Customer Reviews for

Chasing Brooklyn

Average Rating 4.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 14, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Really good

    The cover I especially like. This was a sad but really good story about two people trying to cope, all the while reaching out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    Highly recommend all of Lisa's books!

    Lisa's books are about hope. To me they are about overcoming great heartbreaking trials, and finding your way back to hope for the future. This is a quick read about loss and continuing on. Recommend to all and even good for young teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Touching, Saddening, and Loving!

    The story of high schoolers as they struggle through the traggedy of deaths of students within their school. Brooklyn lost her best friend and her boy friend, copeing is much easier said than done. Nico lost his little brother, his family has a hard enough time trying to get over the death, yet they still cling on hoping he might return. When Gabe kills himself it just about pushs Brooklyn over the edge, but someone who understands is there for her, every step of the way! Don't give up on love!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    I'm glad I've finally gotten to read it. I never thought that an entire 400+ page novel written in verse could work so well. But, it's beautiful. Brooklyn is a very moving female character. You can tell just how deeply she carried for Lucca. You see her really fight to move on with her life, but her grief just consumes her. When she she starts seeing Gabe's ghost, you can't help but be frightened right along with her.

    I was hesitate on Nico at first. But, I think we're suppose to be. He is after all Lucca's brother. I like how the author slowly brings his personality to the pages. I think we see him just as a brother at first until he becomes his own person. He comes to life and you realize that maybe that Nico and Brooklyn can help each other if they can just get past their connections to Lucca.

    The novel was really well done and I enjoyed every minute of it. I can't wait to read something else by Lisa Schroeder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Chasing Brooklyn by Lisa Schroeder Review

    his is a book that is both heart breaking and breath taking all at once. There is so much pain in Brooklyn and Nico's life after Lucca dies and then his good friend Gabe soon after, that at times it was hard to read. Brooklyn lost her first love and someone she considered to be her soul mate. Nico lost his brother and best friend all at once. I honestly can't imagine and I don't want to try. But through Lisa Schroeder's powerful verse I feel like I was taken on a journey that was both eye opening and good for the soul.

    A year after Lucca's death, Gabe ends his life. People believed the guilt he felt over being the driver of the car the night of the accident that killed Lucca was too much for him to live with. Shortly after Gabe's death, Brooklyn starts dreaming of Gabe and not in a comforting way. It's like he's visiting her in her dreams to send a message and not a gentle, soothing one, she's terrified. She's having these awful nightmares and doesn't seem to understand what he's trying to say to her, if he's trying to tell her anything at all. At the same time Lucca visits Nico and begins asking him to "help" Brooklyn, with no further details or any kind of explanation. And so the the story really begins. The journey these two take is remarkable and life changing. I could try my best to describe it but I would fall terribly short and would not do the book, or Schroeder justice.

    To deal with her grief, Brooklyn writes letters to Lucca, beautiful, pleading, heartfelt letters. Sometimes I'd get to a page where she'd write one asking for his help and it would just break my heart; she felt so alone and missed him so much. Watching Nico and hearing his side of things was also both wonderful and terrible. He was struggling just like Brooklyn, but in different ways. He too felt like he was on his own, his parents were in no state to offer him much support when they were having trouble themselves with the loss of their son, so he attempted to put on a good front around them, tried to lessen the burden on them. So seeing Nico latch onto a purpose, to help Brooklyn at Lucca's request and together their training for the "finish line" was inspiring.

    Like I said at the beginning, this story was both heart breaking and breath taking and it has instantly been placed on my 2010 favorites list and will be added to my collection for all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1