Customer Reviews for

Chasing Charlie (the Texas Two-Step, Book 1)

Average Rating 4
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

4.5 stars I loved this book. It cracked me up. I love cowboys, a

4.5 stars
I loved this book. It cracked me up. I love cowboys, and even though Davis isn’t really a cowboy yet, Charlie’s brothers, more than make up for it. I can’t wait to read their stories.

Charlie has been raised on a ranch and wants nothing to do with cowboys. Th...
4.5 stars
I loved this book. It cracked me up. I love cowboys, and even though Davis isn’t really a cowboy yet, Charlie’s brothers, more than make up for it. I can’t wait to read their stories.

Charlie has been raised on a ranch and wants nothing to do with cowboys. They are the forbidden fruit. Davis is in no way ready to settle down. After figuring out that his mother won’t marry the man she’s in love with until he settles down, he propositions Charlie, whom he only knows through the library.

This book was fun, but definitely had its serious moments. I can’t wait to read more from this author and this series.

posted by slinkydennis on June 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not satsified

The book never lead us through the emotions the characters were experiencing. No buildup. No explanation for the way they were feeling. Alot of disconnect

posted by bookloverNW on June 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 4, 2013

    4.5 stars I loved this book. It cracked me up. I love cowboys, a

    4.5 stars
    I loved this book. It cracked me up. I love cowboys, and even though Davis isn’t really a cowboy yet, Charlie’s brothers, more than make up for it. I can’t wait to read their stories.

    Charlie has been raised on a ranch and wants nothing to do with cowboys. They are the forbidden fruit. Davis is in no way ready to settle down. After figuring out that his mother won’t marry the man she’s in love with until he settles down, he propositions Charlie, whom he only knows through the library.

    This book was fun, but definitely had its serious moments. I can’t wait to read more from this author and this series.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2014

    Charlie Nelson lost her parents when she was eight years old. Be

    Charlie Nelson lost her parents when she was eight years old. Being raised on the family ranch by her two older brothers, she left as soon as she was old enough. She took a job as a research librarian which helped her to stay withdrawn and out of the public eye, never taking chances or experiencing life. Her one rule was to never have anything to do with a cowboy. When her roommate gets engaged, Charlie decides it’s time to gradually step out of her shell.

    When Davis Murphy’s father died eight years ago, he became owner of Murphy Title by default. As the business becomes successful, Davis looks forward to pursuing his lifelong dream of becoming a cowboy like his grandfather, and owning a ranch. When he discovers that his mother is holding off getting married until she is sure he has settled down, he plots to fool her by introducing a pretend fiancée for one night. After that, his mother would accept her boyfriend’s marriage proposal and leave for Tokyo, and that would be that.

    Davis approaches Charlie for help. She reluctantly agrees. But the plan backfires when Davis’ mother wants Charlie to be in her wedding. It goes from one night, to spending the weekend together, and then another. The more Charlie tries to get away, the more Davis wants her near. Will he finally win her heart the way she has won his?

    It was amusing when the deception kept escalating, and I could really feel the connection between Charlie and Davis, even if they couldn’t. I think I was as frustrated as Davis was each time Charlie turned away from him. And even though Davis’ mother was unaware of the deception, I got the feeling that deep down she knew. I really enjoyed Charlie’s brothers, Monty Joe and Bobby Gray. The author did a fantastic job with them. I look forward to the next chapter on this blended family.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2001

    Fun and Sweet.

    Ms. Carmichael's debut book is amusing and witty. Her characters are charming and just thinking about them brings on a smile. Her writing style reminds me of that of Patti Berg, one of my favorite authors. I would especially recommend this one to young adult readers as it has no sex, and concentrates on the emotional relationship more than the physical.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2014

    What a fun and cute book this is. It would really be perfect for

    What a fun and cute book this is. It would really be perfect for a day at the beach--a quick read too!

    When Davis, a confirmed bachelor, realizes that the only reason his Mom is not marrying the love of her life because he would be left alone he knows he has to do something. Not actually get married, heaven forbid, but a fake fiancee might calm his Mom down so she would not worry about him any longer and finally accept her long time friends marriage proposal. Besides he wants to become a cowboy and buy a ranch. He had to take over his Dad's business when he died and has never enjoyed the work.

    Charlie, a shy, unassuming librarian who was brought up on a ranch by her two older brother cowboys after their parents died in a car accident when she was very young has sworn she will never marry a cowboy. When David finally realizes that she would be perfect as a fake fiancee and she agrees is where all the fun begins!

    I can't tell you anymore or I will give it all away--but since this is the first in a series-I will tell you I will be grabbing the next ones as soon as they hit the shelves!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2001

    Lighthearted Fun!

