Customer Reviews for

Chasers (Alone Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Twist

Me and.my teacher were so confuses about he whole no quotation marka but the end of the story makes sense now ans if you pay enough attention you will find the clues to the end it all makes sense now after finishing the book.

posted by 18666271 on May 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

For me, this book is typical and what I thought. It was a quick

For me, this book is typical and what I thought. It was a quick and easy read.




So the plot is about these teens taking a ride on the subway and all of the sudden, BAM! Explosion! And when they wake, nothing is the same. People are acting funny, like zombies. I espec...
For me, this book is typical and what I thought. It was a quick and easy read.




So the plot is about these teens taking a ride on the subway and all of the sudden, BAM! Explosion! And when they wake, nothing is the same. People are acting funny, like zombies. I especially enjoyed the beginning part of the book. The descriptions of the characters along with the scene of an unexpected explosion filled with blackness, had me at the edge of my seat. This part is particularly my favorite.




There really wasn't a love interest but just friends trying to survive. Everything is tested in trying to survive  They have to search for food, find shelter and most of all try to find people. Towards the end, the friends are closer to finding salvation. 




Chasers is a good story. The main character Jesse stood out strong and came out on top. For me, this is quite predictable but something easy to pick up if you know what you want to read. If you like these types of stories, then this book is for you.

posted by BooksWithBite on March 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    For me, this book is typical and what I thought. It was a quick

    For me, this book is typical and what I thought. It was a quick and easy read.




    So the plot is about these teens taking a ride on the subway and all of the sudden, BAM! Explosion! And when they wake, nothing is the same. People are acting funny, like zombies. I especially enjoyed the beginning part of the book. The descriptions of the characters along with the scene of an unexpected explosion filled with blackness, had me at the edge of my seat. This part is particularly my favorite.




    There really wasn't a love interest but just friends trying to survive. Everything is tested in trying to survive  They have to search for food, find shelter and most of all try to find people. Towards the end, the friends are closer to finding salvation. 




    Chasers is a good story. The main character Jesse stood out strong and came out on top. For me, this is quite predictable but something easy to pick up if you know what you want to read. If you like these types of stories, then this book is for you.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chasers by author James Phelan is the first book in the Alone se

    Chasers by author James Phelan is the first book in the Alone series which from my understanding, was supposed to be The Walking Dead but in YA format and thus not as dark and totally inappropriate for the young tweens who are evolving into the YA universe. With that being said, I’m a total Walking Dead fan, I’m die hard for zombies and thrillers and episodes featuring gore and people being eaten alive so that I won’t sleep all night. I expected that from Chasers and considering that it is blatantly put out there that the antagonists in the post-apocalyptic world are zombies I expected that Walking Dead feel.

    Chasers takes place from the point of view of main character Jesse who after coming to New York City for a fun trip ends up experiencing the end of the word. With his fellow foreigners they attempt to survive against the zombie-like creatures that they have chosen to call “Chasers” because they… you know chase their prey… Jesse and his friends hole up in 30 Rockefeller Plaza. They face the reality that in an apocalyptic world you have to shoot a few undead freaks in the face and must do anything to survive.

    Now, correct me if I’m wrong, but zombies are those creatures that… you know “eat” you until you are dead from the shock of it all or get bitten and join their legion? That is what they are if I am correct and you can imagine how at a loss for words I was when the zombies in Chasers drink instead of eat… maybe it’s just me.

    I personally am not scared of somebody that wants to drink my blood and soul, I went through a vampire phase, I used to find that stuff attractive. When I hear about zombies I wanna fear getting eaten alive. I want to fear my flesh getting torn strip by strip and having some rotting savage claw at me in an attempt to get to all my Kryptonian muscles beneath my spandex costume skin. So to anybody reading this review and expecting to find scenes similar to that of the Walking Dead prepare to be let down a fair bit.

    The plot of the novel mostly takes place in 30 Rock. In fact… when I come to think about it a high amount of the novel is spent with the group walking around 30 rock, finding stuff, seeing zombies and chatting a lot about what they should (and eventually do not) do. The start of the novel, I found, happened to be the most exciting thing to happen in the entire story, when we first meet the Chasers and get that thrilling idea that perhaps our characters will be killed.

    I find that in thrillers, I like to be with the characters, I want to experience the risk of my characters dying. The risk of being in danger and sadly, I have got to admit that Chasers was a disappointment. There weren’t that many risks, I have to say that the characters mostly play it too safe throughout the novel which just resulted in many dry scenes that lost my attention fairly quickly. When faced with the Chasers I felt like the terror didn’t stick and that the emotions that I should have been able to infer from the plot wasn’t there.

    The ending of the novel made me a bit wide-eyed considering that it’s very Fight Club with the idea of how Jesse is solely alone. Do I hope that in future installments things get more Walking Dead? Oh yeah. Do I want to read these future installments? Yes, considering that I found Chasers to be more of a prelude to how Jesse ended up in this post-apocalyptic New York.

    I would recommend this to fans of thrillers, but also to readers who are willing to take a chance on a zombie novel that doesn’t have your traditional zombies.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    Good plot nicely written, but too much introspection, almost lik

    Good plot nicely written, but too much introspection, almost like sob-sister reporting. None of the books really ended, they just stopped.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Not Bad Not real good

    The lack of punctuation is very distracting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Quotes

    Why are there no quotation marks?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Worth a read

    Not what i expected, but in a good way. Interesting spin on a typical zombie tale, kept me reading. Some of the dialogue seemed a little contrived and the "plot twist" wasnt as unexpected as you would think but overall an entertaining read and will continue the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Whats the chance?

    Whats the chance these kids would not get infected tens of thousands get infected with this weird thirst virus but 4 kids dont get extreamly hurt from the explosion but every one else on the subway die or are dying sorry to rant but really?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1