Customer Reviews for

The Chase (Isaac Bell Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 231 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Fast Paced...

I read this book very, very fast. I have read one book by this author and to be honest with you I got tired of the Superman image he gave the main characters. They could shot any weapon or drive any vehicle made by mankind. And the cars drive you nuts with the descripti...
I read this book very, very fast. I have read one book by this author and to be honest with you I got tired of the Superman image he gave the main characters. They could shot any weapon or drive any vehicle made by mankind. And the cars drive you nuts with the description of each one down to the last nut and bolt. But this book was not even close to that. It was most refreshing. He did tend to dwell on the car during the chase of the train but that was about it. The last 100 pages are really fast pace and exciting. After reading the book I went back and read the first chapter again and then it all fit into a nice tidy story. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a fast pace read. I hope this author comes up with another of these early 20th century stories.

posted by Anonymous on January 3, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Very Disappointing

Having read all of the Cussler books, I couldn't wait for this one. Talk about a letdown! I could swear he didn't write this one or that he wrote it much, much earlier in his career. Jo B Charleston,SC

posted by Anonymous on December 5, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    Fast Paced...

    I read this book very, very fast. I have read one book by this author and to be honest with you I got tired of the Superman image he gave the main characters. They could shot any weapon or drive any vehicle made by mankind. And the cars drive you nuts with the description of each one down to the last nut and bolt. But this book was not even close to that. It was most refreshing. He did tend to dwell on the car during the chase of the train but that was about it. The last 100 pages are really fast pace and exciting. After reading the book I went back and read the first chapter again and then it all fit into a nice tidy story. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a fast pace read. I hope this author comes up with another of these early 20th century stories.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Chase By Clive Cussler The chase certainly lives up to its

    The Chase
    By Clive Cussler

    The chase certainly lives up to its name, in 1906 Isaac Bell sets off to capture and stop a man who is robbing banks and brutally murdering everyone who is present, the last body count is in the thirties. From the very beginning this novel is action packed until the very end leaving you waiting desperately for the next book.
    This was my first Clive Cussler novel; I had seen them at almost every book store I have ever been to so I, of course, recognized his name. I had not anticipated how wrapped up into this story I would become and I am now looking forward to finding more of his books to review.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Highly recommend

    If you enjoy looking back at history, at the time of the railroads, you will enjoy this, at times spell-binding mystery.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    Great first book.

    If you like historical mysteries then this book is for you. I could relate to the characters and the plot. The science fit the time period and made the story believable. I have already read the second book in the series "The Wrecker" and will read the others.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2008

    A Great Escape

    The Chase by Clive Cussler should make a fan of his novels feel like they are finally back home. You can read the reviews where others disect this or that- but to sit back,open up this book-takes you back in time and still gives you a send of adventure that we know we will have with his novels- he doesn't let us down. I for one enjoyed the book-and thou spoiled on Dirk Pitt- this read made for an enjoyable afternoon. I'm always checking for his next book-does anyone know when that will be?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    An exciting, historic Chase

    This is the first Cussler book I've read since Inca Gold years and years ago. I was drawn in by the book's historic nature, and as someone who's fascinated by the railroad, that intrigued me even more. The characters are real, and easy to relate to. Soon, the story is moving as fast as the locomotives it describes. As well as the book sucked me in, though, I was let down by the ending, and hoped Cussler was going in a different direction. Still, it seems originally Cussler planned on this being just one story, and I'm glad he's now turned it into an Issac Bell series. The detective lives on.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    Once again Putnam editors fail an author

    I am a long time fan of Clive Cussler's books, and this one does not disappoint.

    What does disappoint however, is the absolutely sloppy editing that G P Putnam seems to be inflicting on their star authors. (ie., see several reviews of W E B Griffin's "The Traffickers.")

    On one page, a female character refers to her "grandmother's" piano which has been damaged. On the very next page, the piano is twice referred to as her "mother's" piano.

    In another section we are treated to the point of view of character 'A' for an entire page, and yet the last sentence of that section incorrectly inserts the name of character 'B'.

    Also, males are 'blond' but females are 'blonde.' True some people, these days, use the two spellings indiscriminately - but at least be consistent.

    Shame, shame, on G P Putnam.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Entertaining Diversion from the NUMA Stories

    Clive Cussler moves out of the realm of modern-day action thrillers with The Chase, a detective story set in the American west in 1906. The Butcher Bandit, a vicious but clever bank robber has been hitting banks all over the west, leaving behind a significant body count, including women and children, and a dearth of clues. Isaac Bell, the top detective of the Van Dorn detective agency is hired to crack the case.

