Customer Reviews for

Chase in Shadow

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Intense! Gripping! I couldn't put it down! The story just pul

    Intense! Gripping! I couldn't put it down! The story just pulls you in. The characters were real and majorly flawed, and they evoked all kinds of responses and emotions. I actually gasped and laughed out loud at parts. Mostly I just kept reading. And now that I've finished it, I just keep thinking about Chase and his story. This was the first work by this author that I've read. The writing style was different, but it didn't get in the way of the story. Everything about this book just made you want to, need to keep reading. I was impressed, and I'm definitely going back for more!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Good

    Hard to keep up with at times but overall a good story. Because I read dex in blue first I had a better understanding of what was happening. Liked this book but Loved Dex in Blue better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Amazing

    Captivating. At points it left me breathless. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    OMG! I love this book!

    I could not put this book down! It was heartbreaking, and I felt like I was struggling right along with Chase to reach his HEA, every step of the way. It goes without saying that it was also hot - the m/m sex is frequent and steamy, but I thought it was also very much a story about people, how they thought, felt, lived, loved, and the decisions they made - both good and bad. I had to keep reading - pulling for Chase. And, now I want stories about all the guys. Waiting (impatiently) for Dex In Blue.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    My eyes are swollen!

    I couldnt put this book down, and then when I did my eyes were nearly swollen shut. I cried so hard for most of this story, kept in constant state of angst and not the kind that comes from teenage melodrama. The drama was real. The characters so flawed and true, even the side characters. Im actually sad to seem them go. Read it. Its not about sex, though there was plenty of that. Its about the choices we make, mistakes and their successes. Its about love and survival

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Great read

    This was almost a DNF but Amy Lane is a favorite author of mine and the only reason I kept reading is because I have faith in her writing. I always finish books and am generous with reviews, so not finishing a book is unheard of for me but I put this down several times because one thing I do not like reading about is one of the MC's cheating on another person. And in this case, the other person was really nice! Again, if it wasn't for my trust in Amy Lane, I would never have finished it but she did it - she pulled it out. Brought out the angst and, while not making it okay, made it understandable and forgivable.

    I was expecting more angst from the beginning - it did not hit me until about 2/3 of the way through just how completely, vitally important the "perfect" family was. Once I got that, I was able to get into the story. All the other characters were great - they carried the story for me, and the Johnnies story line is hot!

    I will be putting this on my to-be-read again shelf and expect to enjoy reading it much more the next time now that I KNOW Amy Lane pulls the MC cheating off like most authors cannot do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Bah

    Not good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog ¿Yo

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    …You are sucked into the story and Lane expertly draws emotions from you until you feel as if you are wrung dry. ~ Under the Covers

    Where to start with this review? Words seem inadequate when describing this book. What Amy Lane does in this book is impressive and very heartbreaking. Here we have a hero who is portrayed to be the golden boy – Chase has the good looks, a nice girlfriend and the perfect outlook for a bright future. But the book takes a dark turn very early on when Chase takes a razor blade to his wrist and pierces his skin. Immediately you are sucked into the story and Lane expertly draws emotions from you until you feel as if you are wrung dry.

    The story is told in a series of flashbacks and flashforwards which was confusing for me at first. But once you get the rhythm of it, it’s fine and you can come to appreciate the skill that Lane displays in writing this story.

    Layers and layers of Chase are uncovered and readers get an unfiltered look at his life. You see his internal struggle with himself and his desires, you see the abuse he has experienced with his family and you see the pain he harbors within himself. This book may not be for everyone, but it sure will touch those who are brave enough to read it. I know I felt every emotion Chase did.

    Another great thing I loved about this book is the porn star element of it. Lane brings readers into the porn industry and I thought it was very interesting. It also allows for Lane to introduce other characters and in true Lane fashion, you seem to fall for them as well.

    However, there were two things that irked me a bit about the book. The first thing is the blatant lying and cheating. I don’t like reading about cheating in my books AT ALL. So it sort of rubbed me the wrong way, especially since it was so unapologetic in the first half. Secondly, I thought Tommy and Chase’s relationship seemed to bloom too fast in the beginning. There’s nothing I hate more than instalove. It just felt too quick when Chase flies to see Tommy when he is experiencing problems with his family. Add that to the fact that he is cheating while doing it, seemed to make it worse for me.

    All in all, I loved several aspects of this book and even though some things didn’t work for me right away, I don’t think you can separate yourself from Chase’s character while reading this. You feel what he does and Lane really and truly knows just how to break a heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1