    If you're looking for a fun, lighthearted romance, this is just the ticket! I loved this book and can't wait for Kathy Carmichael to publish another one!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2014

    Is it possible to fall in love with a book? Chasing Charlie caus

    Is it possible to fall in love with a book? Chasing Charlie caused me to sign, smile, and warmed my heart. It's such a sweet romance and the characters are all so loveable. Even Charlie's dimwitted bothers are essential to the story. I can't recommend this book enough. Can't wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2014

    When it comes to clean romances, I often demand quite a bit from

    When it comes to clean romances, I often demand quite a bit from the authors and the stories they write. I expect little to no profanity, no bedroom scenes, and engaging characters with a genuinely intriguing story. Add a bit of humor, and I will be eternally grateful. I am quite happy to report that this book has all that and more! Squeaky clean, full of fantastic romance, and filled with smart humor. To make it even better, the book is such a quick read that the reader can potentially complete the book in one setting. This is the first book in the series, and I hope to read more. The action was a little quick at the end, but the book would have been much longer had she chosen to slow down the action. This is an extraordinarily delightful romance in every way.




    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2014

    Such A Sweet Romance! Disclosure: I received this book, Chasing

    Such A Sweet Romance!

    Disclosure: I received this book, Chasing Charlie By Kathy Carmichael, to review through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, all the opinions above are 100% my own.

    Chasing Charlie is such a sweet romance! It isn't full of sex and raunchy scenes. Instead, it is a wholesome love story that is created from a very non-traditional proposition. And it's a very quick read. I read it in one sitting so it would be great to take to the Dr.'s office or when you travel!

    Charlie is ready to break out of her shell a little at a time. She isn't opposed to falling in love but she knows exactly what type of man she DOESN'T want. Davis is bound and determined to remain a bachelor but also knows what type of woman he would look for if getting married. Luckily, he chooses a fake fiancee that would match his mother's tastes and that's what sets this romance in motion.

    Naturally, you are going to have some story line where you already can predict what is going to happen. But unlike most romance novels that are nothing but "cat and mouse games", Kathy Carmichael has written "Chasing Charlie" so that the characters say what they feel pretty much as soon as they feel it. Sure, there's some chasing going on, but for the most part, Charlie and Davis are very up front with each other. I love that!

    I think that both characters did a lot of growing in a short amount of time and I really love that their extended family members played a role in some of that. While the dialogue was mainly Davis and Charlie, we still got input from his mom and her fiancee as well as Charlie's brothers and best friend. I can't wait to read the rest of this series and see where the stories take us!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2014

    Nana Roberta: After reading this book, I thought of innocent lov

    Nana Roberta: After reading this book, I thought of innocent love the sweetness of it the hope of happiness. Love Story with twists and turns that keep you reading laughing, smiling, crying and loving nothing like an innocent love to get your heart pumping believing in true Innocent love even with twists and turn love can be good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book. It was cute and kept me wanting to r

    I really enjoyed this book. It was cute and kept me wanting to read more. I especially loved the main character Charlie. She was easy to like and easy to relate to. Her romance draws you in and keeps you reading. The book was easy to read and very entertaining. It made a good quick read too. Definitely 5 stars from me! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    This book was an adorable and fun read. The author is amazing by

    This book was an adorable and fun read. The author is amazing by getting straight to the point with what the plot is going to be about, and I really appreciated that. I have not been a fan of books that take too long to develop the story and plot in the beginning. The character of  Davis Murphy is a businessman that is very successful and is one of the bachelors in Dallas that is most eligible. It’s a funny bit that he is a guy that wants to be a cowboy. He has always wanted to be one and so he gives it his all. Davis’ mother has turned down a suitor named Jim (all because Davis is not settled down and happy for himself). Davis has a great plan on how to get Jim and his mother together. He has two weeks to get everything together before Jim will leave to go to Tokyo. The pressure is definitely on and you can feel it as a reader. I really liked that the fast paced story could be felt with the urgency as you read. Davis needs to find a woman for himself to fake being his fiance so that his mother can be introduced to her. His mother will then in turn be happy and accept the proposal from Jim. He can not find anyone to do this that has been his girlfriend because they are not the type that his mother wants to see him with. So who will he bring home to mom so that he can put his plan in action?
    That’s where Charlie comes in (real name Charlotte Nelson). She is a librarian who was recently on the outs with her boyfriend, Phillip. She does not want anything to do with cowboys or even anyone that wants to be a cowboy. That means that Davis is not her type by any means because he has always wanted to be a cowboy. She eventually becomes the role of Davis’ fiance so that she can go to dinner with him, his mother and Jim. It was supposed to be dinner, but then it turns into a whole weekend. I don’t want to say that this story is typical by any means that Charlie and Davis start to have feelings for one another, but isn’t this what you would want to read from this story? I scream yes. She still has a problem with Davis wanting to be a cowboy, but will it work out in the end? Read it for yourself and find out! I can not wait to read more in this series. Fast and fun read that I recommend highly.
    I received this book to review through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, all the opinions above are 100% my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Chasing Charlie is a fun, witty, lighthearted romance ~ perfect

