stock fantasy tasks, and the actual story itself is a bit too choppy for my liking. Oh, and let's not forget, there's an organized religion in the book that just happens to be a 'Church' in name and not only structure. And since Keyes falls into every other cliche of the genre, why not the biggest one of all? Which one is that? The one that says if there is a 'Church' in the book then it must be not only evil, but the main cause of all the problems in the book. And let's be honest here, Keyes makes no bones about modelling his 'Church' on a very specific one, Roman Catholic. What could be more overdone in fantasy than making anything that resembles the Church the cause of all evil, or at least the major player in it? I truly don't care, but it's just so incredibly annoying. I'd LOVE to see one modern day author write a book that either doesn't bother with a 'Church' being in it, or at the very least doesn't make the 'Church' the sole reason for all the world's woes. Or, dare I say it, one that actually makes the Church (in whatever way they create their vision of it, but please, be more original than Mr. Keyes has) a force for *gasp* good in the fantasy world of their respective book. Heck, I'd settle for an indifferent Church that is just there as a reference device. Now I know a good number of people will flame me for saying all of that but I truly don't care. Blah, blah, blah, 'the churches today are the cause of the world's woes, blah, blah, blah' that's such nonsense it doesn't even deserve a response. I read fantasy for what it's supposed to be. Total imagination, immersion, and escape. Not some author putting forth his personal political or anti-whatever-Church-he-dislikes agenda which it seems is Keyes' aim loosely shrouded in a story. All that said, I wasted my money on this book. Don't make the same mistake. It's certainly not worth the cost of the hardcover, and I wouldn't bother with paperback either when that comes out. Stick with George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series for REAL High-Fatnasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2004

    Stunning sequel can't wait for the next book...sigh.

    If you enjoyed Briar King, you will love Charnel Prince as well. All of the characters you loved and hated from the first book return and are further developed as they confront the looming apocalypse. Several interesting new characters are introduced and unlike some other authors (cough cough Robert Jordan) he actually closes off several hanging plotlines from the first novel BEFORE beginning new threads that will carry into the third. All in all a top notch read and an excellent addition to this growing series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic fantasy

    The Briar king has awakened from his long sleep and intends to reclaim the forests he regards as his own. It makes no difference to the old god that humans have cleared much of the woods and inhabit the cities where his forest once stood. Creatures from myth and legend walk the land, killing the humans that get in their way and a desperate people are fearful fear each day may be their last.................................. While magic is let loose on the land, assassins kill the king of Crotheny and his two daughters. Queen Muriele sent Princess Anne into hiding while her simpleton brother Charles rules in name only. The queen has many enemies who would like to topple her from the throne, including the Praifec and the church who wants to rule in place of the king. Neighboring kingdoms are preparing for war with Crotheny while Princess Anne eludes her enemies as she daringly makes her way back to her homeland to take her rightful place on the throne.................................... Readers who enjoyed THE BRIAR KING will love the sequel as the real enemies of the monarchy show their true colors. The action is fast paced and filled with damsels in distress, heroic knights and vile villains. The characters that fight on the sides of justice well endear themselves to the audience. THE CHARNEL PRINCE is epic fantasy in the traditions of Terry Brooks and Tolkien............................ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3