Customer Reviews for

Charred (Detective Ellie MacIntosh Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Anonymous

    Enjoying this series! Love Ellie and Jason together. Have also read Frozen and now onto Buried. Keep them coming.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Kate Watterson's Charred

    Kate Watterson is a fantastic author - great book, great series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    I love your story Alienated!!!! PLEASE WRITE MORE!!

    ? haters fyour story aren't allowed!!!!! Love it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    To alianated

    Oh my god!!!!! Whats next!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Alienated: Part 2

    Herro guysh, I see you like this =] so I'll be continuing it. I'm going to include characters new and old, so be prepared for a funfilled alien adventure! I also decided to throw in a bit of a Hunger Games mashup, just to spice it up a little ;D Next part at next result--- The lights are flicked on. It's 3AM. "Up and at 'em!" says a Telkonite guard. I jump up and dash to the foot of my bed. "Yes sir!" I say with my fellow prisoners, making a salute. You don't do this, you die. One person forgets to salute, so he's dragged out to have the leader kill him. Ouch. I stare straight at the person opposite me, standing straight up and holding the salute. The Telkonite guard sare me straight in the eye. I refrain from figiting under his icy stare. "Prisoner number 47820," the guard says. "Yes sir!" I say, and step forward, still holding the salute. "You're wanted with Cheif-" he then makes a sound like a half snort, half growl, half cough, which I presume to be the chief's name. The leader of the Telkonites. He wants me? Either he's figured out I've been breaking curfew and wants to kill me or that he wants me to do someting crazy that will also probbly get me killed. I hope it's the latter. "Also, prisoner number 47807," says the guard. A boy my age that looks like a living pincushion steps forward and says, "Yes Sir!" When I say pincushion, I mean he's a porcupine-like species. He's part human, though, I can tell. "You're also wanted with the chief," the guard says. He binds us in power-muffling handcuffs, and the steely glint in my eyes fades. Porcupine Kid's quills slink into his skin. The guard takes us out of the room and then closes the door, which only opens from the outside. "Permission to ask a question, Sir," Porcupine Kid says. We're careful to be formal around here, because if you say the wrong thing it might land you squashed, charcoaled, or beheaded. "Permission granted," the guard says. "What things would the chief have us do?" Porcupine Kid asks. "That is for discussion with the chief and the chief alone," the guard says flatly. The kid gets the hint not to ask more. The guard leads us down twisting hallways rythmatically, never stopping to consult a map or to ask directions, despite the size I know this building really is. Once we reach a large door, the guard opens it and we're led inside. "Ah, the chosen tributes," says a man at a desk, sitting in a chair. Tributes. Not a word I like. "Come, come sit," he says, kinder than any of the guards here. I'm suspicious. The guard closes the door. "Please, dispense with the formalites," the man says to the guard. After a couple of seconds, I realize he's asking the guard to remove our cuffs. I stretch my fingers once the cuffs are removed and the glint returns to my eyes. The quills pop out again on Porcupine Kid. "Interesting, interesting mix of species," the man muses. "Anodite, Osmosian, and Human." I realize he's referring to me. "What's your name?" the man asks. "N-number 47820," I say. The man laughs. "Not those silly numbers. A name. Like I'm Mr. Ricker," he says. "Wisteria Levin," I say cautiously. "And you?" Mr. Ricker says to Porcupine Kid. "Pierce Havens," the kid says. "Pierce Havens?" Mr. Ricker asks. "The one you're probably thinking of is my father. I was named after him," Pierce says. "Ah. That explains it. You're probably wondering why I caled you here," Mr. Ricker says. "You have been chosen as tributes for the upcoming Alienation." --- thanks for reading! ~J10/DOS

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    To gess who

    Its haidn clark and can i be in a four arms that gets thrown in to prison or whatever place yall are in i have four arms AND four legs ( freak acsident ) i still have a wild mut dog named roxy and girlfriend named jade brizil thanks

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    To Alienated

    I knew it was you!!!!!;) -JAC

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    NEVER SAFE PART 3

    *****Hi everyone, it's Alyssa. Sorry for being so late, I was really busy with Halloween and everything. Character apps are needed, please put them at "shopping" result 3. Next part at "gli" result 1. Enjoy!!!***** Finally it was time for dinner. I sat down with my siblings at the Athena table. I ordered steak, a salad, and a Coke. The food was delicious as usual, and I devoured it. I had a lot of fun with my siblings, eating, talking, and joking around. Cole and Lucas were having a blast too, a glance at the Zeus table told me. All too soon, dinner was over, so we walked over to the campfire. I found myself sitting next to Cole. The good old campfire songs began led by the Apollo kids. Cole caught on immediately. Everyone was in good spirits. Cole's hand closed around mine and he wrapped his other arm around me. I felt like screaming 'BABAYM all you Aphrodite girls who want Cole, he's mine so you BETTER back off'. Eventually, all the smores and songs were done, so we walked back to our cabins. Cole whispered in my ear, "See you tomorrow Maryam," and let go of my hand. I walked to the Athena cabin as if in a trance. I was seriously in love with Cole. The way he smiled, the way his blond hair blew in the breeze, okay, now I'm just getting weird. But anyway, I was in love with him. A lot. And on that note, I collapsed in my bunk and fell asleep. Morning came, so I ran to the pavilion and made myself a plate of eggs, toast, and bacon. Cole got a stack of pancakes and sat down next to me. "Hey Maryam. I can't wait to start these awesome activities!" He exclaimed. "Yup, they are really fun. I hope we have some classes together," I replied. Just then, Chiron galloped towards us. "Here's your schedule, Mr. Grace. I already gave your brother his," Chiron said, handing a paper to Cole. As Cole and I compared schedules, we realized that we had swordplay, arts and crafts, and archery together. By then it was time to go to our first class, swordplay. Cole picked up a sword. "This weight feels perfect," he said. I replied, "Great. You can use it for practice against me, okay?" "Sure!" Cole said. We dueled, and Cole was actually amazing. It was if Cole had been practicing swordfighting his whole life. Finally my sword clattered to the floor and Cole raised his fists in triumph. Wow. A rookie beat an expert. But I wasnt gonna complain, this was my future boyfriend. In arts and crafts, Cole constructed a perfect sculpture of Zeus, while my sculpture of Athena ended up looking like...umm...a pile of clay, to be honest. "Whoa. I actually made that perfect mini Zeus?" Cole asked, surprised. "Um yeah. You made it. You're a real artist," i replied. Something about Cole's being so shocked just made me really suspicious of something weird going on. In archery Cole got every bull's eye. Everyone just basically stared at him in shock. "But but...I've never toucched a bow in my life!" He protested. Yup, there was definitely something weird here. After dinner I walked up to Chiron and told him everything. "Just as I suspected," he replied gravely. Before I could respond, I heard a voice behind me. I turned around and saw Cole and Rachel, who was the Oracle. Rachel shuddered and green smoke billowed out and around her. In a raspy voice, she began to say a prophecy. *****PART FOUR AT GLI RESULT 1!!! CHARACTER APPS AT SHOPPING RESULT 3!!! HOPE YOU ENJOYED IT AND ADIOS!!!! ~Alyssa &star

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    It was ok.

    Okay.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1