    Chasing Charlie is a fun, witty, lighthearted romance ~ perfect for a day at the beach or poolside.
    Charlie is a librarian whose life seems to be in a rut. After losing someone in a rodeo accident, she never wants anything to do with a cowboy again. She left her family’s ranch after the death of her parents to live in the big city and has always played it safe. She decides to take a small step toward being less withdrawn and putting herself out there. That first step was buying, and actually daring to wear, a silky, sexy red dress.
    Davis Murphy is a very successful businessman and one of Dallas’s most eligible bachelors. He dreams of someday owning a ranch and of being a rodeo cowboy.
    He needs to convince his mother that he has found the love of his life and will soon be settling down and getting married.
    Here’s the fun part … he decides he needs a fake finance’ to introduce to his mother. If he is happily engaged to be married, he believes she will agree to marry her gentleman friend (who has been proposing to her for a long, long time). He begs Charlie to go along with the charade …
    Let me just say … Oh the tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive … (thanks, Sir Walter Scott)
    I highly recommend going along on this adventure with Charlie and Davis … it’s a fun and relaxing way to spend the day :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    How far would you go to make sure your parents lived the life th

    How far would you go to make sure your parents lived the life they really wanted?  That's the deliberation of Davis, a wannabe cowboy who has always dreamt of owning his own ranch but had to put that all on hold since he had to take over his fathers business when he died.  Not only that Davis is the handsome bachelor in town who could have his pick of any lady, happy as he is his mother's isn't.  Her only dream is to see her son married, she has even turned down moving to Tokyo with the love of her own life as she cannot leave Davis until he is settled. What is he to do? Davis and his father in law to be, Jim, come up with a plan to find a fiance to show to his mother until she finally agrees to live her own life and be happy.

    Charlie is one of the town librarians who Davis regularly sees as he continues to study up on his dream ranch, not his usual type but his mother would like her, although there is something about her.....  Charlie encouraged by her roommate to start being more daring in life and take the odd risk accepts to the challenge of being the pretend finance, after all there's no possible chance anything else would happen as she detests cowboys.  Simple enough plan, but will it work out the way they planned or will things take a romantic turn?

    This was a real quick read, full of fun I found myself smiling and chuckling throughout.  I loved the predicaments they found themselves in, their constant teasing of each other and wondering what would happen next in the storyline.  As I've mentioned before romance isn't my first choice in reading but this surprised me and I actually found myself loving the read, there is a charm to this pair that seems to take hold of you.

    A nice entertaining read that I really enjoyed, looking forward to book 2 and catching up with everyone yeehaw!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    I can completely see this book made into a movie. It¿s a total

    I can completely see this book made into a movie. It’s a total romantic comedy. (I’m a huge Sandra Bullock and Reese Witherspoon fan… this book could totally fit into their movie category.) I was amazed that as I was reading I kept thinking “this totally wouldn’t happen in real life” but the more I got into the story the more I absolutely loved it. The family relationships in the book may have been my favorite thing. The way Davis would do anything for his mother’s happiness. The way Charlie interacted with her 2 big brothers. Seeing how their family history really effected their logical ideas… but just couldn’t quite control their hearts. It was really a fun read, and I’m looking forward to reading the rest of Kathy Carmichael’s Texas Two-Step series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    This was a very sweet book. I really enjoyed reading it. Charlie

    This was a very sweet book. I really enjoyed reading it. Charlie is a wonderfully headstrong women who thinks she knows what she wants, but one simple change, well changes everything! Her quite librarian life is suddenly thrown off course as want to be cowboy Davis shows up wanting her to pretend to be his fiancée so his mom will get married. Of course she had no clue that saying yes to a not so simple request would end up changing her life and view.

    Davis is just as headstrong as Charlie and even though he approaches Charlie to start this wonderful fake relationship, he slowly starts to have his head turned, but as usual neither character will admit that there truly is more there, then what they would ever have thought!

