Customer Reviews for

Chasing Darkness (A Taut Psychological Thriller)

Average Rating 4
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Good mystery read

Believe this was my first book written by Danielle Girard. It is always with anticipation that one reads an author for the first time because you do not know what to expect.

When I finished this book I wrote "Excellent" on the cover, which is where I make comments o...
Believe this was my first book written by Danielle Girard. It is always with anticipation that one reads an author for the first time because you do not know what to expect.

When I finished this book I wrote "Excellent" on the cover, which is where I make comments on most of the books I read to keep them distinguished from the books I have not read.

This is a typical mystery, thriller in which the main character gets into a lot of trouble that they do not see coming and then have to work their way out of the trouble - sometimes alone and sometimes with another person. In this case there is another person, Nick Thomas.

Would happily read other books by this author.

J. Robert Ewbank, author "John Wesley, Natural Man, and the 'Isms'"

posted by whoizme88 on March 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

M

And...of course harriet klausner has to come along with her cliff note book report dissertation that tells absolutely everything about the book ruining it for everyone else. I mean, really, no one, but dear old harriet, is intelligent enough to read and comprehend a boo...
And...of course harriet klausner has to come along with her cliff note book report dissertation that tells absolutely everything about the book ruining it for everyone else. I mean, really, no one, but dear old harriet, is intelligent enough to read and comprehend a book for ourselves, else why would she read it then rewrite and tell us what happens as if we were too ignorant to understand it for ourselves.

posted by 8888649 on May 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Every time you think you have what coming figured out, the author turns in another direction. Well written. I would certainly follow her in another book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2014

    I really appreciate it when reviews state whether or not the boo

    I really appreciate it when reviews state whether or not the book is filled with violence, obscene language, explicit sex scenes, and other offensive elements that take away from enjoying a book.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    frustrated

    It wont even let me open it. I was really looking forward to reading this book. I am only giving it a one because i cant open it. If i were to be able to read it i would probably love it and give it a five. If anyone knows of any way to get my nook to let me open it so i can read it please let me know. I am always looking for new books to read while the kids are playing..or when i need time to myself for a little bit. Signed Bri

    2 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Very good book, but---

    U better be ready to spend some time reading because u will not be able to put this book down!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2015

    thriller

    I enjoyed this book. good guessing game did she did he

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2015

    Great

    .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    Too much detail

    Good story. Surprising end. Only 2 complaints: 1)pedofiles thoughts were too graphic!! 2) overall too much unneeded details that made the story drag and detracted from the building plot. I skimmed through many irrelavent pages.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    Good Book

    Couldn't put the book down. A great who done it storie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    Loved it. This book keeps you guessing until the very end!

    Loved it. This book keeps you guessing until the very end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2014

    OK

    It was alright for a Free Friday selection. Just a bit too many events to be believable. I did not care for the chapters seen through the eyes of the spoiled little girl or those chapters through the eyes of the pervert. Perhaps some serious re writing would make for a better, more believable story.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    Terrific !!!

    Loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2014

    Excellent

    Good characters, story line and ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2014

    Intense Read

    This is an exciting and fast paced mystery that's so well written it will keep you guessing until the end. I immediately both another Danielle Girard book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Was a great read. Couldn't put its down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    This was a Free Friday Nook Book, which is why I read it. While

    This was a Free Friday Nook Book, which is why I read it. While it is well-written, I found the subject matter (serial murder, child abuse and pediophilia) disturbing. What's more, I would not want to spend time with even one character in this book. The "surprise" ending was forced and there were too many red herrings to make the story truly suspenseful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2014

    very good

    Keeps you guessing and very interested.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    Very good read

    Enough twists and turns to keep you reading and interested.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2014

    Excellent read

    Loved the story and the flow of the writing. This is an author that can hold your interest!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    Wow! Great book

    One of my new favorite authors wish she would make a series out of it . Cant wait to read more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2014

    Highly recommend jmm44

    This book is exceptionally good! The female detective gets her 2 nephews when their parents die. The story gets you "hooked" as they try to come to the bottom of so many people dying who are abusers!! I could hardly put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6