    The story begins in a manner different from the usual Cussler novel. Instead of the historical prologue that sets the stage for the story to come, we begin (and end) with a scene nearly fifty years after the events of the story, when a locomotive is salvaged from a Montana lake.

    The story unfolds at a rapid pace, with Bell quickly identifying the killer, but struggling to catch him in the act. The story includes much typical Cussler fare: bravado, gunfights, parties, beautiful women, a bit of intrigue, and a heavy dose helping of the author's love of all things mechanical. We get a turn-of-the-twentieth-century motorcycle, a race car, and railroad cars all described in loving detail. The culminating chase from which the book draws its title is worthy of Cussler's best work. The San Francisco earthquake of 1906 adds a twist to the plot,

    If you are a fan of Cussler's work, you won't find any negatives worth mentioning. Those who read more broadly will find Isaac Bell a little too perfect: rich, handsome, charismatic, brilliant, skilled, noble, and resourceful. The dialogue is a bit cheesy at times, but basically what you'd expect from a rip-roaring, old-fashioned adventure. There are a few minor historical inaccuracies, but nothing that jolts the reader out of the story. The glaring mistake is placing Montreal just north of Montana. If you can ignore that, you should be okay.

    Overall, The Chase provides an entertaining diversion from the NUMA novels.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    great book

    Not what I expected when I started reading this book. I could not put it down, it was great!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2007

    Very Disappointing

    Having read all of the Cussler books, I couldn't wait for this one. Talk about a letdown! I could swear he didn't write this one or that he wrote it much, much earlier in his career. Jo B Charleston,SC

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    A book so good, it's hard to put down.

    This is the first Clive Cussler book I've had a chance to read and I absolutely loved it. I found it fun and intriguing and hard to put down. I couldn't wait for a few free minutes during my day so I could read a page or two. It's very action packed and exciting. I found the characters to be fun with very different personalities. The author wrote this story so vividly, It was easy to picture each scene the author described. I also enjoyed the way the story twisted and turned and surprised me just when I thought I knew what would happen next. I intend to read many more books by this author. I highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a little dramatic and thrilling read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What a thrill ride - Literally

    WOW - From the first page - you are drawn in and following Isaac Bell as though you are his partner!!! I found the character building and story line fascinating and wonderfully detailed.

    It's hard to put down. Isaac Bell and the others from the Van Dorn Detectives are wonderful, the villains and crimes are intelligent and throughly thought out!!

    What a ride!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Tough book to put down once started !

    Clive Cussler's "The Chase" is destined to be a definite book of the month. At least in my opinion. The characters come together as a group that, under normal circumstances, would never meet the others.
    The pace of the story is enough that you could put this book down, but you would prefer to read the whole thing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Different For Me

    Clive Cussler's Polar Shift and The Treasure of Kahn were my intro to this author. Then I discovered this one. The first two were very different for me as I am a huge Stephen King fan and never thought I'd go for stories of this sort. The Chase intrigued me from the description inside the cover and from there I was hooked. The characters are exciting and the plot draws you through the story. I couldn't wait to pick it up and continue reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    Book title and author: The Chase by Clive Cussler Title of review: Number of stars (1 to 5): 4 The Chase by Clive Cussler

    The Chase takes place in the west during the early nineteen hundreds. Isaac Bell is a detective for Van Dorn Detective Agency, who is out to catch the notorious "Butcher Bandit". The Butcher Bandit is known to rob banks in the west, and to kill anyone that witnessed the robbing. He has been tracking down the Butcher Bandit, by going to every town that he robbed.
    This book is a wonderful book. I would say that it's another win for Cussler. I would recommend this book to 8th graders and up. This is a good book for people who like adventures, and action put together. This maybe a little hard to follow at times but any other time it's easy to follow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    Not one of his best, but still ok

    This book was not as action packed as the NUMA, Oregon Files, or Kurt Austin series, but it was a good read. I was expecting the usual cliff-hanging action of a Clive Cussler book, but instead received a detailed history lesson. This book is a good read, but not his best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Great book

    Could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    ~GAMMA'S DEN

    Wolf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    Highly recommended!

    First was Dirk Pitt, then Kurt Austin....now Isaac Bell. Clive just gets better and better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Good Historical Thriller

    Started a little slow, but picked up quickly. Enjoyed a trip back in time, and the intrigue a transportation of the day. Loved the trains!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12