Customer Reviews for

Chasing Darkness (a Taut Psychological Thriller)

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Good mystery read

Believe this was my first book written by Danielle Girard. It is always with anticipation that one reads an author for the first time because you do not know what to expect.

When I finished this book I wrote "Excellent" on the cover, which is where I make comments o...
Believe this was my first book written by Danielle Girard. It is always with anticipation that one reads an author for the first time because you do not know what to expect.

When I finished this book I wrote "Excellent" on the cover, which is where I make comments on most of the books I read to keep them distinguished from the books I have not read.

This is a typical mystery, thriller in which the main character gets into a lot of trouble that they do not see coming and then have to work their way out of the trouble - sometimes alone and sometimes with another person. In this case there is another person, Nick Thomas.

Would happily read other books by this author.

J. Robert Ewbank, author "John Wesley, Natural Man, and the 'Isms'"

posted by whoizme88 on March 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

M

And...of course harriet klausner has to come along with her cliff note book report dissertation that tells absolutely everything about the book ruining it for everyone else. I mean, really, no one, but dear old harriet, is intelligent enough to read and comprehend a boo...
And...of course harriet klausner has to come along with her cliff note book report dissertation that tells absolutely everything about the book ruining it for everyone else. I mean, really, no one, but dear old harriet, is intelligent enough to read and comprehend a book for ourselves, else why would she read it then rewrite and tell us what happens as if we were too ignorant to understand it for ourselves.

posted by 8888649 on May 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    Good mystery read

    Believe this was my first book written by Danielle Girard. It is always with anticipation that one reads an author for the first time because you do not know what to expect.

    When I finished this book I wrote "Excellent" on the cover, which is where I make comments on most of the books I read to keep them distinguished from the books I have not read.

    This is a typical mystery, thriller in which the main character gets into a lot of trouble that they do not see coming and then have to work their way out of the trouble - sometimes alone and sometimes with another person. In this case there is another person, Nick Thomas.

    Would happily read other books by this author.

    J. Robert Ewbank, author "John Wesley, Natural Man, and the 'Isms'"

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2002

    tightly woven thriller

    She was a homicide detective in the Sheriff¿s department but she became sick of dealing with death all the time so she transferred over to the State of California of Department of Justice working mainly with abuse victims. At the same time she transferred jobs Sam Chase unexpectedly gained guardianship of her twin eight-year-old nephews. Their parents died in a car crash and their deceased mother (Sam¿s late sister) did not want her family in Mississippi even getting near them. <P> Eight years later Sam and her two nephews Derek and Rob are a family. Sam is a success at work and envied by her peers when one of her old cases comes back to haunt her. The mother of a child abuse victim is found murdered and Sam is forced to work with Derek Thomas of the Sheriff¿s department since the victim looks like she was murdered by a serial killer that Sam once caught. Since the killer is dead, the police are working on the assumption that it¿s a copycat killer until another homicide is committed and Sam is linked to both deaths. <P> Danielle Girard is a name to watch because she¿s rapidly reading the level of a Nancy Taylor Rosenberg or a Sandra Brown. CHASING DARKNESS is a tightly woven thriller that shines a dark light on the evil things done to children and shows how it affects them long after the abuse stops. The strange and off beat romance that develops between Sam and Derek is a realistic necessary subplot to reduce the tension, which becomes unbelievably high voltage at times. This one sitting read entertains as well as educates. <p>Harriet Klausner

    19 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2002

    Cover to cover quality

    This is the third Danielle Girard novel, and each one keeps getting better. Which is interesting, because she arrived on the scene with a better sense of characterization and plot pacing than most of the so-called 'big boys' who, when it comes to quality writing if not sales, can't hold a candle to her work. If you're tired of predictable thrillers and want to get personally involved with the characters you are reading about, then give CHASING DARKNESS a try. You'll join the growing legion of Danielle Girard fans when you do.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2002

    OUTSTANDING THRILLER!!!

    get this one now!!! what a treat! each of danielle's books have been consistently terrrrrrific and she just does not disappoint! in CHASING DARKNESS, i loved the fully developed characters (especially sam) as well as the suspenseful plot!!! i just don't know why her publishers don't give her the respect that she deserves with more promotions for her fantastic books....she is such an amazing writer!!! Look for COLD SILENCE coming in november!!! i, for one, just cannot wait!!!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Grrreat Book

    This was so good that when I started it I could not put it down

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    One of those you can not put down!

    As my headline implies. Descriptive, weaves and turns with unexpected ending.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Great read. I couldn't put it down. I'm going to get the rest of

    Great read. I couldn't put it down. I'm going to get the rest of her books.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    Wow! Great book

    One of my new favorite authors wish she would make a series out of it . Cant wait to read more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    good book. A mystery with a twist

    There is some foul language and some explicit pedophile sexual scenes. This is NOT a book for the teen and under age group.





    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2014

    Highly recommend jmm44

    This book is exceptionally good! The female detective gets her 2 nephews when their parents die. The story gets you "hooked" as they try to come to the bottom of so many people dying who are abusers!! I could hardly put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2014

    Excellent

    Good characters, story line and ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2014

    Excelant book. I had a hard time putting it down when I had to go to work

    Never expected the ending. Just blew me away. Would certainly read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Was a great read. Couldn't put its down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    Definitely recommended!

    Just finished this an hour ago. Really enjoyed it. Don't want to give away the ending but it was good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    One of those "Keep on reading" books!

    I'm not finished reading this book yet but it has kept me up late reading for the last few nights. I'm almost finished and can't wait to get back to it so I can see if I'm right in figuring out the killer. So far, I was wrong! I highly recommend reading this book! I certainly am going to read more of this writer's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Every time you think you have what coming figured out, the author turns in another direction. Well written. I would certainly follow her in another book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2014

    very good

    Keeps you guessing and very interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    Very good read

    Enough twists and turns to keep you reading and interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    The Peppers map

    Powerful, evil, painful, perservering, extraordinary revolutionaries. We are P.E.P.P.E.R.. Often called The Peppers. Res 1, the Peppers map. Res 2, eules. Res 3, ranks. Res 4, bios. Res 5, camp. Res 6, meeting place. Res 7, apprentices of all type den. Res 8, warriors of all types. Res 9, high rank place (Epike-Adjoint). Res 10, medical den. Res 11, elite den. Res 12, nursery. Res 13, Imperiale and Mbreti den. Res 14+, our land.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2014

    Frr Free book

    Bpoks

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3