Customer Reviews for

Chasing Darkness (a Taut Psychological Thriller)

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Good mystery read

Believe this was my first book written by Danielle Girard. It is always with anticipation that one reads an author for the first time because you do not know what to expect.

When I finished this book I wrote "Excellent" on the cover, which is where I make comments o...
Believe this was my first book written by Danielle Girard. It is always with anticipation that one reads an author for the first time because you do not know what to expect.

When I finished this book I wrote "Excellent" on the cover, which is where I make comments on most of the books I read to keep them distinguished from the books I have not read.

This is a typical mystery, thriller in which the main character gets into a lot of trouble that they do not see coming and then have to work their way out of the trouble - sometimes alone and sometimes with another person. In this case there is another person, Nick Thomas.

Would happily read other books by this author.

J. Robert Ewbank, author "John Wesley, Natural Man, and the 'Isms'"

posted by whoizme88 on March 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

M

And...of course harriet klausner has to come along with her cliff note book report dissertation that tells absolutely everything about the book ruining it for everyone else. I mean, really, no one, but dear old harriet, is intelligent enough to read and comprehend a boo...
And...of course harriet klausner has to come along with her cliff note book report dissertation that tells absolutely everything about the book ruining it for everyone else. I mean, really, no one, but dear old harriet, is intelligent enough to read and comprehend a book for ourselves, else why would she read it then rewrite and tell us what happens as if we were too ignorant to understand it for ourselves.

posted by 8888649 on May 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    Good mystery read

    Believe this was my first book written by Danielle Girard. It is always with anticipation that one reads an author for the first time because you do not know what to expect.

    When I finished this book I wrote "Excellent" on the cover, which is where I make comments on most of the books I read to keep them distinguished from the books I have not read.

    This is a typical mystery, thriller in which the main character gets into a lot of trouble that they do not see coming and then have to work their way out of the trouble - sometimes alone and sometimes with another person. In this case there is another person, Nick Thomas.

    Would happily read other books by this author.

    J. Robert Ewbank, author "John Wesley, Natural Man, and the 'Isms'"

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2002

    Cover to cover quality

    This is the third Danielle Girard novel, and each one keeps getting better. Which is interesting, because she arrived on the scene with a better sense of characterization and plot pacing than most of the so-called 'big boys' who, when it comes to quality writing if not sales, can't hold a candle to her work. If you're tired of predictable thrillers and want to get personally involved with the characters you are reading about, then give CHASING DARKNESS a try. You'll join the growing legion of Danielle Girard fans when you do.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2002

    OUTSTANDING THRILLER!!!

    get this one now!!! what a treat! each of danielle's books have been consistently terrrrrrific and she just does not disappoint! in CHASING DARKNESS, i loved the fully developed characters (especially sam) as well as the suspenseful plot!!! i just don't know why her publishers don't give her the respect that she deserves with more promotions for her fantastic books....she is such an amazing writer!!! Look for COLD SILENCE coming in november!!! i, for one, just cannot wait!!!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2002

    tightly woven thriller

    She was a homicide detective in the Sheriff¿s department but she became sick of dealing with death all the time so she transferred over to the State of California of Department of Justice working mainly with abuse victims. At the same time she transferred jobs Sam Chase unexpectedly gained guardianship of her twin eight-year-old nephews. Their parents died in a car crash and their deceased mother (Sam¿s late sister) did not want her family in Mississippi even getting near them. <P> Eight years later Sam and her two nephews Derek and Rob are a family. Sam is a success at work and envied by her peers when one of her old cases comes back to haunt her. The mother of a child abuse victim is found murdered and Sam is forced to work with Derek Thomas of the Sheriff¿s department since the victim looks like she was murdered by a serial killer that Sam once caught. Since the killer is dead, the police are working on the assumption that it¿s a copycat killer until another homicide is committed and Sam is linked to both deaths. <P> Danielle Girard is a name to watch because she¿s rapidly reading the level of a Nancy Taylor Rosenberg or a Sandra Brown. CHASING DARKNESS is a tightly woven thriller that shines a dark light on the evil things done to children and shows how it affects them long after the abuse stops. The strange and off beat romance that develops between Sam and Derek is a realistic necessary subplot to reduce the tension, which becomes unbelievably high voltage at times. This one sitting read entertains as well as educates. <p>Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    M

    And...of course harriet klausner has to come along with her cliff note book report dissertation that tells absolutely everything about the book ruining it for everyone else. I mean, really, no one, but dear old harriet, is intelligent enough to read and comprehend a book for ourselves, else why would she read it then rewrite and tell us what happens as if we were too ignorant to understand it for ourselves.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    One of those you can not put down!

    As my headline implies. Descriptive, weaves and turns with unexpected ending.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Annoying

    Brooding ,boring, protagonist and characters. No surprises in the plot just pure drudgery. I debated finishing the read.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Grrreat Book

    This was so good that when I started it I could not put it down

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Very much worth reading

    Good plot with a few interesting twists and turns as well as excellent character development.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Great read. I couldn't put it down. I'm going to get the rest of

    Great read. I couldn't put it down. I'm going to get the rest of her books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    frustrated

    It wont even let me open it. I was really looking forward to reading this book. I am only giving it a one because i cant open it. If i were to be able to read it i would probably love it and give it a five. If anyone knows of any way to get my nook to let me open it so i can read it please let me know. I am always looking for new books to read while the kids are playing..or when i need time to myself for a little bit. Signed Bri

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Disappointed in the conclusion

    I detest having the main characters disappoint. Very violent.

    AD

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2014

    This is my first book by this author. A slow start, but turned o

    This is my first book by this author. A slow start, but turned out to be a most enjoyable read. The
    suspense kept me turning the pages. Loved Nick and Sam. The ending was unexpected and
    bittersweet. Plan to read other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    I really enjoyed it. Would like to read more by this author.

    Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Lilykit

    Read my bio at ash res. 2. Read my history. You will break down in tears! This has actually happened in the rp world!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Very good book, but---

    U better be ready to spend some time reading because u will not be able to put this book down!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Very very good

    It was good book and i recomend it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    Highly Recommended - Must Read

    Another great book by this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Great book

    This was a great book, the heroine's backstory is really sad though but it helps you understand why she is the way she is. The ending was also sad. It was a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    10 STARS

    This is what i call a real mystery/suspence book. Everything about the book is clever!!" Will DEFINITELY be reading more books from this author. : )

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3