    This is a wonderful book for anyone who is a lover of modern, yet still very western romance. It’s a sweet, yet fun story that will take you to a place that many people never get to see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Adorable book. Kathy Carmichael is an exceptional storyteller. T

    Adorable book. Kathy Carmichael is an exceptional storyteller. This little romance book is packed with wit that will keep readers engaged from cover to cover.  Readers will fall in love with the characters and cheer them on to the end. I look forward to reading more books in this sweet series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2014

    This is the first book that I have read of Kathy Carmichael's an

    This is the first book that I have read of Kathy Carmichael's and I am absolutely impressed! I started this book on a Wednesday afternoon when I was nursing Rosalie for her afternoon nap and by Wednesday evening, I was done with it! It was fantastic! Right off the bat, I wondered exactly WHY Charlie didn't like cowboys, and I envisioned things absolutely blowing up when she and Davis started their "fake engagement". One thing I wish would have been mentioned just a bit sooner was WHY Charlie didn't like cowboys, BUT that was mentioned finally towards the end of the book! I can't wait to read the second book in The Texas Two-Step Series! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2014

    The Writing Kathy Carmichael is a gifted writer. That is the onl

    The Writing
    Kathy Carmichael is a gifted writer. That is the only thing you can say about an author who pulls you
    into a story line quickly and makes you feel like you know the characters. Her writing is skilled and adept,
    almost seducing the reader into the romance as much as the main character, Charlie, is seduced into
    facing her fear and plunging into love.

    Is this a classic romance novel? Yes!! In the best ways possible - a couple you can root for and feel
    that euphoric stirring in your own heart; an issue of love you can definitely empathize with; and enough
    tension to make you forget that this book SHOULD have a happy ending.

    The Story
    Charlotte "Charlie" Nelson has chosen a career as a librarian to remove her as far as possible from
    the cowboy lifestyle of her brothers and her childhood. She is not interested in anything that has to do
    with that, and is adamant about that. Davis Murphy is an eligible bachelor and wanna be cowboy with
    no marriage plans and no girlfriend in sight. However, his mother won't marry her long time beau
     unless she knows that Davis is in a happy and stable relationship.
    When their worlds collide, Charlie becomes Davis' beard, to convince his mom that he is fine,
    relationship wise, and she can marry the love of her life without concern for her sons well being.
    What starts out as a date arrangement turns into a love escapade.

    What an amazing story line and real twists and turns for the involved parties! 

    The Final Call

    Get this book. This is definitely beach worthy and summer worthy. It is also a good any day read!
    Put it on your list, or run over and buy it now. It's good reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    I rate this a 4.5 stars. It is a book for serious readers; howe

    I rate this a 4.5 stars. It is a book for serious readers; however, it is a great fun book.
    This is a short book – only 108 pages. But, almost every page had this reader laughing. Yes, predictable but still entertaining. It is highly recommended for light reading.
    Charlie has made a lifetime decision not to date or marry cowboys.
    Davis, has always been a playboy who dreamt of becoming a cowboy/rancher. Suddenly Davis found himself needing to pretend he found “The One” in order for his widowed mother to agree to marry the love of her life. For years, his mother put her happiness on hold until she was certain her only child, Davis was settled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderfully fun romance

    If Charlie Nelson knows just one thing, it’s that cowboys have no place in her future. But she’s stuck in a rut, that too-safe place where spontaneity and risk-taking never venture, and while her life may be comfortable, it’s getting boring and lonely. But then she meets Davis Murphy.

    A successful businessman ready to leave it all behind in favor of his own ranch, Davis is the last guy Charlie would pick for a date, much less a fake relationship. But Davis’s mother is putting off her own happily ever after, waiting for her son to settle down, and Davis can’t let her do that anymore. What he needs is a girl to introduce to his mother, one she’ll believe is his one and only, and Charlie is just the girl he’s looking for.

    The Verdict...
    I’m in. Sign me up for the series. This was such a fun, light-hearted read, and aside from the fact that I have to wait for more of it, I can’t say there’s anything I didn’t like about it. Charlie is smart, witty, and utterly likeable from the get-go, and her inner monologue had me cracking up. Likewise, Davis is thoroughly entertaining, not to mention hot as hell, and while I expected some complete ass of a playboy, what I got was someone who was a hell of a lot more thoughtful and damned funny.

    The banter, the heat, the Texas thing — I expected something in there to be overdone, but it was spot on throughout the book, right down to the boots with the designer suit. Someone finally got the Texas bit right! And oh, how I want a Davis for myself… Of course, I wanted to slap Charlie for resisting Davis because of the whole cowboy thing, but that just goes to show how perfectly the author wrote these two for each other.

    If you’re looking for a wonderfully fun romance, this is definitely it. In the meantime, I’m off to read newly purchased book #2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2